Comparison · 14 material differences
The Family Office Club vs Institute for Private Investors
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
The Family Office Club
Capital raisers, fund managers, deal sponsors and business owners seeking access to family offices and wealthy private investors, alongside investors attending as buyers
Institute for Private Investors
Ultra-high-net-worth principals, families of substantial wealth, family office executives and private investors in North America
What the records say
- Role or title: The Family Office Club: No published role or title; Institute for Private Investors: Applicant must be an ultra-high-net-worth principal, a member of a family of substantial wealth, a family office executive or a private investor.
- Minimum investable assets: The Family Office Club: No published minimum investable assets; Institute for Private Investors: Minimum of USD 30 million in assets.
- Annual dues: The Family Office Club: $5,000 a year; Institute for Private Investors: Not publicly disclosed. IPI publishes no dues; secondary guides give incompatible estimates (roughly US$7,500-20,000 and roughly US$15,000-25,000) that could not be independently verified..
Side by side
| The Family Office Club | Institute for Private Investors | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Networking organization | Family-office network |
| Founded | 2007 (Stated as founded in 2007 on the Family Office Club site, which also refers to 19 years of operation as of 2026.) | 1991 (Sources disagree. Wikipedia gives 1991 (formally incorporated 1997) and Campden Wealth says IPI has "roots dating to 1991"; the IPI homepage says 1995 and the IPI membership overview says 1992. Recorded as 1991 as the earliest and most corroborated date.) |
| Headquarters | Kailua, United States | New York, United States |
| Geographic footprint | United States, with events in New York, Fort Lauderdale, Dallas, Los Angeles and Sunnyvale among other cities | Members in more than 30 countries and 41 US states; events across the US, Europe, Asia and India |
| Members | Could not be independently verified. The organisation's own pages give incompatible figures in different places: "16 million registered members" across 280 communities, "100,000+ current members", "10,000+ investors", "7,500+ investors" and "4,000+ investors". The larger numbers appear to describe registered contacts and social-audience reach rather than paying members; no paid membership count is published. | 1,000as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | No chapters; events rotate among cities. | No geographic chapters; regional and local workshops instead. |
| Primary audience | Capital raisers, fund managers, deal sponsors and business owners seeking access to family offices and wealthy private investors, alongside investors attending as buyers | Ultra-high-net-worth principals, families of substantial wealth, family office executives and private investors in North America |
| Typical member | Membership is open on payment rather than by wealth test. The organisation markets to founders and capital raisers seeking investor access as well as to family offices, decamillionaires, centimillionaires and billionaires attending as investors. | IPI states a minimum of USD 30 million in assets to qualify and reports that members' average liquid holdings exceed USD 300 million. More than 48 per cent of members have belonged for ten years or longer. |
| Qualification | ||
| Role or title | No published role or title | Applicant must be an ultra-high-net-worth principal, a member of a family of substantial wealth, a family office executive or a private investorverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Minimum investable assets | No published minimum investable assets | Minimum of USD 30 million in assetsStated on the IPI membership page. IPI reports that members' average liquid assets exceed USD 300 million, well above the floor.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | Sometimes |
| Sponsor required | No | Not documented |
| Application process | Prospective members choose a tier and apply through the website or by contacting the organisation directly by phone or text. Payment establishes membership at the Monthly, Charter and VIP tiers; the Verified tier additionally requires a background check. A four-month satisfaction guarantee is offered. | Candidates who meet the USD 30 million asset minimum apply through IPI's membership application portal and choose an individual or family membership. All applications are subject to approval. Members of IPI are automatically treated as qualified for Campden Club events and do not complete Campden's separate qualification form. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed. Admission is effectively by payment except at the Verified tier, which adds a background check. | Not publicly disclosed. IPI states only that all applications are subject to approval. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | $5,000 a yearVIP Member tier: USD 5,000 for the first year, renewing at USD 249 per month from month thirteen. Adds four mastermind guest tickets a year and a list of 22,000 investor leads.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosed. IPI publishes no dues; secondary guides give incompatible estimates (roughly US$7,500-20,000 and roughly US$15,000-25,000) that could not be independently verified.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Monthly dues | $400 a monthMonthly Member tier: includes four summits and twelve masterminds a year, 50 AI tools and access to about 2,000 recorded talks.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosed |
| Programme fee | $1,999 one-timeCharter Member tier: USD 1,999 for the first six months, renewing at USD 249 per month from month seven.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosed |
| Membership term | Monthly or annual, with automatic renewal at a monthly rate after the initial term at the VIP and Verified tiers | Annual |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | About 30 events a year, including four Super Summits and twelve in-person masterminds | Regional and local workshops, social events and co-investment roundtables through the year |
| Peer forums | Masterminds and summits rather than fixed confidential peer forums | Peer-to-peer workshops and roundtables plus the Memberlink online community; no fixed confidential forum groups published |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed | Professional members such as advisers and wealth managers are restricted from direct access to investor members |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Event-focused, Virtual, Cohort-based | Event-focused, Virtual, Forum-based |
| Confidential peer forums | Partial | Yes |
| Local chapters | No | No |
| Virtual membership | Yes | Not documented |
| Online community | Yes | Yes |
| Member directory | Partial | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | Partial | Partial |
| Retreats | No | Not documented |
| Travel | No | Yes |
| Family programming | Not documented | Yes |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | Yes |
| Next-generation programming | Not documented | Yes |
| Investment discussions | Yes | Yes |
| Investment opportunities | Yes | Yes |
| Philanthropic component | Not documented | Not documented |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Medium | Medium |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: The Family Office Club · Institute for Private Investors