Comparison · 13 material differences
5 Hertford Street vs Soho House
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.
What the records say
- Maximum age at joining — 5 Hertford Street: No published maximum age at joining; Soho House: Applicants under 27 qualify for Under 27 pricing.
- Geographic restriction — 5 Hertford Street: No published geographic restriction; Soho House: Local House membership is tied to the House nearest the member's home; Cities Without Houses is for applicants based where the group has no House.
- Annual dues — 5 Hertford Street: Reported figures conflict: Spear's put the annual subscription at £1,800 ("Members pay a modest £1,800 a year") in a 2022 article updated in 2023, while Wikipedia cites £3,500. The club publishes nothing.; Soho House: $6,000 a year.
Side by side
| 5 Hertford Street | Soho House | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Private club | Private club |
| Founded | 2012 (Opened in 2012 by Robin Birley, son of Annabel's founder Mark Birley) | 1995 (Founded by restaurateur Nick Jones above his Cafe Boheme restaurant on Greek Street in London's Soho, per Wikipedia's account of the club. The corporate parent is incorporated in Delaware; operational headquarters and the original House are in London.) |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom | London, United Kingdom |
| Geographic footprint | One clubhouse at 2-5 Hertford Street, Mayfair, London, incorporating the basement club Loulou's and the restaurant Nico's | Houses across the United Kingdom, continental Europe, the Middle East, North and South America and Asia; the club states Every House members reach 48 Houses in 19 countries |
| Members | Not publicly disclosed. Spear's reports that the club opened with 500 original members assembled with Hugh Warrender's help; no current figure is published. | 269,606as of September 2025 |
| Chapters | 1 | 48 |
| Primary audience | Not publicly disclosed — the club's public website carries no membership information beyond a contact address for the membership office | People working in the creative industries, described by the club as "a home for the world's creatives to come together"; the application asks for occupation and interests rather than income or job title |
| Typical member | Reported by Spear's as tracing a membership genealogy back to the founding group, described in that account as predominantly English public-school in background, alongside figures from entertainment, business and politics named in press coverage. | Members are drawn largely from film, television, music, art, design, fashion, media and adjacent creative businesses. The club publishes no income, net-worth or seniority test, and Wikipedia records that the club has publicly emphasised creativity over net worth and job title. |
| Qualification | ||
| Maximum age at joining | No published maximum age at joining | Applicants under 27 qualify for Under 27 pricingThe club states the discount runs "until your 30th birthday", so the age test applies at joining rather than throughout membership. There is no published upper age limit on membership itself.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Geographic restriction | No published geographic restriction | Local House membership is tied to the House nearest the member's home; Cities Without Houses is for applicants based where the group has no HouseEvery House membership carries no geographic restriction.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | Not documented | No |
| Sponsor required | Yes | Not documented |
| Application process | There is no public application form. The club's guest information page gives a membership telephone number and the address membership@5hertfordstreet.com. Spear's reports that candidates need two letters of recommendation from existing members and then sit a short interview with a club secretary. | Applicants complete an online form on the club's application portal, which the club says takes around 15 minutes and requires a recent profile photograph, credit or debit card details and information about the applicant's interests and occupation. The portal also offers a pricing calculator before submission. Soho House does not publish the criteria used to assess applications, nor whether proposers or seconders are required. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed | Not disclosed as a rate. Soho House told members in December 2023 that it would stop accepting new members for New York, Los Angeles and London from 2024 after complaints about crowding; CNN reported the club then had about 185,000 members and 98,000 people on its waitlist. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | Reported figures conflict: Spear's put the annual subscription at £1,800 ("Members pay a modest £1,800 a year") in a 2022 article updated in 2023, while Wikipedia cites £3,500. The club publishes nothing.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $6,000 a yearEvery House membership, New York or Los Angeles home House, standard (non-Under-27) rate. The club's own pricing calculator returns "Quarterly cost $1,500.00 / Annual cost $6,000.00".verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 | $1,000 one-time"One-off House Introduction Fee $1,000.00" for Every House and Local House membership at New York and Los Angeles. The club states it "will be converted to Members credit and can be used on food, drinks and bedrooms across the Houses".verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Not publicly disclosed | Rolling membership billed quarterly or annually, plus a one-off House Introduction Fee |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Open Monday to Saturday from 7am (noon on Saturday) until 1am to 3am depending on the day; closed Sundays | Houses are open daily; the club advertises more than 2,400 member events and experiences a month |
| Peer forums | Not documented | Not documented |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed; the club is widely described in reporting as discouraging photography and publicity | Could not be independently verified |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Clubhouse premises, Event-focused | Clubhouse premises, Chapter-based, Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | No | No |
| Local chapters | No | Yes |
| Virtual membership | No | No |
| Online community | No | Yes |
| Member directory | Not documented | Not documented |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | No | Partial |
| Leadership development | No | No |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | Yes |
| Family programming | No | Not documented |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | Not documented |
| Next-generation programming | No | Not documented |
| Investment discussions | No | No |
| Investment opportunities | No | No |
| Philanthropic component | Not documented | Not documented |
| Networking emphasis | Low | Medium |
| Social emphasis | High | High |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: 5 Hertford Street · Soho House

