Peer Group GuideDie Intelligence-Plattform für Mitgliedschaftsnetzwerke ★
185 Organisationen · 686 veröffentlichte Anforderungen · 1136 Quellen Unabhängig: Keine Organisation zahlt für ihre Platzierung oder ihre Eignungsanalyse Jede Angabe enthält ihre Quelle und das Datum der Überprüfung

Vergleich · 13 wesentliche Unterschiede

Institute of Directors vs Small Giants Community

Dieser Vergleich wurde auf Anfrage aus den Datensätzen generiert. Er enthält kein redaktionelles Urteil und ist nicht indexiert. Die veröffentlichten Vergleiche sind aufgeführt auf der Vergleichsseite.

Jede Spalte für sich gibt Auskunft über eine Organisation, jede Zeile im Vergleich zeigt den Unterschied. Ein bronzefarbenes Zeichen am linken Rand einer Zelle bedeutet, dass sich die Organisationen in dieser Zeile unterscheiden. Ein Strich oder „nicht veröffentlicht" bedeutet, dass die Organisation die Angabe nicht offenlegt; es handelt sich nicht um einen Nullwert.

Verifiziert September 2026
Networking-Organisation

Small Giants Community

Founders, chief executives and next-generation leaders of small and mid-sized privately held companies that deliberately prioritise culture, purpose and quality over growth - the…

