Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 10 material differences

Gartner C-level Communities vs Society for Information Management

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Leadership network

Gartner C-level Communities

Enterprise C-level executives - CIOs, CISOs, CHROs, CDAOs, CFOs and CSCOs - at large organisations, plus business-unit and regional C-level leaders at companies above $500 million…

Verified September 2026
Professional association

Society for Information Management

Senior IT and technology executives - CIOs and their direct reports - plus academics in information systems, consulting partners and non-IT leaders whose roles affect technology…

What the records say

Side by side

Gartner C-level CommunitiesSociety for Information Management
Profile
Type Leadership network Professional association
Founded Not documented 1968 (SIM's inaugural meeting was held on 22 November 1968 at the US Atomic Energy Commission in Washington DC, after a conversation between Robert Head and Herb Schwartz at an ACM conference; the first conference followed in September 1969 at the University of Minnesota. Sources give 1968 or 1969 depending on which event is treated as the founding.)
Headquarters Portland, United States Mount Laurel, United States
Geographic footprint 101 communities worldwide across 10 countries; CIO and CISO each run 34 communities (24 North America, 7 EMEA, 2 APAC, 1 global), with smaller footprints for CHRO (13), CDAO (12), CFO (5) and CSCO (3) United States and Canada: 38 chapters listed on SIM's own chapter index, including one in Toronto, plus a Member At-Large option for those without a nearby chapter
Members 14,000as of September 2026 5,000as of September 2026
Chapters 101 38
Primary audience Enterprise C-level executives - CIOs, CISOs, CHROs, CDAOs, CFOs and CSCOs - at large organisations, plus business-unit and regional C-level leaders at companies above $500 million in revenue Senior IT and technology executives - CIOs and their direct reports - plus academics in information systems, consulting partners and non-IT leaders whose roles affect technology strategy
Typical member Members are enterprise-wide C-level executives, or business-unit and regional C-level leaders responsible for a private-sector unit above $500 million in revenue or a public-sector body with more than 1,000 employees, who report to the CEO or one level below. Gartner says 93% of the Fortune 100 are represented and 74% of members come from companies above $1 billion in revenue. Members are corporate or divisional heads of information systems and the management staff supporting them, plus full-time academics in the IS field, partner-level consultants and non-IT executives with a major role in strategic technology direction. SIM says its members' employers account for over $200 billion in technology spend.
Qualification
Role or title Enterprise-wide C-level executive, or a business-unit or regional C-level leaderPublished as "Community Member Criteria" on the application pages.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Practitioner: a senior-level IT professional in a public or private sector organisation - a corporate or divisional IS head, or a member of an IS management staff supporting them in a key management roleverified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company revenue Private sector: responsibility for $500M+ in revenueApplies to business-unit or regional C-level applicants.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum company revenue
Minimum employees Public sector: 1,000+ employeesverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum employees
Geographic restriction Membership is held in a regional community; communities cover North America, EMEA and APAC plus one global communityverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published geographic restriction
Invitation required Sometimes No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Apply online with corporate email, title, organisation and revenue band, and confirm reporting line to the CEO. Applications are vetted against the published Community Member Criteria. Successful applicants are contacted by a Community Program Manager, who discusses priorities and completes onboarding including access to year-round events. Applicants apply to a local chapter, selecting one of the four membership categories, or apply as a Member At-Large if no chapter covers their area. The membership year runs 1 January to 31 December. Chapters review applications against the published category definitions; there is no sponsor or committee vote published.
Selectivity No acceptance rate is published. Gartner describes membership as "By invitation only" on its homepage while also operating a public application form, and says each application is carefully vetted against established criteria. Not publicly disclosed. Admission turns on meeting one of the four published category definitions; no acceptance rate is published.
Cost
Annual dues Not publicly disclosed. No membership price appears anywhere on the organisation's site. The commercial model is sponsor-funded: Gartner sells sponsors "unparalleled access to C-level executives at 400+ events each year".verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed at national level. SIM does not publish a single national dues figure; members join through a chapter and the chapter sets the rate.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Local chapter dues Not publicly disclosed. The organisation publishes no membership price and monetises through sponsorship rather than published dues. $205–285 a yearSouthern California chapter published schedule: $285 for corporate IT executives/practitioners and consultants, $205 for academic, retired or non-profit IT professionals. Dues are set by each chapter and vary; other chapters publish higher two-tier plans.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Not documented Calendar year, 1 January to 31 December
Structure
Meeting frequency Members meet several times a year within their community: in-person executive summits, inner-circle sessions, virtual town halls and curated one-to-one peer meetings; more than 400 programmes run across all communities annually Chapters typically hold four to six events a year, plus peer groups, special interest groups and national programmes
Peer forums Regional role-based communities led by a Governing Body of serving C-level practitioners, rather than standing small-group forums Chapter-level peer groups bringing together members in similar roles, plus SIM Interest Groups on topics such as cybersecurity; the Advanced Practices Council is a separate senior research peer network
Confidentiality Discussions are described as peer-level and off-the-record within community programmes; no published written confidentiality code was found No published forum confidentiality rule; SIM is a professional association rather than a closed advisory body
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual Chapter-based, Event-focused, Cohort-based
Confidential peer forums Partial Partial
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Yes Partial
Online community Yes Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming No Yes
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No Yes
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Gartner C-level Communities · Society for Information Management