Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 16 material differences

Baby Bathwater Institute vs The Collective Genius

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

Baby Bathwater Institute

Founders and owners of consumer, e-commerce and digital-service businesses, plus a smaller share of investors and advisers.

Verified September 2026
Paid mastermind

The Collective Genius

Owners and chief executives of real estate operating businesses - rehabbers, wholesalers, multifamily and self-storage operators, lenders, brokerages, home-services and…

What the records say

Side by side

Baby Bathwater InstituteThe Collective Genius
Profile
Type Invitation-only community Paid mastermind
Founded 2014 (The organization's About page says it "began back in 2014 with one unforgettable party...and not a single business plan in sight". It was co-founded by Hollis Carter and Michael Lovitch.) Not documented
Headquarters United States Tampa, United States
Geographic footprint Events are held across the United States, Mexico, Canada and Europe; past locations include Croatia, Cabo San Lucas, Colorado, South Carolina, Louisiana, Idaho, California, Utah, New York and British Columbia. United States focused, with members described as "the nation's elite real estate investors"; meetings are held at rotating locations rather than through local chapters, and members travel together internationally.
Members Not publicly disclosed on the organization's own pages, which describe "a few hundred founders". A December 2025 published interview with co-founder Hollis Carter cites "250+ active members". 650as of September 2026
Chapters No chapters; the community is organised around events plus an app-based platform. No chapters. The organization runs national mastermind meetings rather than local groups.
Primary audience Founders and owners of consumer, e-commerce and digital-service businesses, plus a smaller share of investors and advisers. Owners and chief executives of real estate operating businesses - rehabbers, wholesalers, multifamily and self-storage operators, lenders, brokerages, home-services and construction firms - graded into four tiers by revenue, profit, net worth or deal count.
Typical member The organization publishes a member composition breakdown: 65 per cent own seven- to nine-figure business-to-consumer businesses, 25 per cent provide digital services such as marketing, branding and growth, 5 per cent are influencers and up-and-comers, and 5 per cent are investors and mentors. The CEO tier page lists members drawn from real estate services, property management, real estate software, data providers, brokerages, home services, title, real estate law, development and construction, multifamily, self storage, manufactured-housing and RV parks, REITs, real estate-focused family offices, rehabbers and wholesalers, hard money and private lending, capital groups, real estate private equity and mortgage companies. The organization publishes named member profiles on its site.
Qualification
Role or title Founder, co-founder, CEO, other C-suite, or strategic adviserRoles offered on the application form.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published role or title
Minimum company revenue Guideline minimum of US$1M+ in revenuePublished as one of three alternative business guidelines (US$1M+ revenue, US$500K profit, or US$3M+ raised or equivalent equity milestone). The organization states these are "guidelines, not a checklist".verified September 2026 · source ↗ Elevate tier: US$200,000-US$500,000 annual revenue, or 10-25 deals a yearThe entry tier of four; the homepage presents these as the bands members choose between.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum capital raised Alternative guideline of US$3M+ raised, or an equivalent equity milestoneOne of three alternative tests; the application form also offers routes for businesses under US$3M that have raised at least US$3M or had a prior seven-figure exit.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum capital raised
Minimum net worth No published minimum net worth CEO tier alternative test: US$15M net worthOne of three alternative qualifying tests for the CEO tier.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction No published industry restriction Real estate operating businesses, lending and related servicesThe CEO page lists qualifying verticals from rehabbers and wholesalers to title, brokerage, home services, REITs and real estate-focused family offices.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No Yes
Sponsor required No Sometimes
Application process A four-step process: a five-minute application covering the business; a personal review by the team; a two-way call described as a genuine conversation about fit; and then, on approval, an invitation with onboarding. The organization says every application is reviewed and that unsuccessful applicants receive feedback on fit rather than silence. Prospective members complete a detailed online application covering years investing, employee count, market, annual revenue, business model, closings in the last twelve months broken down by rehab, wholesale and buy-and-hold, rental doors, core strengths, current challenges and referral source. Applications that pass initial screening are reviewed in a conversation with the organization; if both sides agree there is mutual benefit, an invitation to join follows. CEO-tier candidates are separately interviewed for financial and cultural fit.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. No acceptance rate is published; the organization states that members are vetted for character as well as revenue and that the published business minimums are guidelines. Not publicly disclosed. The organization describes a "detailed application/screening process" and says it invites rather than sells, but publishes no acceptance rate. The application asks who referred the applicant, without making a referral mandatory.
Cost
Annual dues $12,500 a yearSingle published membership rate. The membership page states: "That's the whole number. No tiers, no a la carte add-ons, no surprise fees once you're in." Members also receive 50 per cent off all flagship, mastermind and adventure events.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed. No price is published for the Elevate, Select, Premier or CEO tiers; the site refers only to a "membership investment" and routes prospects to an application and consultation.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Monthly dues $1,250 a monthMonthly alternative to the annual rate, published on the same page.verified September 2026 · source ↗ The organization publishes a "No Risk Policy": if either side decides within the first 30 days of membership that the fit is wrong, it refunds 100 percent of the initial investment with no questions asked.
Initiation fee Membership pricing is published; individual event ticket prices are not listed on the organization's events page. Not publicly disclosed. The site refers to an "initial investment" that is fully refundable within the first 30 days but does not state its size.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Event costs Third-party reported figures: a December 2025 interview with co-founder Hollis Carter quotes live events at US$12,500 for non-members and US$6,250 for members. The organization's own events page lists no ticket prices; the 50 per cent member discount is confirmed on the membership page.verified September 2026 · source ↗ The organization publishes a "No Risk Policy": if either side decides within the first 30 days of membership that the fit is wrong, it refunds 100 percent of the initial investment with no questions asked.
Membership term One-year initial term, then month-to-month with 45 days' cancellation notice Not publicly disclosed as a term length; the first 30 days carry a full refund of the initial investment.
Structure
Meeting frequency Three to four flagship events a year (100-200 attendees), one to three masterminds (12-25 members) and one to three adventures (12-20 members), plus virtual sessions Mastermind meetings up to four times a year, held in person and virtually
Peer forums Small-group hot seats with peers at a similar stage, plus The Tub app community and brokered one-to-one introductions Large confidential mastermind meetings of the member community rather than assigned small forums; the organization documents member-to-member commitments made in the room and completes introductions within about 48 hours
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed; the organization publishes a no-pitching rule covering members, speakers and the organization itself Meetings are described as "exclusive, confidential masterminds" and the CEO tier as an "intimate, confidential community"; no written confidentiality policy is published.
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Event-focused, Virtual Event-focused, Virtual, Forum-based
Confidential peer forums Yes Yes
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership Partial Partial
Online community Yes Yes
Member directory Partial Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Partial Yes
Leadership development Partial Yes
Retreats Yes Yes
Travel Yes Yes
Family programming No Partial
Spouse and partner programming Not documented Not documented
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions Partial Yes
Investment opportunities No Yes
Philanthropic component Not documented Yes
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis High Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Baby Bathwater Institute · The Collective Genius