Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 13 material differences

CCIM Institute vs Society for Information Management

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

CCIM Institute

Commercial real estate practitioners — brokers, investors, asset managers, lenders, appraisers and developers — pursuing or holding the CCIM designation

Verified September 2026
Professional association

Society for Information Management

Senior IT and technology executives - CIOs and their direct reports - plus academics in information systems, consulting partners and non-IT leaders whose roles affect technology…

What the records say

Side by side

CCIM InstituteSociety for Information Management
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1967 (CCIM's own designation page states "Since 1967, more than 20,000 professionals have completed the CCIM Designation program"; its homepage says the Institute has operated for more than 56 years.) 1968 (SIM's inaugural meeting was held on 22 November 1968 at the US Atomic Energy Commission in Washington DC, after a conversation between Robert Head and Herb Schwartz at an ACM conference; the first conference followed in September 1969 at the University of Minnesota. Sources give 1968 or 1969 depending on which event is treated as the founding.)
Headquarters Chicago, United States Mount Laurel, United States
Geographic footprint Members in more than 30 countries; chapters across the United States plus Canada, Puerto Rico, Japan, Korea and Taiwan United States and Canada: 38 chapters listed on SIM's own chapter index, including one in Toronto, plus a Member At-Large option for those without a nearby chapter
Members 13,000as of September 2026 5,000as of September 2026
Chapters 59 38
Primary audience Commercial real estate practitioners — brokers, investors, asset managers, lenders, appraisers and developers — pursuing or holding the CCIM designation Senior IT and technology executives - CIOs and their direct reports - plus academics in information systems, consulting partners and non-IT leaders whose roles affect technology strategy
Typical member Members are working commercial real estate practitioners rather than a wealth or seniority cohort. Candidate members are practitioners studying for the designation; designees have completed the curriculum, submitted a portfolio of qualifying experience and passed a comprehensive exam. Members are corporate or divisional heads of information systems and the management staff supporting them, plus full-time academics in the IS field, partner-level consultants and non-IT executives with a major role in strategic technology direction. SIM says its members' employers account for over $200 billion in technology spend.
Qualification
Role or title No published role or title Practitioner: a senior-level IT professional in a public or private sector organisation - a corporate or divisional IS head, or a member of an IS management staff supporting them in a key management roleverified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction Candidate membership is open to commercial real estate practitioners; no prior designation or advanced degree is requiredPractitioners who are not pursuing the designation may also join in order to take courses.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published industry restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Practitioners join online as candidate members and pay annual dues, then work through the designation curriculum at their own pace. Applications for the special designee categories — life membership, retirement, leave of absence — are reviewed twice a year, with a spring deadline of 27 March 2026 for the current cycle. Applicants apply to a local chapter, selecting one of the four membership categories, or apply as a Member At-Large if no chapter covers their area. The membership year runs 1 January to 31 December. Chapters review applications against the published category definitions; there is no sponsor or committee vote published.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed as an acceptance rate. Membership itself is open; the filter is the designation, which requires curriculum completion, a qualifying-experience portfolio and a comprehensive exam. Not publicly disclosed. Admission turns on meeting one of the four published category definitions; no acceptance rate is published.
Cost
Annual dues $695 a yearCandidate membership, United States. Dues prorate in the shopping cart for members joining after 31 January.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed at national level. SIM does not publish a single national dues figure; members join through a chapter and the chapter sets the rate.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Candidate dues are published; the standard designee rate is not. Course fees for the designation curriculum are separate from membership dues. Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Local chapter dues Not publicly disclosed; chapter dues are not listed on the national membership pages.verified September 2026 $205–285 a yearSouthern California chapter published schedule: $285 for corporate IT executives/practitioners and consultants, $205 for academic, retired or non-profit IT professionals. Dues are set by each chapter and vary; other chapters publish higher two-tier plans.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Programme fee Not recorded here. The designation curriculum is priced separately from dues under CCIM's "Designation Program: Time & Cost" schedule, which was not read for this record.verified September 2026 Dues vary by chapter and are not published centrally. The figures recorded come from one chapter's published schedule and should not be read as a national rate.
Membership term Calendar year, with dues prorated for members joining after 31 January Calendar year, 1 January to 31 December
Structure
Meeting frequency Chapter events year-round plus national Spring and Fall Forums Chapters typically hold four to six events a year, plus peer groups, special interest groups and national programmes
Peer forums Local chapters organised across 13 regions; no confidential facilitated peer forum is published Chapter-level peer groups bringing together members in similar roles, plus SIM Interest Groups on topics such as cybersecurity; the Advanced Practices Council is a separate senior research peer network
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed; CCIM publishes a Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice No published forum confidentiality rule; SIM is a professional association rather than a closed advisory body
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Cohort-based, Event-focused Chapter-based, Event-focused, Cohort-based
Confidential peer forums Partial Partial
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Partial Partial
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming Partial Yes
Investment discussions Yes No
Investment opportunities Partial No
Philanthropic component No Yes
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Low Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: CCIM Institute · Society for Information Management