Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 17 material differences

MMT vs South Park Commons

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

MMT

Established entrepreneurs selected on values and character rather than on business size.

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

South Park Commons

Technical founders, researchers and domain experts between things - the site's phrase is "-1 to 0" - who can commit full time and live in San Francisco, New York or Bengaluru.

What the records say

Side by side

MMTSouth Park Commons
Profile
Type Invitation-only community Invitation-only community
Founded 2013 (The organization's homepage dates itself "Since 2013"; it was founded by Jayson Gaignard, who is listed as Founder and Head Curator.) 2016 (The Our Story page dates the community to 2016 and describes its origin as ten people reading AI papers around founding member Ruchi Sanghvi's dining table, before a physical space opened in San Francisco's South Park neighbourhood.)
Headquarters Canada San Francisco, United States
Geographic footprint Members are drawn from around the world; programming combines online sessions with in-person Global Gatherings and dinners. Physical communities in San Francisco (380 Brannan St), New York City and Bengaluru; members must live in one of the three hubs.
Members 250as of September 2026 175as of September 2026
Chapters No chapters; members are admitted in cohorts four times a year. 3
Primary audience Established entrepreneurs selected on values and character rather than on business size. Technical founders, researchers and domain experts between things - the site's phrase is "-1 to 0" - who can commit full time and live in San Francisco, New York or Bengaluru.
Typical member The organization explicitly declines to use revenue, industry or business size as selection criteria, and instead curates for values. It cites member recognitions including Inc. 500 fastest-growing company rankings, a Glassdoor best-CEO listing and an Order of Canada award for philanthropy. The FAQ states that about 70 percent of members are founders who aspire to start a company and 30 percent are researchers and experts going deeper in new fields. Members are expected to be full-time; those holding a full-time job are generally not accepted, with rare exceptions for visa or vesting reasons. Applicants who want to leave or take a sabbatical from university or academia are considered.
Qualification
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction Must live in and work from San Francisco, New York City or BengaluruThe FAQ answers "Do I need to be located in SF, NYC, or Bangalore?" as yes; members are expected to work from SPC spaces through the week.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required Yes No
Sponsor required Sometimes No
Application process A four-step process: an eight-question application; a curation review that either advances the applicant or suggests other communities; a low-pressure exploration call to test alignment; and, after community feedback, a formal invitation to join a cohort. Cohorts open four times a year, and the site also carries a nomination route for existing members to put forward candidates. Applicants apply online to either the Member Residency or the Founder Fellowship. The organization says it reads every application and that applicants generally hear back within one to three weeks; those advancing are invited to an interview. Residency applications are accepted on a rolling basis year-round, while the Fellowship runs spring and autumn cohorts with application cut-offs and concentrated interview periods before each start.
Selectivity "Since 2013, more than 20,000 entrepreneurs from across the globe have applied to MMT" against a community "capped at 250 members annually", per the organization's homepage. The figures are self-reported and unaudited. Not publicly disclosed. SPC publishes active member and alumni counts but no application volume or acceptance rate.
Cost
Annual dues Not publicly disclosed. No MMT page publishes a membership fee; the site states only that a first-year membership includes one live experience, with additional gatherings available as optional add-ons.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $0 a year"Is there a membership fee? No, we do not charge fees or dues." The India page repeats that the six-month residency is at "No cost or equity".verified September 2026 · source ↗
Programme fee MMT publishes no price for membership or for its Global Gatherings. $0 one-timeThe six-month Member Residency carries no fee and no equity. The separate Founder Fellowship is an investment, not a fee: US$400,000 for 7 percent via a SAFE plus US$600,000 guaranteed in the next venture round.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Event costs Historic, third-party reported ticket prices for the annual MastermindTalks event, quoted in interviews and podcast write-ups as ranging from about US$7,500 to US$12,000 per seat in earlier years. These are event tickets under the former model, not the current membership fee, and could not be independently verified.verified September 2026 · source ↗ SPC does not sell membership. Its economics run through the SPC Fund, which the site says manages a US$575 million global pool and writes cheques from US$1 million to US$10 million.
Membership term Annual; the community is capped at 250 members a year Six-month Member Residency; Founder Fellowship recipients become lifetime members of the community
Structure
Meeting frequency Monthly member catch-ups, full-day remote gatherings every two months, MMThree trios every other month, plus in-person Global Gatherings and dinners Members work from SPC spaces through the week; peer accountability groups, learning forums, speaker series, workshops and roundtables run on an ongoing basis
Peer forums MMThree strategic-partnership groups of three meeting every other month, supported by an online forum; not a facilitated peer-advisory board Peer accountability groups and member-led learning forums rather than assigned confidential forums; Fellowship cohorts are kept small at roughly one partner per two companies, with no demo day
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Full time. The residency page states that "-1 to 0 isn't a side project. It's a full time endeavor."
Organized as Cohort-based, Event-focused, Virtual Clubhouse premises, Cohort-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Yes Yes
Local chapters No Yes
Virtual membership Yes No
Online community Yes Yes
Member directory Partial Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Partial
Retreats Yes No
Travel Partial No
Family programming Partial No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions Not documented Yes
Investment opportunities No Yes
Philanthropic component Partial No
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis High Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: MMT · South Park Commons