Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 13 material differences

The Economic Club of Washington, D.C. vs Gartner C-level Communities

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

The Economic Club of Washington, D.C.

Executive-level leaders of large businesses based in or connected to the Washington, D.C. region

Verified September 2026
Leadership network

Gartner C-level Communities

Enterprise C-level executives - CIOs, CISOs, CHROs, CDAOs, CFOs and CSCOs - at large organisations, plus business-unit and regional C-level leaders at companies above $500 million…

What the records say

Side by side

The Economic Club of Washington, D.C.Gartner C-level Communities
Profile
Type Invitation-only community Leadership network
Founded 1986 (Formed in 1986 to give business leaders in the Washington region a forum for discussion of economic issues, at a point when the area was becoming a corporate centre in its own right.) Not documented
Headquarters Washington, United States Portland, United States
Geographic footprint Metropolitan Washington, D.C., with members also drawn from businesses operating elsewhere in the United States and abroad 101 communities worldwide across 10 countries; CIO and CISO each run 34 communities (24 North America, 7 EMEA, 2 APAC, 1 global), with smaller footprints for CHRO (13), CDAO (12), CFO (5) and CSCO (3)
Members 1,000as of September 2026 14,000as of September 2026
Chapters No chapters. The Club takes part in a reciprocity programme with the Economic Clubs of New York and Chicago. 101
Primary audience Executive-level leaders of large businesses based in or connected to the Washington, D.C. region Enterprise C-level executives - CIOs, CISOs, CHROs, CDAOs, CFOs and CSCOs - at large organisations, plus business-unit and regional C-level leaders at companies above $500 million in revenue
Typical member Members include heads of regional and national corporations, entrepreneurs, investment professionals, government-affairs experts, lawyers, accountants and other business leaders from the Washington region. The Club states that no industry, profession or field of expertise is over-represented, and caps membership at two people from any one company. Members are enterprise-wide C-level executives, or business-unit and regional C-level leaders responsible for a private-sector unit above $500 million in revenue or a public-sector body with more than 1,000 employees, who report to the CEO or one level below. Gartner says 93% of the Fortune 100 are represented and 74% of members come from companies above $1 billion in revenue.
Qualification
Role or title Executive-level leader of a top-tier businessThe Club describes membership as "exclusive to executive-level leaders of top tier businesses". No revenue or company-size test is published.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Enterprise-wide C-level executive, or a business-unit or regional C-level leaderPublished as "Community Member Criteria" on the application pages.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company revenue No published minimum company revenue Private sector: responsibility for $500M+ in revenueApplies to business-unit or regional C-level applicants.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum employees No published minimum employees Public sector: 1,000+ employeesverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction Based in the Washington region, or elsewhere in the United StatesThe Club's two membership pages differ slightly: one restricts membership to leaders "based in the Washington region", the other says "whether based in the Washington region or elsewhere in the US".verified September 2026 · source ↗ Membership is held in a regional community; communities cover North America, EMEA and APAC plus one global communityverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required Yes Sometimes
Sponsor required Yes No
Application process A current member nominates the candidate and a second member from a different organisation seconds the nomination. The candidate's biography and application form, including the nominating member's statement of support, are submitted to the Club. The Membership Committee meets regularly to consider nominations, weighing business and professional achievement, government and diplomatic service, civic leadership and area of expertise, and applying the two-members-per-company cap. Apply online with corporate email, title, organisation and revenue band, and confirm reporting line to the CEO. Applications are vetted against the published Community Member Criteria. Successful applicants are contacted by a Community Program Manager, who discusses priorities and completes onboarding including access to year-round events.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. No acceptance rate or applicant volume is published; the Club reports growing to nearly 1,000 members. No acceptance rate is published. Gartner describes membership as "By invitation only" on its homepage while also operating a public application form, and says each application is carefully vetted against established criteria.
Cost
Annual dues Not publicly disclosed. The Club states that "annual membership dues cover the cost of attendance" at regularly scheduled Signature Events but does not publish the amount.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed. No membership price appears anywhere on the organisation's site. The commercial model is sponsor-funded: Gartner sells sponsors "unparalleled access to C-level executives at 400+ events each year".verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Event costs Members may invite a limited number of guests to each event "for a reasonable fee"; the amount is not published.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed. The organisation publishes no membership price and monetises through sponsorship rather than published dues.
Membership term Annual dues; term length is not publicly disclosed Not documented
Structure
Meeting frequency A series of Signature Events through the year, plus smaller group gatherings Members meet several times a year within their community: in-person executive summits, inner-circle sessions, virtual town halls and curated one-to-one peer meetings; more than 400 programmes run across all communities annually
Peer forums Signature Events with invited speakers, supplemented by small group gatherings; no standing confidential forums are described Regional role-based communities led by a Governing Body of serving C-level practitioners, rather than standing small-group forums
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed; the Club publishes speaker material and media advisories Discussions are described as peer-level and off-the-record within community programmes; no published written confidentiality code was found
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Event-focused Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual
Confidential peer forums Partial Partial
Local chapters No Yes
Virtual membership No Yes
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Partial Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming Partial No
Investment discussions Partial No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Yes No
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: The Economic Club of Washington, D.C. · Gartner C-level Communities