Comparison · 12 material differences
Alliance of Angels vs REAPS
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
Alliance of Angels
Accredited investors in the Seattle and wider Pacific Northwest region who want to invest actively in early-stage companies
REAPS
Private real estate investors in the Puget Sound region, from beginners to experienced operators, plus service businesses selling to them
What the records say
- Accredited-investor status: Alliance of Angels: Participation is limited to investors who qualify as accredited investors under Regulation D and who have such knowledge and experience in financial and business matters that they are capable of evaluating the merits and risks of prospective investments; REAPS: No published accredited-investor status.
- Geographic restriction: Alliance of Angels: No published geographic restriction; REAPS: Puget Sound region for in-person membership; online-only membership is available without attending in person.
- Annual dues: Alliance of Angels: Not publicly disclosed. The Join AoA page carries an FAQ entry titled "What are the membership options and dues?" but the answer is not published in the page content.; REAPS: $249 a year.
Side by side
| Alliance of Angels | REAPS | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Investment community | Investment community |
| Founded | 1997 (Founding year is not stated on the organisation's own current site; 1997 is reported consistently by third-party investor directories and profiles.) | 1983 |
| Headquarters | Seattle, United States | Bellevue, United States |
| Geographic footprint | Seattle-based; invests across the Pacific Northwest | Greater Seattle and the Puget Sound region, with monthly meetings in Mercer Island, Fife, Everett, Bremerton and Bellingham and a commercial real estate group in Bellevue |
| Members | 180as of September 2026 | Not publicly disclosed. REAPS describes itself as the largest real estate investor association in Washington State but publishes no membership figure. |
| Chapters | Single organisation; no chapters | A single regional association rather than a chaptered body; it runs recurring meetings in several Puget Sound locations. REAPS is itself the Washington State affiliate of National REIA. |
| Primary audience | Accredited investors in the Seattle and wider Pacific Northwest region who want to invest actively in early-stage companies | Private real estate investors in the Puget Sound region, from beginners to experienced operators, plus service businesses selling to them |
| Typical member | Members are accredited investors under Regulation D who must also have enough financial and business knowledge to evaluate the merits and risks of the investments presented. The group says it selects for diverse industry and professional credentials and for willingness to do diligence, mentoring and outreach rather than only writing cheques. | Members are individual real estate investors (flippers, wholesalers, buy-and-hold landlords, lenders, short-term rental operators) at a range of experience levels, alongside business members such as contractors, lenders and property managers who buy the paid business tiers. |
| Qualification | ||
| Accredited-investor status | Participation is limited to investors who qualify as accredited investors under Regulation D and who have such knowledge and experience in financial and business matters that they are capable of evaluating the merits and risks of prospective investmentsQuoted from the Join AoA pageverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published accredited-investor status |
| Geographic restriction | No published geographic restriction | Puget Sound region for in-person membership; online-only membership is available without attending in personverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | Not documented | No |
| Application process | Prospective members apply through the group's online application portal, reached from the Join AoA page. Applicants must qualify as accredited investors and are assessed in a new-member selection process that weighs industry and professional background and willingness to participate in diligence, mentoring and education alongside investing. | Membership is bought online from the REAPS site by selecting a level; there is no application, sponsor or review stage in the published process. Prospective members are invited to register through the events calendar and attend one main monthly meeting free before joining. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed; the published route is open paid enrolment. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | Not publicly disclosed. The Join AoA page carries an FAQ entry titled "What are the membership options and dues?" but the answer is not published in the page content.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $249 a yearIndividual membership, annual planverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Monthly dues | Not publicly disclosed. Secondary investor directories quote first-year and renewal figures, but no figure appears on the organisation's own site and none could be independently verified. | $29 a monthIndividual membership, monthly planverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 | Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee is listed alongside the published dues.verified September 2026 |
| Event costs | Not publicly disclosed. Secondary investor directories quote first-year and renewal figures, but no figure appears on the organisation's own site and none could be independently verified. | $0 one-timeMembers attend more than 50 live events a year free; first-time visitors may attend one main monthly meeting free as a guestverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Annual | Annual or monthly, depending on the plan chosen |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Monthly member meetings with three to five company pitches; regular investor education and networking events | More than 50 live events a year, including monthly meetings in Mercer Island, Fife, Everett, Bremerton and Bellingham and a commercial group in Bellevue |
| Peer forums | Not documented | Member forum online plus subject-specific learning groups; no confidential facilitated peer forum is published |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Event-focused | Event-focused, Virtual |
| Confidential peer forums | No | Partial |
| Local chapters | No | No |
| Virtual membership | Not documented | Yes |
| Online community | Yes | Yes |
| Member directory | Not documented | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | No | No |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | No |
| Family programming | No | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | Partial |
| Next-generation programming | No | No |
| Investment discussions | Yes | Yes |
| Investment opportunities | Yes | Partial |
| Philanthropic component | No | No |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Low | Medium |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Alliance of Angels · REAPS