Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 20 material differences

Baby Bathwater Institute vs South Park Commons

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

Baby Bathwater Institute

Founders and owners of consumer, e-commerce and digital-service businesses, plus a smaller share of investors and advisers.

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

South Park Commons

Technical founders, researchers and domain experts between things - the site's phrase is "-1 to 0" - who can commit full time and live in San Francisco, New York or Bengaluru.

What the records say

Side by side

Baby Bathwater InstituteSouth Park Commons
Profile
Type Invitation-only community Invitation-only community
Founded 2014 (The organization's About page says it "began back in 2014 with one unforgettable party...and not a single business plan in sight". It was co-founded by Hollis Carter and Michael Lovitch.) 2016 (The Our Story page dates the community to 2016 and describes its origin as ten people reading AI papers around founding member Ruchi Sanghvi's dining table, before a physical space opened in San Francisco's South Park neighbourhood.)
Headquarters United States San Francisco, United States
Geographic footprint Events are held across the United States, Mexico, Canada and Europe; past locations include Croatia, Cabo San Lucas, Colorado, South Carolina, Louisiana, Idaho, California, Utah, New York and British Columbia. Physical communities in San Francisco (380 Brannan St), New York City and Bengaluru; members must live in one of the three hubs.
Members Not publicly disclosed on the organization's own pages, which describe "a few hundred founders". A December 2025 published interview with co-founder Hollis Carter cites "250+ active members". 175as of September 2026
Chapters No chapters; the community is organised around events plus an app-based platform. 3
Primary audience Founders and owners of consumer, e-commerce and digital-service businesses, plus a smaller share of investors and advisers. Technical founders, researchers and domain experts between things - the site's phrase is "-1 to 0" - who can commit full time and live in San Francisco, New York or Bengaluru.
Typical member The organization publishes a member composition breakdown: 65 per cent own seven- to nine-figure business-to-consumer businesses, 25 per cent provide digital services such as marketing, branding and growth, 5 per cent are influencers and up-and-comers, and 5 per cent are investors and mentors. The FAQ states that about 70 percent of members are founders who aspire to start a company and 30 percent are researchers and experts going deeper in new fields. Members are expected to be full-time; those holding a full-time job are generally not accepted, with rare exceptions for visa or vesting reasons. Applicants who want to leave or take a sabbatical from university or academia are considered.
Qualification
Role or title Founder, co-founder, CEO, other C-suite, or strategic adviserRoles offered on the application form.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published role or title
Minimum company revenue Guideline minimum of US$1M+ in revenuePublished as one of three alternative business guidelines (US$1M+ revenue, US$500K profit, or US$3M+ raised or equivalent equity milestone). The organization states these are "guidelines, not a checklist".verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum company revenue
Minimum capital raised Alternative guideline of US$3M+ raised, or an equivalent equity milestoneOne of three alternative tests; the application form also offers routes for businesses under US$3M that have raised at least US$3M or had a prior seven-figure exit.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum capital raised
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction Must live in and work from San Francisco, New York City or BengaluruThe FAQ answers "Do I need to be located in SF, NYC, or Bangalore?" as yes; members are expected to work from SPC spaces through the week.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process A four-step process: a five-minute application covering the business; a personal review by the team; a two-way call described as a genuine conversation about fit; and then, on approval, an invitation with onboarding. The organization says every application is reviewed and that unsuccessful applicants receive feedback on fit rather than silence. Applicants apply online to either the Member Residency or the Founder Fellowship. The organization says it reads every application and that applicants generally hear back within one to three weeks; those advancing are invited to an interview. Residency applications are accepted on a rolling basis year-round, while the Fellowship runs spring and autumn cohorts with application cut-offs and concentrated interview periods before each start.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. No acceptance rate is published; the organization states that members are vetted for character as well as revenue and that the published business minimums are guidelines. Not publicly disclosed. SPC publishes active member and alumni counts but no application volume or acceptance rate.
Cost
Annual dues $12,500 a yearSingle published membership rate. The membership page states: "That's the whole number. No tiers, no a la carte add-ons, no surprise fees once you're in." Members also receive 50 per cent off all flagship, mastermind and adventure events.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $0 a year"Is there a membership fee? No, we do not charge fees or dues." The India page repeats that the six-month residency is at "No cost or equity".verified September 2026 · source ↗
Monthly dues $1,250 a monthMonthly alternative to the annual rate, published on the same page.verified September 2026 · source ↗ SPC does not sell membership. Its economics run through the SPC Fund, which the site says manages a US$575 million global pool and writes cheques from US$1 million to US$10 million.
Programme fee Membership pricing is published; individual event ticket prices are not listed on the organization's events page. $0 one-timeThe six-month Member Residency carries no fee and no equity. The separate Founder Fellowship is an investment, not a fee: US$400,000 for 7 percent via a SAFE plus US$600,000 guaranteed in the next venture round.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Event costs Third-party reported figures: a December 2025 interview with co-founder Hollis Carter quotes live events at US$12,500 for non-members and US$6,250 for members. The organization's own events page lists no ticket prices; the 50 per cent member discount is confirmed on the membership page.verified September 2026 · source ↗ SPC does not sell membership. Its economics run through the SPC Fund, which the site says manages a US$575 million global pool and writes cheques from US$1 million to US$10 million.
Membership term One-year initial term, then month-to-month with 45 days' cancellation notice Six-month Member Residency; Founder Fellowship recipients become lifetime members of the community
Structure
Meeting frequency Three to four flagship events a year (100-200 attendees), one to three masterminds (12-25 members) and one to three adventures (12-20 members), plus virtual sessions Members work from SPC spaces through the week; peer accountability groups, learning forums, speaker series, workshops and roundtables run on an ongoing basis
Peer forums Small-group hot seats with peers at a similar stage, plus The Tub app community and brokered one-to-one introductions Peer accountability groups and member-led learning forums rather than assigned confidential forums; Fellowship cohorts are kept small at roughly one partner per two companies, with no demo day
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed; the organization publishes a no-pitching rule covering members, speakers and the organization itself Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Full time. The residency page states that "-1 to 0 isn't a side project. It's a full time endeavor."
Organized as Event-focused, Virtual Clubhouse premises, Cohort-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Yes Yes
Local chapters No Yes
Virtual membership Partial No
Online community Yes Yes
Member directory Partial Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Partial Yes
Leadership development Partial Partial
Retreats Yes No
Travel Yes No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions Partial Yes
Investment opportunities No Yes
Philanthropic component Not documented No
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis High Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Baby Bathwater Institute · South Park Commons