Comparison · 15 material differences
CCIM Institute vs The PEER 150
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
CCIM Institute
Commercial real estate practitioners (brokers, investors, asset managers, lenders, appraisers and developers) pursuing or holding the CCIM designation
The PEER 150
Chief human resources officers, chief people officers and other senior HR leaders at large US employers
What the records say
- Role or title: CCIM Institute: No published role or title; The PEER 150: Senior HR leader - CHRO, chief people officer, EVP/SVP/VP of human resources or equivalent.
- Geographic restriction: CCIM Institute: No published geographic restriction; The PEER 150: United States.
- Industry restriction: CCIM Institute: Candidate membership is open to commercial real estate practitioners; no prior designation or advanced degree is required; The PEER 150: No published industry restriction.
- Annual dues: CCIM Institute: $695 a year; The PEER 150: $0 a year.
Side by side
| CCIM Institute | The PEER 150 | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Professional association | Networking organization |
| Founded | 1967 (CCIM's own designation page states "Since 1967, more than 20,000 professionals have completed the CCIM Designation program"; its homepage says the Institute has operated for more than 56 years.) | 2014 ("Thus, in 2014, The PEER 150 was born" per the organisation's own story page.) |
| Headquarters | Chicago, United States | Portland, United States |
| Geographic footprint | Members in more than 30 countries; chapters across the United States plus Canada, Puerto Rico, Japan, Korea and Taiwan | United States: 12 regional chapters - Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, Nashville, New York, Portland, San Francisco and Seattle |
| Members | 13,000as of September 2026 | 800as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | 59 | 12 |
| Primary audience | Commercial real estate practitioners (brokers, investors, asset managers, lenders, appraisers and developers) pursuing or holding the CCIM designation | Chief human resources officers, chief people officers and other senior HR leaders at large US employers |
| Typical member | Members are working commercial real estate practitioners rather than a wealth or seniority cohort. Candidate members are practitioners studying for the designation; designees have completed the curriculum, submitted a portfolio of qualifying experience and passed a comprehensive exam. | Members are CHROs, chief people officers, EVPs and SVPs of HR and comparable senior people leaders at large US employers; the member directory lists executives from companies including Kaiser Permanente, Nike, Georgia Power, Chick-fil-A and NCR Voyix. The organisation reports a mix of C-suite, VP/SVP and director-level attendees. |
| Qualification | ||
| Role or title | No published role or title | Senior HR leader - CHRO, chief people officer, EVP/SVP/VP of human resources or equivalentThe organisation describes itself as a national community of senior HR leaders; membership pages do not publish a formal written title test.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Geographic restriction | No published geographic restriction | United Statesverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Industry restriction | Candidate membership is open to commercial real estate practitioners; no prior designation or advanced degree is requiredPractitioners who are not pursuing the designation may also join in order to take courses.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published industry restriction |
| Invitation required | No | Sometimes |
| Sponsor required | No | No |
| Application process | Practitioners join online as candidate members and pay annual dues, then work through the designation curriculum at their own pace. Applications for the special designee categories (life membership, retirement, leave of absence) are reviewed twice a year, with a spring deadline of 27 March 2026 for the current cycle. | Prospective members complete an application form on the website. The organisation reviews applicants for seniority and fit within the local HR community before granting access to events and the member channels. No sponsor or dues payment is involved. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed as an acceptance rate. Membership itself is open; the filter is the designation, which requires curriculum completion, a qualifying-experience portfolio and a comprehensive exam. | Not publicly disclosed. Gatherings are described as invite-only and applications are reviewed, but no acceptance data is published. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | $695 a yearCandidate membership, United States. Dues prorate in the shopping cart for members joining after 31 January.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $0 a yearThe organisation's application page states plainly that membership is completely free. The business is funded by event sponsors and partners.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | Candidate dues are published; the standard designee rate is not. Course fees for the designation curriculum are separate from membership dues. | $0 one-timeNo joining fee; membership carries no charge.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Local chapter dues | Not publicly disclosed; chapter dues are not listed on the national membership pages.verified September 2026 | Membership is free. Revenue comes from sponsorship and partnership packages sold to vendors. |
| Programme fee | Not recorded here. The designation curriculum is priced separately from dues under CCIM's "Designation Program: Time & Cost" schedule, which was not read for this record.verified September 2026 | Membership is free. Revenue comes from sponsorship and partnership packages sold to vendors. |
| Event costs | Candidate dues are published; the standard designee rate is not. Course fees for the designation curriculum are separate from membership dues. | Member events including the National Summit are included in membership. The PDXYZ conference sells registrations more widely; its member pricing is not published.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Calendar year, with dues prorated for members joining after 31 January | Not documented |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Chapter events year-round plus national Spring and Fall Forums | Regional dinners through the year in each chapter city, plus virtual webinars and roundtables, the annual National Summit and the PDXYZ conference |
| Peer forums | Local chapters organised across 13 regions; no confidential facilitated peer forum is published | No standing facilitated forums. The core format is a regional dinner of 40-70 senior HR leaders hosted at a member's headquarters, with a tour, workshop or presentation |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed; CCIM publishes a Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice | The organisation emphasises candid, unfiltered discussion under a "Come As You Are" philosophy, but publishes no formal confidentiality rule |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Chapter-based, Cohort-based, Event-focused | Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual |
| Confidential peer forums | Partial | Partial |
| Local chapters | Yes | Yes |
| Virtual membership | Partial | Yes |
| Online community | Partial | Yes |
| Member directory | Yes | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | Yes | Partial |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | No |
| Family programming | No | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | No |
| Next-generation programming | Partial | No |
| Investment discussions | Yes | No |
| Investment opportunities | Partial | No |
| Philanthropic component | No | No |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Low | High |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: CCIM Institute · The PEER 150