Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 15 material differences

CFO Leadership Council vs Chief Executive Network

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

CFO Leadership Council

Senior finance executives - CFOs, VPs and directors of finance, controllers and chief accounting officers - at companies across the United States and Canada

Verified September 2026
Peer advisory

Chief Executive Network

CEOs, presidents and owners of privately held and mid-market US companies, grouped with non-competing peers in the same industry and revenue band

What the records say

Side by side

CFO Leadership CouncilChief Executive Network
Profile
Type Professional association Peer advisory
Founded 2006 ("Back in 2006, it all began on the world-renowned MIT campus in Cambridge, MA as an informal gathering of finance executives" per the organisation's About page. Jack McCullough, an MIT Sloan graduate, is president and founder.) 1990 (CEN's own history page dates the launch to 1990, following work by Dr. Ronald E. Wiley leading CEO groups in the 1980s. CEN publishes no separate corporate address; the postal address in its own privacy policy is that of its parent, Chief Executive Group, LLC, 105 West Park Dr., Suite 400, Brentwood, Tennessee. Member enquiries route to a Lawrence, Kansas telephone number.)
Headquarters Boston, United States Brentwood, United States
Geographic footprint United States and Canada: 35 metropolitan chapters plus a virtual chapter United States: national industry groups meeting at airport-hub cities, plus local boards in roughly ten metro areas
Members 3,000as of September 2026 1,000as of September 2026
Chapters 36 CEN does not publish a total count of peer groups. Its 'By Location' page names local board markets and its 'By Industry' page names eight industry networks.
Primary audience Senior finance executives - CFOs, VPs and directors of finance, controllers and chief accounting officers - at companies across the United States and Canada CEOs, presidents and owners of privately held and mid-market US companies, grouped with non-competing peers in the same industry and revenue band
Typical member Members are CFOs, senior vice presidents and vice presidents of finance, directors of FP&A, controllers, chief accounting officers, directors of finance and comparable senior finance leaders. There is no published company-size threshold; the organisation vets for seniority rather than employer scale. CEN says most members run companies with roughly $10 million to $1 billion in revenue, with networks spanning $5 million to $2.5 billion. The industry concentration is in manufacturing, distribution, technology and software, architecture/engineering and construction trades.
Qualification
Role or title CFO, VP of Finance, Director of Finance, Controller or a comparable senior financial leadership roleThe Council also lists SVPs, directors of FP&A and chief accounting officers as qualifying titles.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Must be a CEO, President or Business OwnerCEN's 2026 member guide states the personal membership criterion verbatim.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company revenue No published minimum company revenue Networks span roughly $5 million to $2.5 billion in company revenueCEN's guide says it "has networks from $5 Million to $2.5 Billion" and that most members run $10 million-$1 billion companies. There is no single published floor.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction United States and Canada, or the virtual chapter from anywhereverified September 2026 · source ↗ United StatesCEN describes itself as a US-based network for US CEOs.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction No published industry restriction Industry networks cover architecture, biotechnology, engineering, general contracting, lodging/hospitality, manufacturing, software/technology and sub-contractingCEN does not run an industry network for every sector.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Prospective members join online through the website and select a chapter. Eligibility is assessed on title; candidates unsure whether they qualify are invited to email the organisation. There is no sponsor, nomination or committee stage. Prospective members request a member guide and meeting agenda through the website or by phone, then speak with CEN staff about fit. CEN places the candidate in a group matched by industry, revenue band and region, checking that no direct competitor is already in the room. There is no published application form or committee vote.
Selectivity No acceptance rate is published. The Council says it is "the only senior finance leadership community that strictly controls entry, ensuring seniority and value", but publishes no data on rejections. No acceptance rate is published. CEN says groups are "intentionally kept small" and that members are vetted for comparable scale and competitor-free status.
Cost
Annual dues $495 a yearSingle published tier: $495 per year, covering local chapter events, national virtual events, CFO Connect and conference discounts. The Council offers a full refund if a member sees no benefit in the first month.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $5,500–12,280 a yearNational industry networks; CEN's own 2026 guide gives "$5,500 to $12,280 (Based on co size)". Includes benchmark research and a conference.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee No joining fee is published or mentioned.verified September 2026 Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Local chapter dues One published rate of $495 a year. Conference registrations are additional. $6,400–9,500 a yearLocal boards: "$6,400 for core membership ($9,500 option includes benchmark research and a conference)" per CEN's own 2026 guide.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Event costs National conferences carry separate registration fees; members receive discounts. Amounts vary by event and are not published as a standing figure.verified September 2026 · source ↗ CEN's public web pages do not carry prices and direct enquirers to request a brochure; the figures above come from CEN's own downloadable 2026 guide. A third-party summary of that guide describes membership as "less than $1,000 per month" for most categories, which is consistent with the industry-network range.
Membership term Annual, with a full refund offered if no benefit is felt in the first month Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency Monthly local chapter programmes, national webinars through the year, and two national conferences National industry groups meet twice a year for two days; local boards meet quarterly for half a day; plus national summits and online masterclasses
Peer forums No standing facilitated forum. Members use CFO Connect, a confidential online forum, and can join mastermind groups organised by industry or interest Groups of roughly 8-12 non-competing CEOs matched by industry and revenue band, professionally facilitated
Confidentiality CFO Connect is described as a confidential online forum and the organisation publishes a member code of conduct; chapter meetings are described as a comfortable, confidential setting CEN describes meetings as confidential with a strict no-sell rule and no vendors in the room
Time commitment Not documented Roughly four to six meeting days a year plus quarterly mentor calls, per CEN's published meeting cadence
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual Forum-based, Chapter-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Partial Yes
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Yes Partial
Online community Yes Partial
Member directory Yes Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No Not documented
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions No Partial
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: CFO Leadership Council · Chief Executive Network