Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 10 material differences

Detroit Athletic Club vs Home House

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

What the records say

Side by side

Detroit Athletic ClubHome House
Profile
Type Private club Private club
Founded 1887 (The club dates itself to 1887, when it says it was formed by "a group of privileged young men under the spell of amateur athletics"; it treats 4 January 1913, when 109 Detroit citizens signed articles of association at the Ponchartrain Hotel, as a second founding.) 1998 (The building at 20 Portman Square has been a private members' club since 1998; the house itself was completed in 1776 for Elizabeth, Countess of Home, begun by James Wyatt and finished by Robert Adam, and is Grade I listed)
Headquarters Detroit, United States London, United Kingdom
Geographic footprint Single seven-storey clubhouse at 241 Madison Avenue in Detroit's theatre and sports district Two London houses: Home House at 20 Portman Square, Marylebone, and Home House Studio at 44 Great Cumberland Place (formerly Home Grown)
Members Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed
Chapters Single clubhouse; no chapters 2
Primary audience The club states no eligibility test. It describes its purpose as existing "to enrich people's lives through meaningful connections" and its history page identifies its 1913 refounders as leading Detroit citizens, many of them automobile industry figures. Not narrowly defined by the club, which markets Home House as a social and cultural club and Home House Studio as a working club; a combined Homes membership covers both
Typical member Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes no data on member professions, ages or numbers, and its public site has no membership section at all. A mixed social and professional membership. The club publishes categories by age, access level and residence rather than by occupation, and offers a corporate rate for groups from one business.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining No published maximum age at joining Young Member rate for applicants under 35, reported at £1,450 a year in 2024This named tier does not appear on the club's current membership pages following the February 2026 restructure; treat as possibly supersededverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction Separate overseas rates for members resident outside the UKThe current Homes membership lists an Overseas Access rate of £2,550 a yearverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required Not documented No
Sponsor required Not documented No
Application process No application process is published. The website has no membership section, no membership contact and no application form; a prospective member would have to approach the club directly or through an existing member. Applications are made through an online form. Spear's reports that applicants supply a recent headshot, photo ID, proof of address, and proof of residency if applying from abroad, and that the membership committee reviews applications monthly with no interview stage. The same article notes that the club's popularity can mean a wait.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed. Spear's states only that "due to the club's popularity, there may be a waiting period".
Cost
Annual dues Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 · source ↗ £1,440–2,250 a yearHome House Membership: "membership starting from £1,440 per year (Limited Access) or £2,250 per year" (Full Access)verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 · source ↗ Spear's reports that "a one-time joining fee applies to all membership categories" but the amount is not publicly disclosed and no joining fee appears on the club's current membership pagesverified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Not documented Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency No published meeting programme; the clubhouse operates daily for athletics, dining, accommodation and events Clubhouse open daily; member events, dining and cultural programming
Peer forums Not documented Not documented
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed. The published technology guide allows silent, non-voice use of mobile phones anywhere in the club and restricts device charging to member suites, private rooms, the business centre, the Madison Cafe and the balcony above the Court Center. Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Clubhouse premises, Event-focused Clubhouse premises, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No No
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership No No
Online community No Not documented
Member directory Not documented Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Not documented Partial
Leadership development No No
Retreats No No
Travel Partial No
Family programming Not documented No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented Not documented
Next-generation programming Not documented No
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Yes Not documented
Networking emphasis Medium Medium
Social emphasis High High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Detroit Athletic Club · Home House