Comparison · 14 material differences
Level 20 vs PEWIN
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.
Level 20
People working in European private equity and venture capital, with the mission focused on women in investment roles
PEWIN
Senior women investment professionals in private equity, venture capital, private credit and value-added infrastructure or energy — on both the GP and LP sides
What the records say
- Role or title — Level 20: No published role or title; PEWIN: Must hold the senior-most investment title available — managing director, partner, founder, chief investment officer or asset class head — or be a C-level or investor relations leader.
- Gender — Level 20: No published gender; PEWIN: Women investment professionals.
- Geographic restriction — Level 20: In-person programming is concentrated in Europe; PEWIN: No published geographic restriction.
- Industry restriction — Level 20: Must work in private equity or venture capital, or at a firm that supports the industry; PEWIN: Must work in private equity, venture capital, private credit and/or value-added infrastructure or energy; real estate and hedge funds are excluded.
- Annual dues — Level 20: £0 a year; PEWIN: Not publicly disclosed — PEWIN publishes no dues, fees or pricing on any public page.
Side by side
| Level 20 | PEWIN | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Networking organization | Invitation-only community |
| Founded | 2015 (Launched in the UK in 2015 by twelve co-founders, all senior women in European private equity and private markets) | 2008 (PEWIN's About page says the network was started by a group of twelve women and describes itself as 18 years old as of 2026; its New York chapter, the earliest listed, dates from 2008. Kelly Williams is the Founding Chair.) |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom | United States |
| Geographic footprint | Thirteen chapters covering 20 European countries; the team is based in London | Nineteen regional chapters across the Americas, Europe, Africa and Asia; members in 30-plus countries |
| Members | 7,250as of September 2025 | 1,800as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | 13 | 19 |
| Primary audience | People working in European private equity and venture capital, with the mission focused on women in investment roles | Senior women investment professionals in private equity, venture capital, private credit and value-added infrastructure or energy — on both the GP and LP sides |
| Typical member | Members work in private equity and venture capital or in firms that support the industry, at all seniority levels. Membership is open to both women and men, who participate as members, speakers, mentors and research contributors. The organisation's stated goal is increasing the representation of senior women, particularly in investment roles. | Members hold the most senior investment titles available at their institutions: managing director, partner, founder, chief investment officer or asset class head, plus C-level and investor-relations leaders. PEWIN reports that 93% of members are at C-suite or partnership level, and that members' institutions manage more than $3 trillion. |
| Qualification | ||
| Role or title | No published role or title | Must hold the senior-most investment title available — managing director, partner, founder, chief investment officer or asset class head — or be a C-level or investor relations leaderApplies to both GPs and allocatorsverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Gender | No published gender | Women investment professionalsPEWIN describes itself as a network of the most senior women in private equityverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Geographic restriction | In-person programming is concentrated in EuropeLevel 20 operates 13 chapters across 20 European countriesverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published geographic restriction |
| Industry restriction | Must work in private equity or venture capital, or at a firm that supports the industryMembership is open to both women and men at any seniority levelverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Must work in private equity, venture capital, private credit and/or value-added infrastructure or energy; real estate and hedge funds are excludedverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | Yes |
| Sponsor required | No | Yes |
| Application process | Individuals complete a membership application form in the member portal; there is no fee, sponsorship or interview. Firms wishing to sponsor contact Level 20 through its Get in Touch page. Members are then matched to relevant programming by role, seniority, sector, strategy and firm type; mentoring places are allocated by cohort through the chapter committees. | There is no open application. A current member nominates a candidate through PEWIN's member portal, and the nomination is reviewed against the seniority, tenure and asset-class criteria. PEWIN says the process typically takes two to three weeks. Candidates who do not qualify at the time can be renominated later if their experience or role changes. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed for general membership, which appears to be open. The mentoring programme is described as highly sought after but no acceptance figures are published. | Not publicly disclosed as a rate. PEWIN publishes hard eligibility criteria and requires member nomination, and reports that 93% of members hold C-suite or partnership-level positions. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | £0 a yearIndividual membership is free. "Level 20 membership is free for all those working in private equity and venture capital, or in firms that support the industry" — Annual Review 2025verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosed — PEWIN publishes no dues, fees or pricing on any public pageverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | Level 20 is funded by sponsor firms rather than member dues. | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 |
| Event costs | Level 20 is funded by sponsor firms rather than member dues. | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 |
| Membership term | Not documented | Not documented |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Local professional development and networking events run by each chapter, plus international conferences and online sessions | Regional chapter dinners and gatherings through the year, plus industry panels, LP spotlights and CIO roundtables |
| Peer forums | Volunteer-run chapter committees organise local activity; mentoring runs as one-to-one pairings and group cohorts | Regional chapters and topic roundtables, including a CIO roundtable; no published small-group forum system |
| Confidentiality | Could not be independently verified — no published confidentiality policy was found | Could not be independently verified — no published confidentiality policy was found |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Chapter-based, Event-focused, Cohort-based | Chapter-based, Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | Partial | Partial |
| Local chapters | Yes | Yes |
| Virtual membership | Yes | No |
| Online community | Yes | Yes |
| Member directory | Partial | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Partial |
| Leadership development | Yes | Yes |
| Retreats | No | Not documented |
| Travel | No | No |
| Family programming | No | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | No | No |
| Next-generation programming | Partial | Partial |
| Investment discussions | Partial | Yes |
| Investment opportunities | No | Partial |
| Philanthropic component | No | Yes |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Medium | Medium |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Level 20 · PEWIN