Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 20 material differences

HBR Advisory Council vs PEWIN

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

HBR Advisory Council

Harvard Business Review readers, mainly managers and executives, invited to give structured feedback to HBR's editors

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

PEWIN

Senior women investment professionals in private equity, venture capital, private credit and value-added infrastructure or energy, on both the GP and LP sides

What the records say

Side by side

HBR Advisory CouncilPEWIN
Profile
Type Invitation-only community Invitation-only community
Founded Not documented 2008 (PEWIN's About page says the network was started by a group of twelve women and describes itself as 18 years old as of 2026; its New York chapter, the earliest listed, dates from 2008. Kelly Williams is the Founding Chair.)
Headquarters Boston, United States United States
Geographic footprint Online reader and research panel with no chapters or local groups Nineteen regional chapters across the Americas, Europe, Africa and Asia; members in 30-plus countries
Members Not publicly disclosed 1,800as of September 2026
Chapters No chapters 19
Primary audience Harvard Business Review readers, mainly managers and executives, invited to give structured feedback to HBR's editors Senior women investment professionals in private equity, venture capital, private credit and value-added infrastructure or energy, on both the GP and LP sides
Typical member Not publicly disclosed. HBR publishes no eligibility criteria, seniority test or member profile for the Advisory Council; membership is by invitation. Members hold the most senior investment titles available at their institutions: managing director, partner, founder, chief investment officer or asset class head, plus C-level and investor-relations leaders. PEWIN reports that 93% of members are at C-suite or partnership level, and that members' institutions manage more than $3 trillion.
Qualification
Role or title No published role or title Must hold the senior-most investment title available (managing director, partner, founder, chief investment officer or asset class head) or be a C-level or investor relations leaderApplies to both GPs and allocatorsverified September 2026 · source ↗
Gender No published gender Women investment professionalsPEWIN describes itself as a network of the most senior women in private equityverified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction No published industry restriction Must work in private equity, venture capital, private credit and/or value-added infrastructure or energy; real estate and hedge funds are excludedverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required Yes Yes
Sponsor required No Yes
Application process There is no application. HBR invites readers to join the Advisory Council and the FAQ does not describe any way to request an invitation. Members can leave at any time using the unsubscribe link in a council email. There is no open application. A current member nominates a candidate through PEWIN's member portal, and the nomination is reviewed against the seniority, tenure and asset-class criteria. PEWIN says the process typically takes two to three weeks. Candidates who do not qualify at the time can be renominated later if their experience or role changes.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. HBR states only that membership is currently by invitation. Not publicly disclosed as a rate. PEWIN publishes hard eligibility criteria and requires member nomination, and reports that 93% of members hold C-suite or partnership-level positions.
Cost
Annual dues $0 a yearNo membership fee is charged or mentioned anywhere in the Advisory Council pages or FAQ; the council is a research panel rather than a paid membership.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed: PEWIN publishes no dues, fees or pricing on any public pageverified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee HBR does not charge for Advisory Council membership. Members receive downloadable content, and on some projects the final research report, in exchange for survey participation. Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Event costs HBR does not charge for Advisory Council membership. Members receive downloadable content, and on some projects the final research report, in exchange for survey participation. Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Membership term Open-ended; members leave by unsubscribing Not documented
Structure
Meeting frequency Research invitations, generally no more than one survey per month Regional chapter dinners and gatherings through the year, plus industry panels, LP spotlights and CIO roundtables
Peer forums No forums Regional chapters and topic roundtables, including a CIO roundtable; no published small-group forum system
Confidentiality Research is conducted by Beehive Research Ltd, which HBR states is registered with the Market Research Society and ESOMAR Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment Roughly one optional survey a month at most, per the FAQ Not documented
Organized as Virtual Chapter-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No Partial
Local chapters No Yes
Virtual membership Yes No
Online community No Yes
Member directory No Yes
Events No Yes
Programming
Educational programming Partial Partial
Leadership development No Yes
Retreats No Not documented
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming No Partial
Investment discussions No Yes
Investment opportunities No Partial
Philanthropic component No Yes
Networking emphasis Low High
Social emphasis Low Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: HBR Advisory Council · PEWIN