Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 14 material differences

HBS Alumni Angels vs Kauffman Fellows

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Investment community

HBS Alumni Angels

Harvard alumni who are accredited investors and want to invest in and advise early-stage companies

Verified September 2026
Leadership network

Kauffman Fellows

Working venture capital investors (typically partner-level GPs, emerging fund founders, LPs and corporate venture investors) who already deploy capital

What the records say

Side by side

HBS Alumni AngelsKauffman Fellows
Profile
Type Investment community Leadership network
Founded Not documented 1995 (Started inside the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation in 1995; spun out as an independent organization in 2000 and run by the Center for Venture Education)
Headquarters United States Palo Alto, United States
Geographic footprint 20 chapters across North America, South America, Europe, Asia and the Gulf Fellows in 62 countries across six continents; in-person modules and treks rotate between global locations
Members 1,000as of September 2026 1,060as of September 2026
Chapters 20 11
Primary audience Harvard alumni who are accredited investors and want to invest in and advise early-stage companies Working venture capital investors (typically partner-level GPs, emerging fund founders, LPs and corporate venture investors) who already deploy capital
Typical member Members are alumni of Harvard Business School or of any Harvard University school. Chapters require accredited-investor status to take part in pitch nights and investing. Companies pitching do not need any Harvard affiliation. Recent classes are roughly 86% direct VC investors, 72% partner-level or above and 43% founders. Across the whole society, about 55–60% of Fellows are firm founders, roughly 80% are partner-level or above, and about one in three is female.
Qualification
Role or title No published role or title Working venture investor: direct VC investor, emerging or established GP, LP, corporate VC or ecosystem contributorPartner-level or above is preferred but not stated as mandatory; 72% of a recent class were partner-level or higherverified September 2026 · source ↗
Accredited-investor status Accredited-investor status is required to take part in investing; the Greater New York chapter requires it for pitch-night participation and the Northern California chapter requires accredited-investor status with Harvard affiliationApplied at chapter level, not by the associationverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published accredited-investor status
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No Not documented
Application process Prospective members apply to their nearest chapter rather than to the association. In Greater New York, HBS alumni use the chapter join or renew link, while graduates of other Harvard schools submit contact details through a form and wait about seven business days for staff to set up an account. In Northern California, applications run through a Gust page. Requirements and processing differ by chapter. Applications run on an annual class cycle. Step one is an online form that the organization estimates takes about an hour, submitted with an application fee. Step two is a set of video interviews with current Fellows. Step three is selection by an admissions committee. For the Class 31 cycle, interviews began in mid-February 2026 and acceptances went out in early April 2026.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. The binding constraint is Harvard alumni status plus, in chapters that state it, accredited-investor status. Not publicly disclosed: Kauffman Fellows publishes detailed class composition data but no acceptance rate or applicant volume
Cost
Annual dues $350 a yearGreater New York chapter, one-year membership; includes HBS Club of New York membership and Angel Capital Association membership, which the chapter values at $199verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed: the organization does not publish alumni society dues, if anyverified September 2026
Local chapter dues Dues vary by chapter and most chapters do not publish them. The association charges no separate central membership fee that it discloses.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Tuition is the material cost; travel and lodging for five modules, a summit and two treks are additional and not quantified by the organization.
Programme fee Dues are charged by the chapter, not the association, and are published only by some chapters. $80,000 one-timeTuition for the full two-year programme, due before Module 1. Covers venues, meals, materials and mentoring; excludes transportation and lodging. Non-refundable and non-transferable. Limited needs-based scholarships are available.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Annual; the Greater New York chapter also sells a three-year term Two-year programme followed by lifelong membership of the Kauffman Fellows society
Structure
Meeting frequency Chapter-dependent: monthly pitch nights in Greater New York, quarterly pitch events in Northern California; plus association webinars, bootcamps and an annual conference Five four-day in-person modules, one Global Summit and two Global Treks over two years, plus roughly 24 virtual forum meetings; Special Interest Groups meet monthly for alumni
Peer forums Chapter selection committees and due-diligence teams; each invested company in the Greater New York chapter is assigned a lead investor Class members meet in virtual Forum groups roughly twice a month during the programme; alumni join topic-based Special Interest Groups and regional chapters
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed; the association publishes a community values statement Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment Not documented Approximately 20–25 days over the two-year programme, per the application details page
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused Cohort-based, Event-focused, Virtual
Confidential peer forums No Yes
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Partial No
Online community Yes Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Partial Yes
Retreats No Yes
Travel No Yes
Family programming No Not documented
Spouse and partner programming Not documented Not documented
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions Yes Yes
Investment opportunities Yes Partial
Philanthropic component No Not documented
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: HBS Alumni Angels · Kauffman Fellows