Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 17 material differences

CREW Network vs Financial Executives International

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

CREW Network

Professionals working full time in commercial real estate - transaction, design, development, construction, management and investment disciplines - who want to advance women in…

Verified September 2026
Professional association

Financial Executives International

Senior corporate finance executives - CFOs, chief accounting officers, controllers, treasurers, tax executives and audit committee members

What the records say

Side by side

CREW NetworkFinancial Executives International
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1989 (Founded in 1989 to enable women in commercial real estate to exchange information, develop business contacts and advance professionally.) 1931 (Founded as the Controllers Institute of America in 1931; renamed Financial Executives Institute in 1962 and Financial Executives International in 2000.)
Headquarters Lawrence, United States Morristown, United States
Geographic footprint "more than 14,000 members in over 80 major markets worldwide"; chapters are incorporated independently in their state or province across North America, with global affiliate groups typically formed outside North America United States: 56 local chapters listed on FEI's own chapter index, from Hawaii to Long Island
Members 14,000as of September 2026 10,000as of September 2026
Chapters 85 56
Primary audience Professionals working full time in commercial real estate - transaction, design, development, construction, management and investment disciplines - who want to advance women in the industry Senior corporate finance executives - CFOs, chief accounting officers, controllers, treasurers, tax executives and audit committee members
Typical member Full-time commercial real estate professionals across all disciplines of the industry. Full membership requires that the majority of an individual's responsibilities lie within commercial real estate and that their field is necessary to the transaction, design, development, construction, management, investment or functioning of commercial real estate; those who only supply goods and services to the industry are admitted as affiliate or vendor members instead. Members hold policy-making finance roles at companies across every major industry, from Fortune 500 businesses to mid-sized enterprises. Eligibility requires both a qualifying title and a company that clears a size test.
Qualification
Role or title No published role or title Qualifying title: CFO, chief accounting officer, controller, treasurer, VP of finance, tax, risk management or planning and analysis, a director in those functions, or audit committee memberFEI describes membership as "exclusive to senior-level financial executives".verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company revenue No published minimum company revenue Company must have at least $10 million in annual revenues (or meet an alternative size test)Alternative tests are $2 million in net worth or $6 million in capital (combined net worth and long-term debt).verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum net worth No published minimum net worth Alternative company test: $2 million in net worthThis is a company balance-sheet test, not a personal net-worth test.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Gender "Membership is open to both women and men, as men are important allies in the advancement of women." CREW also states it welcomes applicants "of all backgrounds, experience levels, genders, race, ethnicity, origin, sexual orientation, and ability"The organisation's mission is to accelerate success for all women in global commercial real estate, but membership itself is not restricted by genderverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published gender
Geographic restriction Applicants join through the chapter or affiliate nearest them; at-large membership is for those with no chapter or affiliate "within a reasonable distance" of their primary residence"While most members are located in North America, CREW Network is expanding globally, and we welcome new members from all continents."verified September 2026 · source ↗ United States; members within 75 miles of a chapter must join that chapterverified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction "you must be employed in a full-time professional position with responsibility in one of CREW Network's Qualified Fields of Commercial Real Estate"CREW's screening question is: "Is the applicant's field necessary to the transaction, design, development, construction, management, investment and/or functioning of CRE?" If not, the applicant is admitted as an affiliate or vendor member rather than a full member.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published industry restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required Yes No
Application process Four published steps: find a CREW chapter or affiliate near you, review the membership benefits and qualifications, apply for membership, and pay the invoice. At-large applicants apply centrally and submit demographic and location details, their Qualified Field, a description of their role, why they want to join, two professional references, a LinkedIn profile or resume, and a US$25 application fee; the outcome is notified within one week and dues are billed on approval. Candidates complete an online membership application on the FEI site, which checks the qualifying title and company size test and presents chapter options and rates. Chapter membership is required for those within 75 miles of a chapter. No sponsor or nomination is needed.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed as a rate. Applications are screened against the Qualified Fields definition, which determines whether an applicant becomes a full member or an affiliate or vendor member. No acceptance rate is published. Selectivity operates through the published title and company-size tests and the exclusion of service providers and start-ups.
Cost
Annual dues $139–229 a yearAt-large membership: "you will be billed for annual membership dues at either $229 USD for the full year or $139 USD if applying between June 15 and September 30." Membership runs on a calendar year, renewable from November; dues are non-transferable and non-refundable.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $399–499 a year"FEI membership dues are $399 for first year and $499 for subsequent years for all categories of membership" per the FEI Kansas City chapter. Other FEI chapter sites quote $309 a year for national dues, so the published figure varies by page.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Only at-large dues are published centrally. Chapter members pay dues set by their independent chapter, which include network-level benefits; CREW supplies a template members can use to ask an employer to sponsor the cost. Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee separate from first-year dues is published.verified September 2026
Local chapter dues Not publicly disclosed centrally. CREW chapters "are created and incorporated as independent organizations in their state or province", set their own dues, and bill members directly; the network's site directs applicants to their local chapter rather than publishing chapter prices.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $75–468 a yearChapter dues are additional and vary by location: FEI Boston publishes $75 a year, FEI Northeast Ohio waives local dues in the first year, and FEI Sacramento lists $468 a year for executive, academic, in-transition and government/military categories, $399 for entrepreneur and $349 for retired. The Sacramento figures may be all-in rather than chapter-only.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Calendar year, renewable from November for the coming year; dues non-transferable and non-refundable Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency Chapter programming locally, plus the annual CREW Convention, the Leadership Summit, CREW Collective member-led webinars and networking at ICSC, MIPIM and NMHC events Local chapter meetings through the year plus national conferences, webinars and CPE-bearing courses
Peer forums CREW Councils bring members together at the global level for deals, knowledge exchange and relationship building; CREWbiz hosts an open forum and topic communities No standing facilitated peer forum. FEI operates chapters, technical committees and special-interest programming rather than closed advisory groups
Confidentiality CREW publishes a Code of Conduct and forum etiquette rules governing member conduct and the online community No published forum confidentiality rule; FEI is a professional association with open programming and a member code of conduct
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual Chapter-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Partial Partial
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Yes Partial
Online community Yes Partial
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming Partial No
Investment discussions Partial No
Investment opportunities Partial No
Philanthropic component Yes Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: CREW Network · Financial Executives International