Comparison · 15 material differences
Level 20 vs Luminary
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
Level 20
People working in European private equity and venture capital, with the mission focused on women in investment roles
Luminary
Women and allies at every career stage, from entrepreneurs and mid-career professionals to the C-suite, plus corporate members buying access for employees
What the records say
- Gender: Level 20: No published gender; Luminary: Gender-inclusive: Luminary is for "women and allies" and describes itself as "Inclusive for all"; men may join as allies.
- Geographic restriction: Level 20: In-person programming is concentrated in Europe; Luminary: No published geographic restriction.
- Industry restriction: Level 20: Must work in private equity or venture capital, or at a firm that supports the industry; Luminary: No published industry restriction.
- Annual dues: Level 20: £0 a year; Luminary: Prices are published openly for all six individual options. Corporate membership pricing is arranged separately and is not published..
Side by side
| Level 20 | Luminary | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Networking organization | Networking organization |
| Founded | 2015 (Launched in the UK in 2015 by twelve co-founders, all senior women in European private equity and private markets) | 2018 ("founded and self-funded by former finance executive Cate Luzio, in late 2018". The same page states Luzio left her banking career and self-funded the launch in March 2018.) |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom | New York, United States |
| Geographic footprint | Thirteen chapters covering 20 European countries; the team is based in London | A 15,000 square foot flagship space at 1204 Broadway in the NoMad district of New York, plus access to more than 40 partner spaces globally and a virtual membership serving members in over 30 countries |
| Members | 7,250as of September 2025 | 15,000as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | 13 | No chapters. Luminary operates one flagship location in New York plus access to partner workspaces. |
| Primary audience | People working in European private equity and venture capital, with the mission focused on women in investment roles | Women and allies at every career stage, from entrepreneurs and mid-career professionals to the C-suite, plus corporate members buying access for employees |
| Typical member | Members work in private equity and venture capital or in firms that support the industry, at all seniority levels. Membership is open to both women and men, who participate as members, speakers, mentors and research contributors. The organisation's stated goal is increasing the representation of senior women, particularly in investment roles. | Luminary sets no seniority, revenue or title bar. The founder's description spans "entrepreneurs to those navigating their career path, the Power Middle to the C-suite, those in transition, and everyone in between". Corporate partners represent more than 500,000 employees worldwide. |
| Qualification | ||
| Gender | No published gender | Gender-inclusive: Luminary is for "women and allies" and describes itself as "Inclusive for all"; men may join as alliesLuminary's mission is to "uplift, up-skill, and propel women and their allies forward"verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Geographic restriction | In-person programming is concentrated in EuropeLevel 20 operates 13 chapters across 20 European countriesverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published geographic restriction |
| Industry restriction | Must work in private equity or venture capital, or at a firm that supports the industryMembership is open to both women and men at any seniority levelverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published industry restriction |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | No | No |
| Application process | Individuals complete a membership application form in the member portal; there is no fee, sponsorship or interview. Firms wishing to sponsor contact Level 20 through its Get in Touch page. Members are then matched to relevant programming by role, seniority, sector, strategy and firm type; mentoring places are allocated by cohort through the chapter committees. | There is no application or vetting. Prospective members choose a tier and sign up; Luminary states explicitly that there is no application process and no gatekeeping. Day passes are sold separately for people who want to try the New York space before joining. Corporate membership is arranged through Luminary's enterprise team. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed for general membership, which appears to be open. The mentoring programme is described as highly sought after but no acceptance figures are published. | Not applicable: Luminary states there is no application process and no gatekeeping. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | £0 a yearIndividual membership is free. "Level 20 membership is free for all those working in private equity and venture capital, or in firms that support the industry", Annual Review 2025verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Prices are published openly for all six individual options. Corporate membership pricing is arranged separately and is not published. |
| Monthly dues | Level 20 is funded by sponsor firms rather than member dues. | $49 a monthDigital tier: US$49 a month, or US$540 annually. Virtual access to the global community and member portal.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Programme fee | Level 20 is funded by sponsor firms rather than member dues. | $399 one-timeCru Only: US$399 for six months. Standalone peer accountability groups meeting for 90 minutes monthly over six months.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Not documented | Monthly or annual subscription depending on tier; Cru groups run for six months |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Local professional development and networking events run by each chapter, plus international conferences and online sessions | More than 250 programmes, events and activations a year, over 70 per cent of them member-led; Cru peer groups meet monthly for 90 minutes |
| Peer forums | Volunteer-run chapter committees organise local activity; mentoring runs as one-to-one pairings and group cohorts | Cru: small facilitated peer accountability groups meeting monthly for 90 minutes over six months, acquired with The Cru in late 2023 |
| Confidentiality | Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found | Not publicly disclosed |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Chapter-based, Event-focused, Cohort-based | Clubhouse premises, Virtual, Event-focused, Cohort-based |
| Confidential peer forums | Partial | Yes |
| Local chapters | Yes | No |
| Virtual membership | Yes | Yes |
| Online community | Yes | Yes |
| Member directory | Partial | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | Yes | Yes |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | No |
| Family programming | No | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | No | No |
| Next-generation programming | Partial | No |
| Investment discussions | Partial | No |
| Investment opportunities | No | No |
| Philanthropic component | No | Partial |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Medium | High |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Level 20 · Luminary