Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 10 material differences

The CMO Club vs The PEER 150

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Networking organization

The CMO Club

Chief marketing officers and senior marketing leaders at established brands

Verified September 2026
Networking organization

The PEER 150

Chief human resources officers, chief people officers and other senior HR leaders at large US employers

What the records say

Side by side

The CMO ClubThe PEER 150
Profile
Type Networking organization Networking organization
Founded Not documented 2014 ("Thus, in 2014, The PEER 150 was born" per the organisation's own story page.)
Headquarters United States Portland, United States
Geographic footprint At acquisition in 2020, more than 30 global chapters. The successor InspireCMO runs member programmes at chapters across the United States; a current chapter list is not published on the public site. United States: 12 regional chapters - Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, Nashville, New York, Portland, San Francisco and Seattle
Members 650as of March 2020 800as of September 2026
Chapters 30 12
Primary audience Chief marketing officers and senior marketing leaders at established brands Chief human resources officers, chief people officers and other senior HR leaders at large US employers
Typical member Members were CMOs and senior marketing leaders at large consumer and business brands. The club's defining rule was that vendors and press were excluded, so members could speak without being sold to or quoted. Members are CHROs, chief people officers, EVPs and SVPs of HR and comparable senior people leaders at large US employers; the member directory lists executives from companies including Kaiser Permanente, Nike, Georgia Power, Chick-fil-A and NCR Voyix. The organisation reports a mix of C-suite, VP/SVP and director-level attendees.
Qualification
Role or title Chief marketing officer or equivalent senior marketing leaderThe historic club and its successor both position membership as CMO-level. No formal written eligibility test is published.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Senior HR leader - CHRO, chief people officer, EVP/SVP/VP of human resources or equivalentThe organisation describes itself as a national community of senior HR leaders; membership pages do not publish a formal written title test.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction United Statesverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required Not documented Sometimes
Sponsor required No No
Application process For the successor InspireCMO: complete an online interest form, speak with the chapter's executive director, then begin attending member programmes. No public application process survives for the original CMO Club. Prospective members complete an application form on the website. The organisation reviews applicants for seniority and fit within the local HR community before granting access to events and the member channels. No sponsor or dues payment is involved.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. Not publicly disclosed. Gatherings are described as invite-only and applications are reviewed, but no acceptance data is published.
Cost
Annual dues Not publicly disclosed at any stage of the organisation's history.verified September 2026 $0 a yearThe organisation's application page states plainly that membership is completely free. The business is funded by event sponsors and partners.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 $0 one-timeNo joining fee; membership carries no charge.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Event costs Not publicly disclosed. Member events including the National Summit are included in membership. The PDXYZ conference sells registrations more widely; its member pricing is not published.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Not documented Not documented
Structure
Meeting frequency Chapter programmes through the year plus regular virtual strategy calls and peer-led sessions, per the successor organisation Regional dinners through the year in each chapter city, plus virtual webinars and roundtables, the annual National Summit and the PDXYZ conference
Peer forums Member-led chapter circles rather than facilitated closed forums; each community has an assigned executive director No standing facilitated forums. The core format is a regional dinner of 40-70 senior HR leaders hosted at a member's headquarters, with a tour, workshop or presentation
Confidentiality The original club's premise was a room without vendors or press. The successor publishes a code of conduct but no forum confidentiality rule The organisation emphasises candid, unfiltered discussion under a "Come As You Are" philosophy, but publishes no formal confidentiality rule
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual
Confidential peer forums Partial Partial
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Partial Yes
Online community Yes Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Partial
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming Partial No
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: The CMO Club · The PEER 150