Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 11 material differences

The Metropolitan Club vs The Battery

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Private club

The Battery

The club says it exists "to play host to bright minds with big ideas"; its own copy describes a clubhouse for the curious rather than a professional or income band

What the records say

Side by side

The Metropolitan ClubThe Battery
Profile
Type Private club Private club
Founded 1891 (The club's own history dates its formation to a dinner meeting on 20 February 1891 at which the Articles of Affiliation were signed; J. Pierpont Morgan was the first president.) 2013 (Founded by Michael and Xochi Birch, the founders of the social network Bebo, in a converted building at 717 Battery Street in San Francisco.)
Headquarters New York, United States San Francisco, United States
Geographic footprint Single clubhouse at 1 East 60th Street, Manhattan A single clubhouse in San Francisco, with reciprocal access to more than 70 private clubs in 23 countries through the optional Battery Alliance
Members Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed
Chapters Single clubhouse; no chapters 1
Primary audience The club publishes no eligibility criteria; its own history describes the founders as men prominent in the civic, commercial, financial and social life of New York, and the club today presents itself simply as a private social club. The club says it exists "to play host to bright minds with big ideas"; its own copy describes a clubhouse for the curious rather than a professional or income band
Typical member Not publicly disclosed. The club's public site carries no membership section, no eligibility statement and no member statistics. The club publishes no occupational or wealth criteria. Its own materials emphasise conversation, cultural programming and collective giving through Battery Powered rather than industry or seniority.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining No published maximum age at joining Under 30 membership is "available to applicants under 30 years old"verified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction Out of Town membership is "available to members who don't have a home within a 100 mile drive of the club"Distance is expressed as a driving distance from the clubhouse.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required Not documented No
Sponsor required Not documented Yes
Application process The club publishes no application process. There is no membership page, application form or membership contact on the public website; enquiries would have to go through the club's general contact details or an existing member. The club sets out four steps: complete the online application form; obtain a nomination; attend an open house, described as "an afternoon at the club and a chance to meet both members and our team"; and then, on approval, receive a membership kit. The club states that "Membership is by introduction, and it begins with a conversation." Applicants choose between Member, Partner, Out of Town and Under 30 types, with The Battery Alliance available as an upgrade.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes no acceptance rate, waitlist size or member count.
Cost
Annual dues Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed. Separate rates exist for Member, Partner, Out of Town and Under 30, and the Battery Alliance upgrade is charged in addition, but no amounts are published.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed. The club's apply page lists membership types without prices and no figure appears in its Charter.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Not documented The Charter contains sections on Membership Duration and Membership Renewal; specific terms are not published, and Lifetime Membership classes exist alongside renewable membership
Structure
Meeting frequency No published meeting programme; the clubhouse operates daily for dining, accommodation and private events The clubhouse operates daily, with a member events calendar covering talks, tastings, music and social nights
Peer forums Not documented Not documented
Confidentiality Members and guests may not use mobile phones or laptops anywhere in the club except private event rooms and bedrooms, per the published house rules House rules ask members not to take, post or tag people in photos, and to put phones and laptops away in public areas during social hours
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Clubhouse premises, Event-focused Clubhouse premises, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No No
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership No No
Online community No Not documented
Member directory Not documented Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Not documented Yes
Leadership development No No
Retreats No No
Travel Partial Yes
Family programming Not documented Partial
Spouse and partner programming Not documented Yes
Next-generation programming Not documented No
Investment discussions No Not documented
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Not documented Yes
Networking emphasis Medium Medium
Social emphasis High High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: The Metropolitan Club · The Battery