Was die Quellen besagen

Nebeneinander

Institute of DirectorsSmall Giants Community
Profil
Typ Professional association Networking organization
Gegründet 1903 ("The IoD has been at the heart of business since its formation in 1903. The Royal Charter, awarded in 1906, charged the IoD with promoting free enterprise, lobbying government and setting standards for corporate governance.") 2009 (The About page states that "The Small Giants Community is officially formed and founded by Bo Burlingham and Paul Spiegelman" in 2009, four years after Burlingham's 2005 book Small Giants: Companies That Choose to Be Great Instead of Big.)
Hauptsitz London, United Kingdom United States
Geographic footprint Regions and branches across England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, plus an international membership tier and international events; the members' premises and workspace are at 116 Pall Mall, London Primarily United States. The member directory offers filters for more than 30 countries including Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, India, Japan, Brazil and South Africa; the organization publishes no country breakdown.
Mitglieder 20,000as of September 2026 Not publicly disclosed. The organization publishes a searchable member directory but no total membership figure. The only published capacity number is the annual Summit, which is capped at 250 attendees.
Kapitel The IoD organises members into regions and nations (England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland) and Special Interest Groups rather than numbered chapters; no chapter total is published. No chapters. The community operates online with a single annual summit and cohort programmes.
Primary audience Practising executive and non-executive directors in the private, public and third sectors in the UK, plus aspiring directors and directors based overseas Founders, chief executives and next-generation leaders of small and mid-sized privately held companies that deliberately prioritise culture, purpose and quality over growth - the model described in Bo Burlingham's book.
Typisches Mitglied Practising executive and non-executive directors or equivalents, ranging from start-up founders to directors of multi-million pound businesses and senior civil servants. Associate membership covers aspiring directors, former directors and those who work closely with directors; a student tier covers students. The organization describes members as ranging "from solo founders to growing companies to established purpose-driven organizations", covering founders, C-suite executives and rising leaders. Company memberships bring whole leadership teams into the community. Published member quotes come from operating executives at privately held United States firms.
Qualification
Funktion oder Titel IoD member tier: "For practising executive and non-executive directors or equivalents in the private, public and third sectors"Uses the post-nominal MIoDverified September 2026 · Quelle ↗ The community is designed for founders, chief executives and next-generation leaders of small and mid-sized businessesStated as the intended audience rather than an enforced test.verified September 2026 · Quelle ↗
Geografische Einschränkung International tier: "For practising executive and non-executive directors or equivalents based overseas"Also uses the post-nominal MIoDverified September 2026 · Quelle ↗ No published geographic restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Prospective members choose a tier and join online; there is no interview, sponsor requirement or financial vetting. A free registration option gives access to sample resources without membership. Corporate memberships are arranged by contacting the IoD directly. Community membership requires no application: prospective members join the free tier online and upgrade to Individual or Company membership when they choose. The cohort programmes are screened. The Leadership Academy runs an application, a Zoom conversation covering cost and curriculum, a fit review and then acceptance and payment, with onboarding ahead of a January launch. Sounding Board uses an in-depth application and assessment followed by an interview.
Selectivity Not applicable in the usual sense: membership is open to directors, aspiring directors and those who work closely with directors, and the IoD publishes no acceptance rate. Selectivity applies to the separate Chartered Director qualification rather than to membership. Not applicable to general membership, which is open. For the Leadership Academy the organization says it will "review your application and ensure a good fit before accepting payment", but publishes no acceptance rate.
Kosten
Jahresbeiträge £494 a yearIoD member tier (UK directors): "£494 year / £44.46 month (fixed 12 month period)". Monthly instalments are available for full membership only.verified September 2026 · Quelle ↗ $0 a yearFree tier: US$0. Includes the Small Giants Scorecard and report, a free book chapter, free virtual events and workshops, the resource library and the newsletter.verified September 2026 · Quelle ↗
Programmgebühr Fees are published openly. The IoD is an HMRC-approved professional body, so UK members may be able to claim tax relief on the fee where membership is essential for their job and the employer did not pay it. Training and qualifications, including the Chartered Director programme, are charged separately. $12,500 one-timeSmall Giants Leadership Academy: "an investment of $12,500 per participant", all inclusive of programme access, community access, lifetime resource access, a Summit ticket and meals, transport and activities for two in-person experiences; travel and accommodation are excluded. A 10 percent deposit is due on acceptance, with the balance paid up front or monthly.verified September 2026 · Quelle ↗
Veranstaltungskosten Fees are published openly. The IoD is an HMRC-approved professional body, so UK members may be able to claim tax relief on the fee where membership is essential for their job and the employer did not pay it. Training and qualifications, including the Chartered Director programme, are charged separately. $1,650–2,265 one-timeAnnual Summit tickets in three releases: US$1,650 for the first 40 registrants, US$1,960 for the next 60, and US$2,265 thereafter. Includes all sessions, a visit to a Small Giant company, meals and receptions and transport between events. Discounts are offered for groups of three or more and for Leadership Academy alumni.verified September 2026 · Quelle ↗
Membership term Annual, with monthly instalments available for full membership over a fixed twelve-month period Annual, billed annually, cancellable at any time; the free tier has no term
Struktur
Meeting frequency Regional and national events, online events, Special Interest Group events and signature events including the Director of the Year Awards Ongoing online forums and virtual events and workshops; one annual Summit; Journey runs six two-day excursions a year; Sounding Board meets monthly for twelve months
Peer forums No confidential peer forums; members join Special Interest Groups and regional communities, and can be matched through IoD Mentor Connect Online forums and chat open to paid members rather than assigned confidential groups; one-to-one mentorship pairs in Sounding Board; cohort groups in the Leadership Academy and Journey
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed. Members are subject to the IoD Code of Conduct for Directors and member rules made under the Royal Charter. Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not published for membership. Sounding Board is a twelve-month commitment with monthly one-to-one meetings; Journey involves six two-day excursions over a year.
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused, Clubhouse premises Virtual, Event-focused, Cohort-based
Vertrauliche Peer-Foren Partial Partial
Lokale Kapitel Yes No
Virtuelle Mitgliedschaft Partial Yes
Online-Community Partial Yes
Mitgliederverzeichnis Not documented Yes
Veranstaltungen Yes Yes
Programmierung
Bildungsprogramme Yes Yes
Führungskräfteentwicklung Yes Yes
Retreats No Partial
Reisen No No
Familienprogramme No No
Programme für Ehe- und Lebenspartner No No
Next-Generation-Programm Partial Yes
Investment-Diskussionen No No
Investment-Möglichkeiten No No
Philanthropische Komponente No Partial
Schwerpunkt Vernetzung High High
Sozialer Schwerpunkt Medium Medium
Jeder Wert stammt aus denselben Datensätzen wie die Einzelseiten; ein Gedankenstrich bedeutet, dass die Angabe nicht veröffentlicht oder verifizierbar ist. Zeilen sind nach dem gruppiert, worüber ein Leser entscheidet, nicht nach Datentyp.

Weiter

Zuletzt verifiziert: Noch nicht geprüft Fehler auf dieser Seite melden

Quellen

Entnommen aus den auf jeder Seite aufgeführten Quellen: Institute of Directors · Small Giants Community