Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 16 material differences

ACG vs UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

ACG

Middle-market mergers and acquisitions professionals: private equity investors, corporate development officers, lenders, investment bankers, lawyers, accountants and advisers…

Verified September 2026
Professional association

UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)

UK private equity, venture capital and private credit fund managers, their institutional investors, and the advisers and service providers around them

What the records say

Side by side

ACGUK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1954 1983 (Founded in 1983 as the British Venture Capital Association; the organization's own site says it has been the voice of private capital in the UK for over four decades)
Headquarters Chicago, United States London, United Kingdom
Geographic footprint 61 local markets worldwide, grouped into seven regions (Canada, Central, Europe, Great Lakes, Northeast, Southeast, West); most chapters are in North America, with chapters in Austria, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain and the United Kingdom United Kingdom; members are fund managers, investors and advisers with a UK office or UK investments
Members 14,000as of September 2026 600as of September 2026
Chapters 61 Not applicable: the association has no chapter structure
Primary audience Middle-market mergers and acquisitions professionals: private equity investors, corporate development officers, lenders, investment bankers, lawyers, accountants and advisers, plus PE-backed CEOs UK private equity, venture capital and private credit fund managers, their institutional investors, and the advisers and service providers around them
Typical member Members come from corporations, private equity firms, lenders and professional service firms working on middle-market transactions. ACG reports that 75% of members say they have done business with another member. Specialist networks exist for corporate development officers, family offices, PE-backed CEOs, operating partners, women and young professionals. Member firms fall into four groups: general partners (PE, VC and private credit fund managers with a UK office or UK investments and FCA or equivalent regulatory approval), limited partners (pension funds, insurers, family offices, sovereign wealth funds, endowments and foundations, plus funds of funds and secondaries managers), professional services and financial institutions, and investee companies.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining Reduced young-professional rates are limited to first-time members aged 35 and underApplies to discounted categories only (for example ACG New York's Forward membership, available for a maximum of two years); standard membership has no age limitverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published maximum age at joining
Minimum investable assets No published minimum investable assets Family offices joining as limited partners must have at least £20m invested in European private equity and venture capitalUnregulated family offices with £20m–£100m invested must also supply a written reference from an FCA-authorised member at partner level or aboveverified September 2026 · source ↗
Accredited-investor status No published accredited-investor status General partners must hold FCA or equivalent regulatory approvalverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction UK general partners must have an office or investments in the UKverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No Sometimes
Application process Applicants pick a chapter using ACG's chapter locator and join or renew through the central portal at my.acg.org. There is no published interview, sponsorship or committee review; payment of chapter dues completes membership. A member referral programme exists but referral is not required. Firms contact the membership team at membership@ukprivatecapital.co.uk or apply through the relevant membership category page. Eligibility is checked against the category criteria and the code of conduct, and a subscription band is set from the firm's size. Unregulated family offices in the £20m–£100m band additionally need a written reference from an FCA-authorised member at partner level or above.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed: ACG publishes no acceptance criteria or rejection data, and membership appears to be open to anyone working in middle-market M&A who pays chapter dues Not publicly disclosed: the association publishes eligibility criteria but no acceptance data
Cost
Annual dues Dues are set by each chapter, so the amounts above are examples rather than a national schedule. £3,100–87,450 a yearUK General Partner category, banded by European funds under management: £3,100 (£0–25m); £6,050 (£25–50m); £9,750 (£50–100m); £11,900 (£100–200m); £18,150 (£200–300m); £25,250 (£300–400m); £32,400 (£400–500m); £39,450 (£500–625m); £47,200 (£625–750m); £55,100 (£750–875m); £62,950 (£875m–£1bn); £70,850 (£1–5bn); £76,500 (£5–10bn); £87,450 (over £10bn)verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed: no separate initiation fee was found; the first-year rate is higher than the renewal rate at some chaptersverified September 2026 All rates are published annual subscriptions. A special rate exists for first-time fund managers investing a first institutional fund; the amount was not located on the pages checked.
Local chapter dues $725 a yearACG New York standard membership, first yearverified September 2026 · source ↗ All rates are published annual subscriptions. A special rate exists for first-time fund managers investing a first institutional fund; the amount was not located on the pages checked.
Membership term Annual, renewed through the chapter Annual subscription
Structure
Meeting frequency More than 1,200 events a year across the network; individual chapters typically run monthly or more frequent programmes, plus national conferences including DealMAX A year-round calendar of conferences, summits, dinners and training courses, mostly in London
Peer forums No confidential peer forums; members organise through chapters and seven cross-chapter specialist networks (corporate development officers, family offices, PE-backed CEOs, operating partners, Women of ACG, young professionals) No peer-forum structure; members engage through committees, working groups and events
Confidentiality Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Partial No
Local chapters Yes No
Virtual membership No No
Online community Partial Partial
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Partial Yes
Leadership development Partial Partial
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming Yes No
Investment discussions Yes Partial
Investment opportunities Yes No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis High Medium
Social emphasis Medium Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: ACG · UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)