Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 15 material differences

The CMO Club vs Detroit Economic Club

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Networking organization

The CMO Club

Chief marketing officers and senior marketing leaders at established brands

Verified September 2026
Networking organization

Detroit Economic Club

Business, government, academic and civic figures in the Detroit region who want access to the club's speaker programme, plus a large cohort of under-40 professionals

What the records say

Side by side

The CMO ClubDetroit Economic Club
Profile
Type Networking organization Networking organization
Founded Not documented 1934 (Founded in 1934; Wikipedia names Allen Crow as founder.)
Headquarters United States Detroit, United States
Geographic footprint At acquisition in 2020, more than 30 global chapters. The successor InspireCMO runs member programmes at chapters across the United States; a current chapter list is not published on the public site. Detroit and south-east Michigan, with a discounted non-resident category for people living and working more than 50 miles from downtown Detroit
Members 650as of March 2020 3,500as of September 2026
Chapters 30 A single-city club with no chapters.
Primary audience Chief marketing officers and senior marketing leaders at established brands Business, government, academic and civic figures in the Detroit region who want access to the club's speaker programme, plus a large cohort of under-40 professionals
Typical member Members were CMOs and senior marketing leaders at large consumer and business brands. The club's defining rule was that vendors and press were excluded, so members could speak without being sold to or quoted. Membership spans corporate executives and professionals in the Detroit region, with dedicated discounted categories for clergy, full-time faculty at accredited institutions, government officials, non-profit employees, retirees over 60, and people based more than 50 miles away. Over a third of the membership is reported to be in the under-40 Young Leader Program.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining No published maximum age at joining Young Leader membership requires the member to be under 40Includes all regular member benefits plus professional development programming.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Role or title Chief marketing officer or equivalent senior marketing leaderThe historic club and its successor both position membership as CMO-level. No formal written eligibility test is published.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published role or title
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction Non-Resident membership: individuals who live and work more than 50 miles from downtown Detroitverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required Not documented No
Sponsor required No No
Application process For the successor InspireCMO: complete an online interest form, speak with the chapter's executive director, then begin attending member programmes. No public application process survives for the original CMO Club. Membership is bought online through the club's membership pages by selecting a category. No sponsorship, interview or committee review is described in the published process.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. Not publicly disclosed; the published route is open paid enrolment.
Cost
Annual dues Not publicly disclosed at any stage of the organisation's history.verified September 2026 $150 a yearRegular membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee appears alongside the published dues.verified September 2026
Event costs Not publicly disclosed. Not publicly disclosed on the membership page. Meeting attendance charges, if any, are handled at the event level.verified September 2026
Membership term Not documented Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency Chapter programmes through the year plus regular virtual strategy calls and peer-led sessions, per the successor organisation About 35 meetings a season, typically breakfast or lunch events with a 20 to 30 minute speaker address followed by questions and networking
Peer forums Member-led chapter circles rather than facilitated closed forums; each community has an assigned executive director Speaker meetings and the Young Leader Program; no confidential facilitated peer forum is published
Confidentiality The original club's premise was a room without vendors or press. The successor publishes a code of conduct but no forum confidentiality rule Not publicly disclosed; meetings are on-the-record events, many of which are covered by press
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Partial No
Local chapters Yes No
Virtual membership Partial Not documented
Online community Yes Not documented
Member directory Yes Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Partial
Leadership development Yes Partial
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No Not documented
Next-generation programming Partial Yes
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: The CMO Club · Detroit Economic Club