Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 14 material differences

Institute of Directors vs NAWBO

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

NAWBO

Women who own an equity interest in a business in the United States, at any size, stage and industry

What the records say

Side by side

Institute of DirectorsNAWBO
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1903 ("The IoD has been at the heart of business since its formation in 1903. The Royal Charter, awarded in 1906, charged the IoD with promoting free enterprise, lobbying government and setting standards for corporate governance.") 1975 ("They formed NAWBO in 1975 in Washington, DC" - Susan Hager, NAWBO's founding president, and eleven other founding members.)
Headquarters London, United Kingdom United States
Geographic footprint Regions and branches across England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, plus an international membership tier and international events; the members' premises and workspace are at 116 Pall Mall, London Chapters across the United States, grouped into four regions, plus a Virtual membership for women more than 45 miles from a chapter; NAWBO also maintains international alliances
Members 20,000as of September 2026 Not publicly disclosed. NAWBO describes itself as the voice of "more than 12 million women-owned businesses" in the United States, which is a national statistic rather than a membership figure.
Chapters The IoD organises members into regions and nations (England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland) and Special Interest Groups rather than numbered chapters; no chapter total is published. 46
Primary audience Practising executive and non-executive directors in the private, public and third sectors in the UK, plus aspiring directors and directors based overseas Women who own an equity interest in a business in the United States, at any size, stage and industry
Typical member Practising executive and non-executive directors or equivalents, ranging from start-up founders to directors of multi-million pound businesses and senior civil servants. Associate membership covers aspiring directors, former directors and those who work closely with directors; a student tier covers students. Women business owners of all sizes and stages, from sole proprietors and independent contractors to owners of larger companies. NAWBO's own definition covers "Any individual who identifies as a woman who owns an equity interest in her business (sole proprietor, partner, LLC member, independent contractor or 5%+ corporate shareholder)". Male business owners and executives of either gender may join as supporting members without voting rights.
Qualification
Role or title IoD member tier: "For practising executive and non-executive directors or equivalents in the private, public and third sectors"Uses the post-nominal MIoDverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published role or title
Minimum ownership stake No published minimum ownership stake Ownership as "sole proprietor, partner, LLC member, independent contractor or 5%+ corporate shareholder"The 5 per cent test applies to corporate shareholders; other ownership forms have no percentage thresholdverified September 2026 · source ↗
Gender No published gender "Any individual who identifies as a woman who owns an equity interest in her business" qualifies as a woman business owner for the Premier, Basic, NextGen and Virtual levelsMale business owners and male and female business executives may join at the Individual Supporting and Corporate Supporting levels, which do not carry voting rightsverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction International tier: "For practising executive and non-executive directors or equivalents based overseas"Also uses the post-nominal MIoDverified September 2026 · source ↗ Members within 45 miles of a chapter join at chapter level; those more than 45 miles away join the national Virtual membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Prospective members choose a tier and join online; there is no interview, sponsor requirement or financial vetting. A free registration option gives access to sample resources without membership. Corporate memberships are arranged by contacting the IoD directly. Three steps published by NAWBO: choose a chapter or the Virtual option depending on distance from the nearest chapter; choose a membership level; and complete a short online application. A welcome email is sent immediately, followed by a member packet, a connection to the chapter or Virtual community, and access to the member portal. There is no interview, sponsor or committee review.
Selectivity Not applicable in the usual sense: membership is open to directors, aspiring directors and those who work closely with directors, and the IoD publishes no acceptance rate. Selectivity applies to the separate Chartered Director qualification rather than to membership. Not applicable in the usual sense: NAWBO admits any applicant meeting its ownership definition and publishes no acceptance rate.
Cost
Annual dues £494 a yearIoD member tier (UK directors): "£494 year / £44.46 month (fixed 12 month period)". Monthly instalments are available for full membership only.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $479 a yearPremier level: "$479.40* annually" - for women who actively participate in their business, with full voting rights, leadership and award eligibility, and both chapter and national benefits. The asterisk on NAWBO's page notes that a US$75 Spring Membership Campaign discount had been applied to the one-time application fee at the time of access.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Annual, with monthly instalments available for full membership over a fixed twelve-month period Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency Regional and national events, online events, Special Interest Group events and signature events including the Director of the Year Awards Chapter programming locally, plus national events including the NAWBO Summit, monthly new member orientations and virtual community events
Peer forums No confidential peer forums; members join Special Interest Groups and regional communities, and can be matched through IoD Mentor Connect No confidential peer forums are published; NAWBO Institute programmes such as Circle ($1 Million+) group members by business stage
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed. Members are subject to the IoD Code of Conduct for Directors and member rules made under the Royal Charter. Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused, Clubhouse premises Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual
Confidential peer forums Partial Partial
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Partial Yes
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Not documented Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No Partial
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming Partial Yes
Investment discussions No Partial
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Institute of Directors · NAWBO