Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 12 material differences

C12 vs The Alternative Board

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Peer advisory

C12

Christian chief executives, business owners and executives of growth-stage companies with at least ten employees and more than US$2 million in annual revenue.

Verified September 2026
Peer advisory

The Alternative Board

Owners and leaders of privately held, growth-focused small and mid-sized companies.

What the records say

Side by side

C12The Alternative Board
Profile
Type Peer advisory Peer advisory
Founded 1992 (Founded in October 1992 by Buck Jacobs, reportedly in Florida, to bring Christian business owners and chief executives together in small peer groups.) 1990 (Founded by Allen Fishman, reportedly in St. Louis, Missouri, after his own experience of the value a board of directors provided when his company went public. TAB began franchising in 1996.)
Headquarters United States Westminster, United States
Geographic footprint More than 160 metropolitan areas across five continents, with named operations including Brazil, South Africa, Kenya and Malaysia Boards in 25 or more countries across the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia and Australasia, delivered through independently owned franchises
Members 4,900as of September 2026 Not disclosed as a current headcount. TAB's own FAQ states it has "supported more than 25,000 businesses worldwide", with "members representing over 1,100 industries" who "collectively generate $29.3 billion in gross revenue". Secondary sources report more than 4,600 current members globally; TAB does not publish that figure.
Chapters Not publicly disclosed as a forum count. C12 states it operates in "more than 160 major metropolitan areas" and is guided by "over 250 full-time Chairs", but publishes no total number of Forums. 500
Primary audience Christian chief executives, business owners and executives of growth-stage companies with at least ten employees and more than US$2 million in annual revenue. Owners and leaders of privately held, growth-focused small and mid-sized companies.
Typical member Members are Christian CEOs, owners, presidents, managing partners, executive directors and business-unit general managers. C12 reports an average member tenure of five to seven years, with some members of several decades' standing. Members are owners and senior leaders of privately held companies, recruited locally by the franchise owner who facilitates their board; competing businesses are excluded from the same board. TAB states members represent over 1,100 industries and collectively generate US$29.3 billion in gross revenue, and reports an average member tenure of 4.7 years.
Qualification
Role or title CEO, business owner, president, managing partner, executive director or business-unit general managerKey Player Forums exist separately for senior executives and managers below CEO level at member companies.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Business owner or leader of a privately held, growth-focused companyTAB publishes no revenue, employee or net-worth threshold.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company revenue Greater than US$2,000,000 in annual revenueStated in C12's FAQ; C12's apply-to-join page states the employee test without repeating a revenue minimum.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum company revenue
Minimum employees 10 or more employeesverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum employees
Invitation required Yes No
Sponsor required Not documented No
Application process Candidates complete an application covering personal, business and financial information, and agree to a membership covenant on attendance and doctrine. C12 describes membership as invitation-only but open to any qualifying Christian CEO, owner or executive who meets the employee and revenue tests. Prospective members contact a local TAB board through the site's board finder. The local facilitator coach screens and hand-selects members, excluding competitors of existing members, and places them on a board. There is no central admissions process.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. C12 publishes no acceptance rate. Not publicly disclosed. Secondary reporting describes TAB as effectively invitation-based, with most members joining through referrals from existing members; TAB does not state this on its own pages.
Cost
Monthly dues Not publicly disclosed. C12 states it is "a dues-based membership paid monthly" and that "dues amounts are determined locally based on market economics and dynamics". Dues cover monthly meetings, materials and one individual coaching session.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed. TAB states that membership dues are billed monthly with no binding contract and 30 days' written notice to leave, but terms and amounts are set locally by each franchise owner and no schedule is published.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Dues paid monthly; C12 reports average member tenure of five to seven years Monthly billing, no binding contract; 30 days' written notice required to leave
Structure
Meeting frequency Monthly in-person Forum plus a monthly one-hour FOCUS60 coaching session; C12 states the total commitment is less than 100 hours a year Monthly board meetings of about four hours (described elsewhere on TAB's site as half-day sessions), plus a monthly one-to-one coaching call
Peer forums Monthly invitation-only Forums of Christian CEOs, owners and executives led by a full-time C12 Chair, described as sitting with around a dozen proven leaders. C12 does not publish an exact average Forum size. Boards of non-competing business owners, given as up to eight members on TAB's peer-advisory page and 8-10 on its membership page, each led by a TAB Certified Facilitator Coach.
Confidentiality Forums are described as confidential and invitation-only; C12 does not publish the text of its confidentiality terms. Boards exclude direct competitors and operate as private advisory groups; TAB does not publish its confidentiality terms.
Time commitment Less than 100 hours a year per C12 About four hours a month for the board meeting plus a monthly coaching call, with a commitment to at least 12 meetings a year
Organized as Forum-based, Event-focused Forum-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Yes Yes
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership No Partial
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Not documented Yes
Events Yes Partial
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats Partial Not documented
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Yes No
Networking emphasis Medium Medium
Social emphasis Medium Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: C12 · The Alternative Board