Comparison · 14 material differences
Home House vs Pacific-Union Club
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.
What the records say
- Maximum age at joining — Home House: Young Member rate for applicants under 35, reported at £1,450 a year in 2024; Pacific-Union Club: Not publicly disclosed.
- Geographic restriction — Home House: Separate overseas rates for members resident outside the UK; Pacific-Union Club: Not publicly disclosed.
- Annual dues — Home House: £1,440–2,250 a year; Pacific-Union Club: Not publicly disclosed.
Side by side
| Home House | Pacific-Union Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Private club | Private club |
| Founded | 1998 (The building at 20 Portman Square has been a private members' club since 1998; the house itself was completed in 1776 for Elizabeth, Countess of Home, begun by James Wyatt and finished by Robert Adam, and is Grade I listed) | 1889 (Formed in 1889 by the merger of the Pacific Club, founded 1852, and the Union Club, founded 1854.) |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom | San Francisco, United States |
| Geographic footprint | Two London houses: Home House at 20 Portman Square, Marylebone, and Home House Studio at 44 Great Cumberland Place (formerly Home Grown) | Single clubhouse in the James C. Flood Mansion at 1000 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco |
| Members | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Chapters | 2 | Single clubhouse; no chapters |
| Primary audience | Not narrowly defined by the club, which markets Home House as a social and cultural club and Home House Studio as a working club; a combined Homes membership covers both | Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes no statement of who it admits. |
| Typical member | A mixed social and professional membership. The club publishes categories by age, access level and residence rather than by occupation, and offers a corporate rate for groups from one business. | Not publicly disclosed. Secondary accounts list historical and contemporary members drawn from San Francisco business and public life, including founders of major companies, but the club releases no membership information. |
| Qualification | ||
| Maximum age at joining | Young Member rate for applicants under 35, reported at £1,450 a year in 2024This named tier does not appear on the club's current membership pages following the February 2026 restructure; treat as possibly supersededverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosed |
| Geographic restriction | Separate overseas rates for members resident outside the UKThe current Homes membership lists an Overseas Access rate of £2,550 a yearverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosed |
| Invitation required | No | Not documented |
| Sponsor required | No | Not documented |
| Application process | Applications are made through an online form. Spear's reports that applicants supply a recent headshot, photo ID, proof of address, and proof of residency if applying from abroad, and that the membership committee reviews applications monthly with no interview stage. The same article notes that the club's popularity can mean a wait. | Not publicly disclosed. No application route, contact point or membership enquiry channel is published. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed. Spear's states only that "due to the club's popularity, there may be a waiting period". | Not publicly disclosed |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | £1,440–2,250 a yearHome House Membership: "membership starting from £1,440 per year (Limited Access) or £2,250 per year" (Full Access)verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 |
| Initiation fee | Spear's reports that "a one-time joining fee applies to all membership categories" but the amount is not publicly disclosed and no joining fee appears on the club's current membership pagesverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 |
| Membership term | Annual | Not documented |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Clubhouse open daily; member events, dining and cultural programming | Not documented |
| Peer forums | Not documented | Not documented |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed | The club maintains no public web presence and publishes no membership information |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Clubhouse premises, Event-focused | Clubhouse premises |
| Confidential peer forums | No | No |
| Local chapters | No | No |
| Virtual membership | No | No |
| Online community | Not documented | No |
| Member directory | Not documented | Not documented |
| Events | Yes | Not documented |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Partial | Not documented |
| Leadership development | No | No |
| Retreats | No | Not documented |
| Travel | No | Not documented |
| Family programming | No | Not documented |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | Not documented |
| Next-generation programming | No | Not documented |
| Investment discussions | No | Not documented |
| Investment opportunities | No | No |
| Philanthropic component | Not documented | Not documented |
| Networking emphasis | Medium | Not documented |
| Social emphasis | High | Not documented |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Home House · Pacific-Union Club

