Comparison · 9 material differences
CCIM Institute vs PREA
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
CCIM Institute
Commercial real estate practitioners (brokers, investors, asset managers, lenders, appraisers and developers) pursuing or holding the CCIM designation
PREA
Institutional investors in real estate (public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurers and family offices) together with the investment managers, advisers…
What the records say
- Industry restriction: CCIM Institute: Candidate membership is open to commercial real estate practitioners; no prior designation or advanced degree is required; PREA: Corporate membership: organisations providing investment management, advisory, consulting, property management, legal, accounting, appraisal or other services to institutional investors, including REITs and real estate operating companies.
- Annual dues: CCIM Institute: $695 a year; PREA: $9,995 a year.
Side by side
| CCIM Institute | PREA | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Professional association | Professional association |
| Founded | 1967 (CCIM's own designation page states "Since 1967, more than 20,000 professionals have completed the CCIM Designation program"; its homepage says the Institute has operated for more than 56 years.) | 1979 |
| Headquarters | Chicago, United States | Hartford, United States |
| Geographic footprint | Members in more than 30 countries; chapters across the United States plus Canada, Puerto Rico, Japan, Korea and Taiwan | Primarily North America, with international institutional investor and manager firms among members; PREA runs conferences in the United States and abroad |
| Members | 13,000as of September 2026 | 700as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | 59 | No chapters; PREA operates as a single association with a conference and research programme. |
| Primary audience | Commercial real estate practitioners (brokers, investors, asset managers, lenders, appraisers and developers) pursuing or holding the CCIM designation | Institutional investors in real estate (public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurers and family offices) together with the investment managers, advisers and service firms that work with them |
| Typical member | Members are working commercial real estate practitioners rather than a wealth or seniority cohort. Candidate members are practitioners studying for the designation; designees have completed the curriculum, submitted a portfolio of qualifying experience and passed a comprehensive exam. | PREA's membership is organisational. Its own description covers public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurance companies, investment advisory firms, REITs, developers, real estate operating companies and industry service providers. The dues structure separates institutional investors, defined as organisations investing predominantly for their own account, from corporate members selling services to them. |
| Qualification | ||
| Industry restriction | Candidate membership is open to commercial real estate practitioners; no prior designation or advanced degree is requiredPractitioners who are not pursuing the designation may also join in order to take courses.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Corporate membership: organisations providing investment management, advisory, consulting, property management, legal, accounting, appraisal or other services to institutional investors, including REITs and real estate operating companiesverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | No | Not documented |
| Application process | Practitioners join online as candidate members and pay annual dues, then work through the designation curriculum at their own pace. Applications for the special designee categories (life membership, retirement, leave of absence) are reviewed twice a year, with a spring deadline of 27 March 2026 for the current cycle. | Applicants apply online, logging in first if they already hold a PREA account. Applications are reviewed before member-only access is activated; once approved and paid, access is granted the same business day. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed as an acceptance rate. Membership itself is open; the filter is the designation, which requires curriculum completion, a qualifying-experience portfolio and a comprehensive exam. | Not publicly disclosed. PREA states applications are reviewed but publishes no criteria beyond the category eligibility tests and no acceptance rate. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | $695 a yearCandidate membership, United States. Dues prorate in the shopping cart for members joining after 31 January.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $9,995 a yearFull Corporate membership: unlimited company representativesverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | Candidate dues are published; the standard designee rate is not. Course fees for the designation curriculum are separate from membership dues. | Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee appears alongside the published dues.verified September 2026 |
| Local chapter dues | Not publicly disclosed; chapter dues are not listed on the national membership pages.verified September 2026 | Dues are charged to the member organisation, not per individual. First-year billing covers the full calendar year and a prorated credit is issued in year two. |
| Programme fee | Not recorded here. The designation curriculum is priced separately from dues under CCIM's "Designation Program: Time & Cost" schedule, which was not read for this record.verified September 2026 | Dues are charged to the member organisation, not per individual. First-year billing covers the full calendar year and a prorated credit is issued in year two. |
| Membership term | Calendar year, with dues prorated for members joining after 31 January | Calendar year; first-year billing covers the full calendar year with a prorated credit in year two |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Chapter events year-round plus national Spring and Fall Forums | Conference programme through the year plus research and publications |
| Peer forums | Local chapters organised across 13 regions; no confidential facilitated peer forum is published | No confidential peer forum structure is published |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed; CCIM publishes a Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice | Not publicly disclosed |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Chapter-based, Cohort-based, Event-focused | Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | Partial | No |
| Local chapters | Yes | No |
| Virtual membership | Partial | No |
| Online community | Partial | Partial |
| Member directory | Yes | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | Yes | No |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | No |
| Family programming | No | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | Not documented |
| Next-generation programming | Partial | Not documented |
| Investment discussions | Yes | Yes |
| Investment opportunities | Partial | Partial |
| Philanthropic component | No | No |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Low | Low |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: CCIM Institute · PREA