Comparison · 18 material differences
C200 vs Financial Executives International
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
C200
Women who are founders or majority owners of substantial companies, or C-suite executives with profit-and-loss responsibility
Financial Executives International
Senior corporate finance executives - CFOs, chief accounting officers, controllers, treasurers, tax executives and audit committee members
What the records say
- Role or title: C200: Titles such as CEO, COO, Founder, General Manager or Operating President, with significant P&L responsibility; public-company candidates must be within two reporting levels of the CEO; Financial Executives International: Qualifying title: CFO, chief accounting officer, controller, treasurer, VP of finance, tax, risk management or planning and analysis, a director in those functions, or audit committee member.
- Minimum company revenue: C200: Entrepreneur route: at least US$20 million in annual revenues; Financial Executives International: Company must have at least $10 million in annual revenues (or meet an alternative size test).
- Minimum net worth: C200: No published minimum net worth; Financial Executives International: Alternative company test: $2 million in net worth.
- Minimum ownership stake: C200: Entrepreneur route requires founder, co-founder or controlling/majority ownership; Financial Executives International: No published minimum ownership stake.
- Annual dues: C200: Not publicly disclosed. C200's membership page publishes criteria but no dues figure. Its Form 990 for the 2018 tax year, the most recent available through ProPublica's Nonprofit Explorer at the time of checking, reported about $1.63 million of programme service revenue on total revenue of about $2.53 million.; Financial Executives International: $399–499 a year.
Side by side
| C200 | Financial Executives International | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Professional association | Professional association |
| Founded | 1982 (Formed in 1982 when 200 women leaders, recruited under founding organizer Susan Davis, gathered to raise funds for another women's business organization and stayed together as a national network.) | 1931 (Founded as the Controllers Institute of America in 1931; renamed Financial Executives Institute in 1962 and Financial Executives International in 2000.) |
| Headquarters | Chicago, United States | Morristown, United States |
| Geographic footprint | United States, organised into regions (Northwest, Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, Mid-South, Southwest) plus an International region | United States: 56 local chapters listed on FEI's own chapter index, from Hawaii to Long Island |
| Members | 400as of September 2026 | 10,000as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | 6 | 56 |
| Primary audience | Women who are founders or majority owners of substantial companies, or C-suite executives with profit-and-loss responsibility | Senior corporate finance executives - CFOs, chief accounting officers, controllers, treasurers, tax executives and audit committee members |
| Typical member | Members are women holding titles such as CEO, COO, Founder, General Manager and Operating President, with significant profit-and-loss responsibility. They fall into two groups: entrepreneurs who founded or control companies with at least US$20 million in annual revenue, and corporate executives who run business units generating at least US$250 million in a public company or lead a private company generating at least US$75 million. | Members hold policy-making finance roles at companies across every major industry, from Fortune 500 businesses to mid-sized enterprises. Eligibility requires both a qualifying title and a company that clears a size test. |
| Qualification | ||
| Role or title | Titles such as CEO, COO, Founder, General Manager or Operating President, with significant P&L responsibility; public-company candidates must be within two reporting levels of the CEOA letter of attestation confirming P&L responsibility is required from new applicants.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Qualifying title: CFO, chief accounting officer, controller, treasurer, VP of finance, tax, risk management or planning and analysis, a director in those functions, or audit committee memberFEI describes membership as "exclusive to senior-level financial executives".verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Minimum company revenue | Entrepreneur route: at least US$20 million in annual revenues"Candidates must be the Founder/Co-Founder or a controlling/majority owner of the company, generating at least $20 million in annual revenues."verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Company must have at least $10 million in annual revenues (or meet an alternative size test)Alternative tests are $2 million in net worth or $6 million in capital (combined net worth and long-term debt).verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Minimum net worth | No published minimum net worth | Alternative company test: $2 million in net worthThis is a company balance-sheet test, not a personal net-worth test.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Minimum ownership stake | Entrepreneur route requires founder, co-founder or controlling/majority ownershipNo specific ownership percentage is published beyond "controlling/majority".verified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published minimum ownership stake |
| Gender | WomenC200's stated mission is to advance "current and future women entrepreneurs and corporate, profit-center leaders"; membership is a community of women.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published gender |
| Geographic restriction | No published geographic restriction | United States; members within 75 miles of a chapter must join that chapterverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | Not documented | No |
| Application process | Prospective members review the published criteria and register interest through the site, which invites candidates to "let us know if you're interested in starting an application". New applicants must supply a letter of attestation confirming their profit-and-loss responsibility. A membership committee, chaired by a board member, oversees admissions. | Candidates complete an online membership application on the FEI site, which checks the qualifying title and company size test and presents chapter options and rates. Chapter membership is required for those within 75 miles of a chapter. No sponsor or nomination is needed. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed. C200 publishes numeric eligibility thresholds but no acceptance rate or applicant volume. | No acceptance rate is published. Selectivity operates through the published title and company-size tests and the exclusion of service providers and start-ups. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | Not publicly disclosed. C200's membership page publishes criteria but no dues figure. Its Form 990 for the 2018 tax year, the most recent available through ProPublica's Nonprofit Explorer at the time of checking, reported about $1.63 million of programme service revenue on total revenue of about $2.53 million.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $399–499 a year"FEI membership dues are $399 for first year and $499 for subsequent years for all categories of membership" per the FEI Kansas City chapter. Other FEI chapter sites quote $309 a year for national dues, so the published figure varies by page.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 | Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee separate from first-year dues is published.verified September 2026 |
| Local chapter dues | No dues or joining fee is published on the C200 site. | $75–468 a yearChapter dues are additional and vary by location: FEI Boston publishes $75 a year, FEI Northeast Ohio waives local dues in the first year, and FEI Sacramento lists $468 a year for executive, academic, in-transition and government/military categories, $399 for entrepreneur and $349 for retired. The Sacramento figures may be all-in rather than chapter-only.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Not publicly disclosed | Annual |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Members-only events and content through the year, plus Council meetings | Local chapter meetings through the year plus national conferences, webinars and CPE-bearing courses |
| Peer forums | Councils: confidential member-to-member advisory groups for discussion, problem-solving and sharing | No standing facilitated peer forum. FEI operates chapters, technical committees and special-interest programming rather than closed advisory groups |
| Confidentiality | Councils are described as confidential member-to-member advisory groups; no written policy is published | No published forum confidentiality rule; FEI is a professional association with open programming and a member code of conduct |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Event-focused, Forum-based | Chapter-based, Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | Yes | Partial |
| Local chapters | Partial | Yes |
| Virtual membership | Not documented | Partial |
| Online community | Yes | Partial |
| Member directory | Yes | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | Yes | Yes |
| Retreats | Not documented | No |
| Travel | No | No |
| Family programming | No | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | No | No |
| Next-generation programming | Yes | No |
| Investment discussions | No | No |
| Investment opportunities | No | No |
| Philanthropic component | Yes | Partial |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Medium | Low |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: C200 · Financial Executives International