Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 13 material differences

Family Enterprise USA vs Institute of Directors

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Family-business organization

Family Enterprise USA

Owners and executives of American family-owned businesses and multi-generational employers, plus advisers and firms that serve them

What the records say

Side by side

Family Enterprise USAInstitute of Directors
Profile
Type Family-business organization Professional association
Founded 2007 (Family Enterprise USA states it has represented family-owned enterprises "since 2007". Its sister advocacy body traces to 1995 under its former name, Policy and Taxation Group.) 1903 ("The IoD has been at the heart of business since its formation in 1903. The Royal Charter, awarded in 1906, charged the IoD with promoting free enterprise, lobbying government and setting standards for corporate governance.")
Headquarters Washington, United States London, United Kingdom
Geographic footprint United States, with advocacy centred on Washington DC and a programme of regional events around the country Regions and branches across England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, plus an international membership tier and international events; the members' premises and workspace are at 116 Pall Mall, London
Members Not publicly disclosed 20,000as of September 2026
Chapters Family Enterprise USA has no chapters. Its membership page refers to regional events (it cites more than 20 regional gatherings) rather than standing local branches. The IoD organises members into regions and nations (England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland) and Special Interest Groups rather than numbered chapters; no chapter total is published.
Primary audience Owners and executives of American family-owned businesses and multi-generational employers, plus advisers and firms that serve them Practising executive and non-executive directors in the private, public and third sectors in the UK, plus aspiring directors and directors based overseas
Typical member Members are family-owned businesses "of all sizes, professions, and industries" and multi-generational employers, alongside associate members that are not themselves family businesses — typically advisory firms, banks and service providers. Higher tiers are aimed at families willing to travel to Washington and meet legislators directly. Practising executive and non-executive directors or equivalents, ranging from start-up founders to directors of multi-million pound businesses and senior civil servants. Associate membership covers aspiring directors, former directors and those who work closely with directors; a student tier covers students.
Qualification
Role or title No published role or title IoD member tier: "For practising executive and non-executive directors or equivalents in the private, public and third sectors"Uses the post-nominal MIoDverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction United States focus; advocacy is directed at the US Congressverified September 2026 · source ↗ International tier: "For practising executive and non-executive directors or equivalents based overseas"Also uses the post-nominal MIoDverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Prospective members choose one of the four published tiers on the membership page and join at that price; there is no published vetting, sponsorship or committee review. The organisation also solicits event sponsorships separately from membership. Prospective members choose a tier and join online; there is no interview, sponsor requirement or financial vetting. A free registration option gives access to sample resources without membership. Corporate memberships are arranged by contacting the IoD directly.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed — no acceptance criteria or rejection process is described; membership appears open at the published price points. Not applicable in the usual sense: membership is open to directors, aspiring directors and those who work closely with directors, and the IoD publishes no acceptance rate. Selectivity applies to the separate Chartered Director qualification rather than to membership.
Cost
Annual dues $1,000 a yearNon Family Business / Associate Member tier: email updates and quarterly webcast.verified September 2026 · source ↗ £494 a yearIoD member tier (UK directors): "£494 year / £44.46 month (fixed 12 month period)". Monthly instalments are available for full membership only.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee No initiation fee is published.verified September 2026 Fees are published openly. The IoD is an HMRC-approved professional body, so UK members may be able to claim tax relief on the fee where membership is essential for their job and the employer did not pay it. Training and qualifications, including the Chartered Director programme, are charged separately.
Membership term Annual Annual, with monthly instalments available for full membership over a fixed twelve-month period
Structure
Meeting frequency Quarterly webcast for all members; annual Day on Capitol Hill; annual DC meeting for higher tiers; regional events through the year Regional and national events, online events, Special Interest Group events and signature events including the Director of the Year Awards
Peer forums No peer forums; the organisation is built around advocacy events and policy briefings No confidential peer forums; members join Special Interest Groups and regional communities, and can be matched through IoD Mentor Connect
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed. Members are subject to the IoD Code of Conduct for Directors and member rules made under the Royal Charter.
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Event-focused, Virtual Chapter-based, Event-focused, Clubhouse premises
Confidential peer forums No Partial
Local chapters No Yes
Virtual membership Yes Partial
Online community Partial Partial
Member directory Not documented Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development No Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming Partial No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming Not documented Partial
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis Medium High
Social emphasis Low Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Family Enterprise USA · Institute of Directors