Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 17 material differences

Dynamite Circle vs HBR Advisory Council

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

Dynamite Circle

Founders of bootstrapped, profitable, location-independent businesses in software, e-commerce, services and media.

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

HBR Advisory Council

Harvard Business Review readers, mainly managers and executives, invited to give structured feedback to HBR's editors

What the records say

Side by side

Dynamite CircleHBR Advisory Council
Profile
Type Invitation-only community Invitation-only community
Founded 2011 (Founded in 2011 by Dan Andrews and Ian Schoen, who had started the Tropical MBA podcast in 2009.) Not documented
Headquarters Not documented Boston, United States
Geographic footprint Members in 50+ countries and 200+ cities, with in-person meetups across seven continents and annual conferences in Bangkok and Mexico City. Online reader and research panel with no chapters or local groups
Members 1,400as of September 2026 Not publicly disclosed
Chapters No formal chapters. The organization runs local meetups in cities including Chiang Mai, Bangkok, Tokyo, Barcelona and Portland, and states it holds 200+ in-person meetups a year. No chapters
Primary audience Founders of bootstrapped, profitable, location-independent businesses in software, e-commerce, services and media. Harvard Business Review readers, mainly managers and executives, invited to give structured feedback to HBR's editors
Typical member Members are business owners rather than freelancers or executives, running bootstrapped companies with consistent recurring revenue above US$100,000 a year; the premium tier is limited to founders above US$1 million. Not publicly disclosed. HBR publishes no eligibility criteria, seniority test or member profile for the Advisory Council; membership is by invitation.
Qualification
Role or title Business founder; freelancers, employees, multi-level marketers, C-suite executives, upper management and department heads are excludedCertain professional categories are also excluded, specifically coaching, consulting and recruiting.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published role or title
Minimum company revenue At least US$100,000 per year in business revenue (standard DC membership)The organization also requires consistent recurring revenue rather than one-off income.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum company revenue
Invitation required No Yes
Sponsor required No No
Application process Applicants confirm they meet six published requirements, agree to the code of conduct and submit an application with written answers about themselves and their business. A team member reviews each application personally and notifies the applicant within 48 business hours. DC BLACK adds a discovery call with the founder and revenue verification through a signed profit-and-loss statement, followed by facilitator-led placement into a mastermind group. Referrals from current members are encouraged. There is no application. HBR invites readers to join the Advisory Council and the FAQ does not describe any way to request an invitation. Members can leave at any time using the unsubscribe link in a council email.
Selectivity "Only a fraction of applicants are accepted", per the requirements page; no acceptance rate is published. Not publicly disclosed. HBR states only that membership is currently by invitation.
Cost
Annual dues $697 a yearStandard DC membership: "$697 per year - one-time annual payment", covering the online community, app and free local meetups.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $0 a yearNo membership fee is charged or mentioned anywhere in the Advisory Council pages or FAQ; the council is a research panel rather than a paid membership.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Event costs Not publicly disclosed in aggregate. The events page states that local meetups and Juntos are typically free, and that "Global conferences and retreats have ticket prices that are listed on each event page".verified September 2026 · source ↗ HBR does not charge for Advisory Council membership. Members receive downloadable content, and on some projects the final research report, in exchange for survey participation.
Membership term Annual Open-ended; members leave by unsubscribing
Structure
Meeting frequency 200+ local meetups a year plus 13+ organised events annually; DC BLACK masterminds meet monthly Research invitations, generally no more than one survey per month
Peer forums Online community and mobile app for all members; DC BLACK members are placed in facilitated mastermind groups of five to seven peers matched by track No forums
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed beyond a published code of conduct Research is conducted by Beehive Research Ltd, which HBR states is registered with the Market Research Society and ESOMAR
Time commitment Not documented Roughly one optional survey a month at most, per the FAQ
Organized as Virtual, Event-focused, Forum-based Virtual
Confidential peer forums Yes No
Local chapters Partial No
Virtual membership Yes Yes
Online community Yes No
Member directory Yes No
Events Yes No
Programming
Educational programming Partial Partial
Leadership development Partial No
Retreats Yes No
Travel Partial No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions Partial No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Not documented No
Networking emphasis High Low
Social emphasis High Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Dynamite Circle · HBR Advisory Council