Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 9 material differences

5 Hertford Street vs The Twenty Two

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Private club

The Twenty Two

The club describes its house as "designed for the creative and the curious"; at launch the founders said they were aiming at a younger, creative London audience rather than a…

What the records say

Side by side

5 Hertford StreetThe Twenty Two
Profile
Type Private club Private club
Founded 2012 (Opened in 2012 by Robin Birley, son of Annabel's founder Mark Birley) 2022 (Opened in April 2022 at 22 Grosvenor Square by hotelier Navid Mirtorabi with Jamie Reuben)
Headquarters London, United Kingdom London, United Kingdom
Geographic footprint One clubhouse at 2-5 Hertford Street, Mayfair, London, incorporating the basement club Loulou's and the restaurant Nico's Two houses: 22 Grosvenor Square, Mayfair, London, and 16 East 16th Street, Union Square, New York. Global membership tiers cover both.
Members Not publicly disclosed. Spear's reports that the club opened with 500 original members assembled with Hugh Warrender's help; no current figure is published. Not publicly disclosed
Chapters 1 2
Primary audience Not publicly disclosed: the club's public website carries no membership information beyond a contact address for the membership office The club describes its house as "designed for the creative and the curious"; at launch the founders said they were aiming at a younger, creative London audience rather than a traditional Mayfair set
Typical member Reported by Spear's as tracing a membership genealogy back to the founding group, described in that account as predominantly English public-school in background, alongside figures from entertainment, business and politics named in press coverage. A deliberately younger membership than the older Mayfair clubs, reflected in a distinct 21-to-29 "Young Patron" band priced well below the standard rate.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining No published maximum age at joining Young Patron and Global Young Patron bands are for those "21 years to 29 years old"Sets a minimum age of 21 as well as a maximum of 29 for the discounted bandsverified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum age No published minimum age Patron and Global Patron bands are for those "30 years or above"Applicants aged 21 to 29 take the Young Patron bandsverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required Not documented No
Sponsor required Yes Not documented
Application process There is no public application form. The club's guest information page gives a membership telephone number and the address membership@5hertfordstreet.com. Spear's reports that candidates need two letters of recommendation from existing members and then sit a short interview with a club secretary. Applicants use the club's online portals, joinlondon.thetwentytwo.com or joinnyc.thetwentytwo.com, select a membership band, and pay an annual subscription plus a one-off joining fee. Enquiries can also be made to the membership office. No committee stage, interview or sponsor requirement is published.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed
Cost
Annual dues Reported figures conflict: Spear's put the annual subscription at £1,800 ("Members pay a modest £1,800 a year") in a 2022 article updated in 2023, while Wikipedia cites £3,500. The club publishes nothing.verified September 2026 · source ↗ £2,250 a yearLondon, Patron (30 years or above): "£2250 Per Annum"verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 £1,500 one-timeLondon, Patron and Global Patron: "£1500 joining fee"verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Not publicly disclosed Annual subscription plus a one-off joining fee
Structure
Meeting frequency Open Monday to Saturday from 7am (noon on Saturday) until 1am to 3am depending on the day; closed Sundays The Living Room and club spaces open daily to members and hotel guests; a What's On programme of member events
Peer forums Not documented Not documented
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed; the club is widely described in reporting as discouraging photography and publicity Not publicly disclosed; club rules apply to members and their guests, and hotel guests are treated as temporary patrons bound by those rules
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Clubhouse premises, Event-focused Clubhouse premises, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No No
Local chapters No Yes
Virtual membership No No
Online community No Partial
Member directory Not documented Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming No No
Leadership development No No
Retreats No No
Travel No Partial
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented Yes
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Not documented Not documented
Networking emphasis Low Low
Social emphasis High High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: 5 Hertford Street · The Twenty Two