Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 18 material differences

ICSC vs NAWBO

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

ICSC

Owners, developers, managers, investors, brokers and marketers of shopping centres and other retail and mixed-use property, plus retailers, public officials and academics

Verified September 2026
Professional association

NAWBO

Women who own an equity interest in a business in the United States, at any size, stage and industry

What the records say

Side by side

ICSCNAWBO
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1957 (ICSC's own account: "With a $500 payment and a handshake, seven enterprising professionals established ICSC in a downtown Chicago hotel in 1957.") 1975 ("They formed NAWBO in 1975 in Washington, DC" - Susan Hager, NAWBO's founding president, and eleven other founding members.)
Headquarters New York, United States United States
Geographic footprint Global; ICSC runs regional divisions and works with national and regional shopping centre councils worldwide, and holds a Washington DC office alongside its New York headquarters Chapters across the United States, grouped into four regions, plus a Virtual membership for women more than 45 miles from a chapter; NAWBO also maintains international alliances
Members 70,000as of May 2026 Not publicly disclosed. NAWBO describes itself as the voice of "more than 12 million women-owned businesses" in the United States, which is a national statistic rather than a membership figure.
Chapters Not publicly disclosed as a single figure. ICSC organises by region and division rather than by named chapters, and Wikipedia reports relationships with more than 25 national and regional shopping centre councils. 46
Primary audience Owners, developers, managers, investors, brokers and marketers of shopping centres and other retail and mixed-use property, plus retailers, public officials and academics Women who own an equity interest in a business in the United States, at any size, stage and industry
Typical member Membership spans the retail property chain: shopping centre owners, developers, managers, marketing specialists, investors, retailers and brokers, together with academics and public officials. ICSC's own pricing distinguishes companies and individuals who own, develop, manage or support marketplaces from retailers and tenants, who pay a lower rate. Women business owners of all sizes and stages, from sole proprietors and independent contractors to owners of larger companies. NAWBO's own definition covers "Any individual who identifies as a woman who owns an equity interest in her business (sole proprietor, partner, LLC member, independent contractor or 5%+ corporate shareholder)". Male business owners and executives of either gender may join as supporting members without voting rights.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining Next Generation membership: industry professionals under 40A discounted category, not a barrier to joining.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published maximum age at joining
Minimum ownership stake No published minimum ownership stake Ownership as "sole proprietor, partner, LLC member, independent contractor or 5%+ corporate shareholder"The 5 per cent test applies to corporate shareholders; other ownership forms have no percentage thresholdverified September 2026 · source ↗
Gender No published gender "Any individual who identifies as a woman who owns an equity interest in her business" qualifies as a woman business owner for the Premier, Basic, NextGen and Virtual levelsMale business owners and male and female business executives may join at the Individual Supporting and Corporate Supporting levels, which do not carry voting rightsverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction Members within 45 miles of a chapter join at chapter level; those more than 45 miles away join the national Virtual membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction Standard membership: companies and individuals who own, develop, manage or support marketplaces and spaces (excludes retailers and tenants)Retailers and tenants have their own lower-priced category.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published industry restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Applicants join online through the ICSC membership pages, choosing a member type. Categories with reduced rates require documentary proof: government letterhead for public sector applicants, a university ID for academics, and a transcript, course list or registrar's letter for students. There is no sponsor, interview or committee stage in the published process. Three steps published by NAWBO: choose a chapter or the Virtual option depending on distance from the nearest chapter; choose a membership level; and complete a short online application. A welcome email is sent immediately, followed by a member packet, a connection to the chapter or Virtual community, and access to the member portal. There is no interview, sponsor or committee review.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed; the published route is open enrolment with eligibility set by the type of business the applicant is in. Not applicable in the usual sense: NAWBO admits any applicant meeting its ownership definition and publishes no acceptance rate.
Cost
Annual dues $300 a yearStandard membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗ $479 a yearPremier level: "$479.40* annually" - for women who actively participate in their business, with full voting rights, leadership and award eligibility, and both chapter and national benefits. The asterisk on NAWBO's page notes that a US$75 Spring Membership Campaign discount had been applied to the one-time application fee at the time of access.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee is listed alongside the published dues.verified September 2026 Prices shown were displayed during a Spring Membership Campaign that applied a US$75 discount to the one-time application fee; the underlying application fee is not published. Chapter-level and national benefits come together at the Premier and Basic levels.
Event costs Not recorded here. ICSC's conferences are separately ticketed and are the main cost of participation, but rates vary by event and were not read for this record.verified September 2026 Prices shown were displayed during a Spring Membership Campaign that applied a US$75 discount to the one-time application fee; the underlying application fee is not published. Chapter-level and national benefits come together at the Premier and Basic levels.
Membership term Annual Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency A year-round conference programme including ICSC Las Vegas and ICSC New York, plus regional and state conferences Chapter programming locally, plus national events including the NAWBO Summit, monthly new member orientations and virtual community events
Peer forums No confidential peer forum structure is published; participation is through events, divisions and committees No confidential peer forums are published; NAWBO Institute programmes such as Circle ($1 Million+) group members by business stage
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Event-focused, Chapter-based Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual
Confidential peer forums No Partial
Local chapters Partial Yes
Virtual membership Partial Yes
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Partial Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No Partial
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming Yes Yes
Investment discussions Yes Partial
Investment opportunities Partial No
Philanthropic component No Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: ICSC · NAWBO