Comparison · 11 material differences
Family Office Association vs Institute for Private Investors
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
Family Office Association
Single family offices, the ultra-high-net-worth families behind them, and (through a separate tier) innovator companies seeking family office capital
Institute for Private Investors
Ultra-high-net-worth principals, families of substantial wealth, family office executives and private investors in North America
What the records say
- Role or title: Family Office Association: Family Office membership requires a formal family office in place or being established, a diversified investment portfolio and a legacy-planning focus; Institute for Private Investors: Applicant must be an ultra-high-net-worth principal, a member of a family of substantial wealth, a family office executive or a private investor.
- Minimum investable assets: Family Office Association: Family Office membership: assets under management typically exceeding USD 100 million, with well-structured assets; Institute for Private Investors: Minimum of USD 30 million in assets.
- Annual dues: Family Office Association: Not publicly disclosed. FOA publishes three membership tiers but no price for any of them.; Institute for Private Investors: Not publicly disclosed. IPI publishes no dues; secondary guides give incompatible estimates (roughly US$7,500-20,000 and roughly US$15,000-25,000) that could not be independently verified..
Side by side
| Family Office Association | Institute for Private Investors | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Family-office network | Family-office network |
| Founded | 2007 (Sources give 2007 and 2008. Founder Angelo Robles is recorded as CEO from October 2008; a secondary directory gives a 2007 founding date. Could not be resolved from FOA's own pages, which do not state a founding year.) | 1991 (Sources disagree. Wikipedia gives 1991 (formally incorporated 1997) and Campden Wealth says IPI has "roots dating to 1991"; the IPI homepage says 1995 and the IPI membership overview says 1992. Recorded as 1991 as the earliest and most corroborated date.) |
| Headquarters | Greenwich, United States | New York, United States |
| Geographic footprint | Headquartered in Greenwich, Connecticut, with a membership FOA describes as global | Members in more than 30 countries and 41 US states; events across the US, Europe, Asia and India |
| Members | Not publicly disclosed | 1,000as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | No chapters; members are organised into topic-based Peer Communities rather than geographic units. | No geographic chapters; regional and local workshops instead. |
| Primary audience | Single family offices, the ultra-high-net-worth families behind them, and (through a separate tier) innovator companies seeking family office capital | Ultra-high-net-worth principals, families of substantial wealth, family office executives and private investors in North America |
| Typical member | FOA's core tier targets families with a formal family office in place or being established, typically exceeding USD 100 million in assets under management with well-structured, diversified holdings. A second tier admits families on a trajectory toward that scale, and a third admits innovation companies. | IPI states a minimum of USD 30 million in assets to qualify and reports that members' average liquid holdings exceed USD 300 million. More than 48 per cent of members have belonged for ten years or longer. |
| Qualification | ||
| Role or title | Family Office membership requires a formal family office in place or being established, a diversified investment portfolio and a legacy-planning focusverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Applicant must be an ultra-high-net-worth principal, a member of a family of substantial wealth, a family office executive or a private investorverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Minimum investable assets | Family Office membership: assets under management typically exceeding USD 100 million, with well-structured assetsFOA describes this as typical rather than as an absolute cut-off, and also requires a family office in place or being established.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Minimum of USD 30 million in assetsStated on the IPI membership page. IPI reports that members' average liquid assets exceed USD 300 million, well above the floor.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | Sometimes | Sometimes |
| Sponsor required | Sometimes | Not documented |
| Application process | Prospective members select one of three tiers and apply through the FOA website. Only the Innovator tier has a published admission route: invitation by an existing member, or a formal application with a reference check. FOA does not publish an application process, interview stage or decision timetable for the Family Office and On the Rise tiers. | Candidates who meet the USD 30 million asset minimum apply through IPI's membership application portal and choose an individual or family membership. All applications are subject to approval. Members of IPI are automatically treated as qualified for Campden Club events and do not complete Campden's separate qualification form. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed. IPI states only that all applications are subject to approval. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | Not publicly disclosed. FOA publishes three membership tiers but no price for any of them.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosed. IPI publishes no dues; secondary guides give incompatible estimates (roughly US$7,500-20,000 and roughly US$15,000-25,000) that could not be independently verified.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Annual | Annual |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Events through the year; frequency not published | Regional and local workshops, social events and co-investment roundtables through the year |
| Peer forums | Peer Communities organised by theme (for example global impact, technology and innovation, sports and entertainment) rather than fixed confidential forum groups | Peer-to-peer workshops and roundtables plus the Memberlink online community; no fixed confidential forum groups published |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed | Professional members such as advisers and wealth managers are restricted from direct access to investor members |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Event-focused, Virtual | Event-focused, Virtual, Forum-based |
| Confidential peer forums | Yes | Yes |
| Local chapters | No | No |
| Virtual membership | Not documented | Not documented |
| Online community | Partial | Yes |
| Member directory | Not documented | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | Not documented | Partial |
| Retreats | Not documented | Not documented |
| Travel | Not documented | Yes |
| Family programming | Yes | Yes |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | Yes |
| Next-generation programming | Not documented | Yes |
| Investment discussions | Yes | Yes |
| Investment opportunities | Partial | Yes |
| Philanthropic component | Yes | Not documented |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Medium | Medium |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Family Office Association · Institute for Private Investors