Comparison · 12 material differences
Home House vs Union League Club of Chicago
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
Verified September 2026 Home House
Not narrowly defined by the club, which markets Home House as a social and cultural club and Home House Studio as a working club; a combined Homes membership covers both
Union League Club of Chicago
The club states that it invites everyone to participate in its culture of hospitality regardless of, but not limited to, race, gender, sexual orientation, family status, religion…
What the records say
- Maximum age at joining: Home House: Young Member rate for applicants under 35, reported at £1,450 a year in 2024; Union League Club of Chicago: No published maximum age at joining.
- Gender: Home House: No published gender; Union League Club of Chicago: No gender restriction.
- Geographic restriction: Home House: Separate overseas rates for members resident outside the UK; Union League Club of Chicago: No published geographic restriction.
- Annual dues: Home House: £1,440–2,250 a year; Union League Club of Chicago: Not publicly disclosed.
Side by side
| Home House | Union League Club of Chicago | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Private club | Private club |
| Founded | 1998 (The building at 20 Portman Square has been a private members' club since 1998; the house itself was completed in 1776 for Elizabeth, Countess of Home, begun by James Wyatt and finished by Robert Adam, and is Grade I listed) | 1879 (Incorporated 19 December 1879 as the Chicago club of the Union League of America, a Civil War organisation founded in 1862 to support the Union; the club dates its own charter to 1879.) |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom | Chicago, United States |
| Geographic footprint | Two London houses: Home House at 20 Portman Square, Marylebone, and Home House Studio at 44 Great Cumberland Place (formerly Home Grown) | Single clubhouse at 65 West Jackson Boulevard in the Chicago Loop |
| Members | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Chapters | 2 | Single clubhouse; no chapters |
| Primary audience | Not narrowly defined by the club, which markets Home House as a social and cultural club and Home House Studio as a working club; a combined Homes membership covers both | The club states that it invites everyone to participate in its culture of hospitality regardless of, but not limited to, race, gender, sexual orientation, family status, religion, ethnicity, national origin, physical disability, veteran status or age; in practice it draws Loop business, professional and civic figures. |
| Typical member | A mixed social and professional membership. The club publishes categories by age, access level and residence rather than by occupation, and offers a corporate rate for groups from one business. | Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes no member statistics or occupational breakdown; its programming (business meeting space, a virtual office service, a business travel programme and a women members' group) is aimed at working professionals based in or visiting central Chicago. |
| Qualification | ||
| Maximum age at joining | Young Member rate for applicants under 35, reported at £1,450 a year in 2024This named tier does not appear on the club's current membership pages following the February 2026 restructure; treat as possibly supersededverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published maximum age at joining |
| Gender | No published gender | No gender restrictionThe club states it invites everyone to participate regardless of, but not limited to, race, gender, sexual orientation, family status, religion, ethnicity, national origin, physical disability, veteran status or age; it runs a Women of the ULCC programmeverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Geographic restriction | Separate overseas rates for members resident outside the UKThe current Homes membership lists an Overseas Access rate of £2,550 a yearverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published geographic restriction |
| Invitation required | No | Not documented |
| Sponsor required | No | Not documented |
| Application process | Applications are made through an online form. Spear's reports that applicants supply a recent headshot, photo ID, proof of address, and proof of residency if applying from abroad, and that the membership committee reviews applications monthly with no interview stage. The same article notes that the club's popularity can mean a wait. | Prospective members complete a membership information request form on the club's website or contact the club directly. The club does not publish whether sponsors are required, how candidates are reviewed, or how long the process takes. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed. Spear's states only that "due to the club's popularity, there may be a waiting period". | Not publicly disclosed |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | £1,440–2,250 a yearHome House Membership: "membership starting from £1,440 per year (Limited Access) or £2,250 per year" (Full Access)verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | Spear's reports that "a one-time joining fee applies to all membership categories" but the amount is not publicly disclosed and no joining fee appears on the club's current membership pagesverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Annual | Not documented |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Clubhouse open daily; member events, dining and cultural programming | Clubhouse open daily; regular member events, public-affairs programming and affinity-group meetings including monthly Women of the ULCC happy hours |
| Peer forums | Not documented | Not documented |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Clubhouse premises, Event-focused | Clubhouse premises, Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | No | No |
| Local chapters | No | No |
| Virtual membership | No | No |
| Online community | Not documented | No |
| Member directory | Not documented | Not documented |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Partial | Partial |
| Leadership development | No | Partial |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | Yes |
| Family programming | No | Yes |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | Not documented |
| Next-generation programming | No | Not documented |
| Investment discussions | No | No |
| Investment opportunities | No | No |
| Philanthropic component | Not documented | Yes |
| Networking emphasis | Medium | High |
| Social emphasis | High | High |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Home House · Union League Club of Chicago