Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 11 material differences

Angel Capital Association vs UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

Angel Capital Association

Individual accredited angel investors, organised angel groups, angel funds, family offices investing in private companies, equity crowdfunding platforms, and ecosystem…

Verified September 2026
Professional association

UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)

UK private equity, venture capital and private credit fund managers, their institutional investors, and the advisers and service providers around them

What the records say

Side by side

Angel Capital AssociationUK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 2004 (Formed out of four Angel Organization Summits convened by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation in 2002 and 2003. One business directory gives 2005; 2004 is the date recorded on Wikipedia and in ACA's own account of its origins.) 1983 (Founded in 1983 as the British Venture Capital Association; the organization's own site says it has been the voice of private capital in the UK for over four decades)
Headquarters Overland Park, United States London, United Kingdom
Geographic footprint United States, with some international members; ACA also serves as the US representative to the World Business Angels Association United Kingdom; members are fund managers, investors and advisers with a UK office or UK investments
Members 15,000as of September 2026 600as of September 2026
Chapters ACA has no chapters. Its 250+ member angel groups and platforms are independent organisations that join as institutional members. Not applicable — the association has no chapter structure
Primary audience Individual accredited angel investors, organised angel groups, angel funds, family offices investing in private companies, equity crowdfunding platforms, and ecosystem organisations such as accelerators and universities UK private equity, venture capital and private credit fund managers, their institutional investors, and the advisers and service providers around them
Typical member Individual members are accredited angel investors, most of whom belong to one of ACA's member angel groups and are automatically included through that group's membership. Institutional members are angel networks, funds, family offices and platforms. Member firms fall into four groups: general partners (PE, VC and private credit fund managers with a UK office or UK investments and FCA or equivalent regulatory approval), limited partners (pension funds, insurers, family offices, sovereign wealth funds, endowments and foundations, plus funds of funds and secondaries managers), professional services and financial institutions, and investee companies.
Qualification
Minimum investable assets No published minimum investable assets Family offices joining as limited partners must have at least £20m invested in European private equity and venture capitalUnregulated family offices with £20m–£100m invested must also supply a written reference from an FCA-authorised member at partner level or aboveverified September 2026 · source ↗
Accredited-investor status Individual membership is aimed at accredited angel investors; online equity marketplace platform members must be comprised of accredited investorsACA states that membership is available to individual angels, accredited platforms, angel group investors and family offices. It does not publish a separate verification procedure for individual members.verified September 2026 · source ↗ General partners must hold FCA or equivalent regulatory approvalverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction UK general partners must have an office or investments in the UKverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No Sometimes
Application process Applicants complete an online application, agree to the ACA Member Code of Conduct and pay annual dues for the relevant category. Online equity marketplace platforms are asked to contact the membership team rather than self-serve. Individual investors who belong to a member angel group are enrolled through that group. Firms contact the membership team at membership@ukprivatecapital.co.uk or apply through the relevant membership category page. Eligibility is checked against the category criteria and the code of conduct, and a subscription band is set from the firm's size. Unregulated family offices in the £20m–£100m band additionally need a written reference from an FCA-authorised member at partner level or above.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. Admission is by application and code-of-conduct agreement rather than by selection; ACA publishes no rejection or acceptance data. Not publicly disclosed — the association publishes eligibility criteria but no acceptance data
Cost
Annual dues $310 a yearIndividual Investor membership, "starting at $310". Members of ACA angel groups are automatically included.verified September 2026 · source ↗ £3,100–87,450 a yearUK General Partner category, banded by European funds under management: £3,100 (£0–25m); £6,050 (£25–50m); £9,750 (£50–100m); £11,900 (£100–200m); £18,150 (£200–300m); £25,250 (£300–400m); £32,400 (£400–500m); £39,450 (£500–625m); £47,200 (£625–750m); £55,100 (£750–875m); £62,950 (£875m–£1bn); £70,850 (£1–5bn); £76,500 (£5–10bn); £87,450 (over £10bn)verified September 2026 · source ↗
Event costs Not publicly disclosed. ACA's annual summit carries a registration fee that is not published on the membership pages.verified September 2026 All rates are published annual subscriptions. A special rate exists for first-time fund managers investing a first institutional fund; the amount was not located on the pages checked.
Membership term Annual Annual subscription
Structure
Meeting frequency Annual summit held in a different city each year, plus webinars and education programming through the year A year-round calendar of conferences, summits, dinners and training courses, mostly in London
Peer forums Peer group syndication channels rather than confidential peer forums No peer-forum structure; members engage through committees, working groups and events
Confidentiality Members agree to the ACA Member Code of Conduct; no separate confidentiality regime is published Could not be independently verified — no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Event-focused, Virtual Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Partial No
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership Yes No
Online community Yes Partial
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Partial Partial
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions Yes Partial
Investment opportunities Yes No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis High Medium
Social emphasis Low Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Angel Capital Association · UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)