Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 16 material differences

Angel Capital Association vs Financial Executives International

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

Angel Capital Association

Individual accredited angel investors, organised angel groups, angel funds, family offices investing in private companies, equity crowdfunding platforms, and ecosystem…

Verified September 2026
Professional association

Financial Executives International

Senior corporate finance executives - CFOs, chief accounting officers, controllers, treasurers, tax executives and audit committee members

What the records say

Side by side

Angel Capital AssociationFinancial Executives International
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 2004 (Formed out of four Angel Organization Summits convened by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation in 2002 and 2003. One business directory gives 2005; 2004 is the date recorded on Wikipedia and in ACA's own account of its origins.) 1931 (Founded as the Controllers Institute of America in 1931; renamed Financial Executives Institute in 1962 and Financial Executives International in 2000.)
Headquarters Overland Park, United States Morristown, United States
Geographic footprint United States, with some international members; ACA also serves as the US representative to the World Business Angels Association United States: 56 local chapters listed on FEI's own chapter index, from Hawaii to Long Island
Members 15,000as of September 2026 10,000as of September 2026
Chapters ACA has no chapters. Its 250+ member angel groups and platforms are independent organisations that join as institutional members. 56
Primary audience Individual accredited angel investors, organised angel groups, angel funds, family offices investing in private companies, equity crowdfunding platforms, and ecosystem organisations such as accelerators and universities Senior corporate finance executives - CFOs, chief accounting officers, controllers, treasurers, tax executives and audit committee members
Typical member Individual members are accredited angel investors, most of whom belong to one of ACA's member angel groups and are automatically included through that group's membership. Institutional members are angel networks, funds, family offices and platforms. Members hold policy-making finance roles at companies across every major industry, from Fortune 500 businesses to mid-sized enterprises. Eligibility requires both a qualifying title and a company that clears a size test.
Qualification
Role or title No published role or title Qualifying title: CFO, chief accounting officer, controller, treasurer, VP of finance, tax, risk management or planning and analysis, a director in those functions, or audit committee memberFEI describes membership as "exclusive to senior-level financial executives".verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company revenue No published minimum company revenue Company must have at least $10 million in annual revenues (or meet an alternative size test)Alternative tests are $2 million in net worth or $6 million in capital (combined net worth and long-term debt).verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum net worth No published minimum net worth Alternative company test: $2 million in net worthThis is a company balance-sheet test, not a personal net-worth test.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Accredited-investor status Individual membership is aimed at accredited angel investors; online equity marketplace platform members must be comprised of accredited investorsACA states that membership is available to individual angels, accredited platforms, angel group investors and family offices. It does not publish a separate verification procedure for individual members.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published accredited-investor status
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction United States; members within 75 miles of a chapter must join that chapterverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Applicants complete an online application, agree to the ACA Member Code of Conduct and pay annual dues for the relevant category. Online equity marketplace platforms are asked to contact the membership team rather than self-serve. Individual investors who belong to a member angel group are enrolled through that group. Candidates complete an online membership application on the FEI site, which checks the qualifying title and company size test and presents chapter options and rates. Chapter membership is required for those within 75 miles of a chapter. No sponsor or nomination is needed.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. Admission is by application and code-of-conduct agreement rather than by selection; ACA publishes no rejection or acceptance data. No acceptance rate is published. Selectivity operates through the published title and company-size tests and the exclusion of service providers and start-ups.
Cost
Annual dues $310 a yearIndividual Investor membership, "starting at $310". Members of ACA angel groups are automatically included.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $399–499 a year"FEI membership dues are $399 for first year and $499 for subsequent years for all categories of membership" per the FEI Kansas City chapter. Other FEI chapter sites quote $309 a year for national dues, so the published figure varies by page.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Dues are published as starting rates; the tiering above those floors is not detailed publicly. Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee separate from first-year dues is published.verified September 2026
Local chapter dues Dues are published as starting rates; the tiering above those floors is not detailed publicly. $75–468 a yearChapter dues are additional and vary by location: FEI Boston publishes $75 a year, FEI Northeast Ohio waives local dues in the first year, and FEI Sacramento lists $468 a year for executive, academic, in-transition and government/military categories, $399 for entrepreneur and $349 for retired. The Sacramento figures may be all-in rather than chapter-only.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Event costs Not publicly disclosed. ACA's annual summit carries a registration fee that is not published on the membership pages.verified September 2026 National dues plus a chapter component. FEI's own national dues and membership-category pages sit behind bot protection and could not be read; the amounts recorded come from official FEI chapter sites and disagree with one another.
Membership term Annual Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency Annual summit held in a different city each year, plus webinars and education programming through the year Local chapter meetings through the year plus national conferences, webinars and CPE-bearing courses
Peer forums Peer group syndication channels rather than confidential peer forums No standing facilitated peer forum. FEI operates chapters, technical committees and special-interest programming rather than closed advisory groups
Confidentiality Members agree to the ACA Member Code of Conduct; no separate confidentiality regime is published No published forum confidentiality rule; FEI is a professional association with open programming and a member code of conduct
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Event-focused, Virtual Chapter-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Partial Partial
Local chapters No Yes
Virtual membership Yes Partial
Online community Yes Partial
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Partial Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions Yes No
Investment opportunities Yes No
Philanthropic component No Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Low Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Angel Capital Association · Financial Executives International