Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 17 material differences

UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA) vs LAVA

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)

UK private equity, venture capital and private credit fund managers, their institutional investors, and the advisers and service providers around them

Verified September 2026
Networking organization

LAVA

Participants in the Los Angeles venture ecosystem: venture capitalists, limited partners, family offices, angel investors, founders of venture-backed companies, and the…

What the records say

Side by side

UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)LAVA
Profile
Type Professional association Networking organization
Founded 1983 (Founded in 1983 as the British Venture Capital Association; the organization's own site says it has been the voice of private capital in the UK for over four decades) 1984 (LAVA's About page says it was established in 1984 as the Los Angeles Venture Club; its homepage gives 1985. The two dates were not reconciled.)
Headquarters London, United Kingdom Los Angeles, United States
Geographic footprint United Kingdom; members are fund managers, investors and advisers with a UK office or UK investments Greater Los Angeles and Southern California
Members 600as of September 2026 Not publicly disclosed
Chapters Not applicable: the association has no chapter structure No chapters. LAVA organises internally into industry committees, affinity groups and special interest groups rather than geographic chapters.
Primary audience UK private equity, venture capital and private credit fund managers, their institutional investors, and the advisers and service providers around them Participants in the Los Angeles venture ecosystem: venture capitalists, limited partners, family offices, angel investors, founders of venture-backed companies, and the professional services firms around them
Typical member Member firms fall into four groups: general partners (PE, VC and private credit fund managers with a UK office or UK investments and FCA or equivalent regulatory approval), limited partners (pension funds, insurers, family offices, sovereign wealth funds, endowments and foundations, plus funds of funds and secondaries managers), professional services and financial institutions, and investee companies. LAVA's own description covers limited partners, venture capitalists, family offices, angel investors, founders, incubators, accelerators, universities, researchers, mentors, government officials and legal, accounting, marketing and PR service providers. Its membership tiers price these groups differently, with separate rates for entrepreneurs, investors, VC partners, limited partners and academics.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining No published maximum age at joining Young VC membership requires the member to be employed by a venture firm and under 40Carries a reduced rate and access to young-VC events.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Role or title No published role or title VC Partner membership is for partners at venture firms, or analysts and associates at those firmsGives access to investor-only events.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum investable assets Family offices joining as limited partners must have at least £20m invested in European private equity and venture capitalUnregulated family offices with £20m–£100m invested must also supply a written reference from an FCA-authorised member at partner level or aboveverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum investable assets
Accredited-investor status General partners must hold FCA or equivalent regulatory approvalverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published accredited-investor status
Geographic restriction UK general partners must have an office or investments in the UKverified September 2026 · source ↗ Los Angeles and Southern California focusThe academic researcher rate is described as a discounted rate for local academics.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required Sometimes No
Application process Firms contact the membership team at membership@ukprivatecapital.co.uk or apply through the relevant membership category page. Eligibility is checked against the category criteria and the code of conduct, and a subscription band is set from the firm's size. Unregulated family offices in the £20m–£100m band additionally need a written reference from an FCA-authorised member at partner level or above. Membership is bought online through LAVA's member portal by selecting a category. There is no published application review, sponsorship or interview stage; category eligibility appears to rest on self-declaration.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed: the association publishes eligibility criteria but no acceptance data Not publicly disclosed. Some events are invitation-only within the membership (investor-only and LP/VC-only formats), but membership itself is open paid enrolment.
Cost
Annual dues £3,100–87,450 a yearUK General Partner category, banded by European funds under management: £3,100 (£0–25m); £6,050 (£25–50m); £9,750 (£50–100m); £11,900 (£100–200m); £18,150 (£200–300m); £25,250 (£300–400m); £32,400 (£400–500m); £39,450 (£500–625m); £47,200 (£625–750m); £55,100 (£750–875m); £62,950 (£875m–£1bn); £70,850 (£1–5bn); £76,500 (£5–10bn); £87,450 (over £10bn)verified September 2026 · source ↗ $485 a yearPremium individual membership, annual ($50 a month on the monthly plan)verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee All rates are published annual subscriptions. A special rate exists for first-time fund managers investing a first institutional fund; the amount was not located on the pages checked. Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee appears alongside the published dues.verified September 2026
Membership term Annual subscription Annual, with a monthly option on the premium individual tier
Structure
Meeting frequency A year-round calendar of conferences, summits, dinners and training courses, mostly in London Live and virtual events year-round, including investor round tables, syndication screenings, VC check-ins and private mixers, plus annual events such as Meet the VC, First Look SoCal and the LAVA Awards
Peer forums No peer-forum structure; members engage through committees, working groups and events Industry committees across more than a dozen sectors, affinity groups (Women In LAVA, Young VCs at LAVA, university alumni groups), special interest groups and sector divisions
Confidentiality Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Event-focused Event-focused, Virtual
Confidential peer forums No Partial
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership No Yes
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Partial
Leadership development Partial No
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming No Yes
Investment discussions Partial Yes
Investment opportunities No Yes
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis Medium High
Social emphasis Low Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA) · LAVA