Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 11 material differences

CREDA (formerly NAIOP) vs TMA

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

CREDA (formerly NAIOP)

Commercial real estate developers, owners, investors and asset managers, plus the professional and service firms that work with them

Verified September 2026
Professional association

TMA

Professionals working in corporate restructuring, turnaround and distressed business — turnaround practitioners, restructuring lawyers, lenders, investors, accountants, appraisers…

What the records say

Side by side

CREDA (formerly NAIOP)TMA
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1967 (Founded in 1967 as the National Association of Industrial Parks.) 1988
Headquarters Herndon, United States Chicago, United States
Geographic footprint Chapters across North America, including four in Canada (Calgary, Edmonton, Greater Toronto, Vancouver) 54 chapters worldwide, 34 of them in North America; international chapters across Europe, Asia, Latin America, Africa and Australia
Members 21,000as of September 2026 10,000as of September 2026
Chapters 54 54
Primary audience Commercial real estate developers, owners, investors and asset managers, plus the professional and service firms that work with them Professionals working in corporate restructuring, turnaround and distressed business — turnaround practitioners, restructuring lawyers, lenders, investors, accountants, appraisers and advisers
Typical member Membership is individual rather than corporate, though companies routinely pay for staff. CREDA's application form splits members into Principal members (people whose employer's primary business is development, ownership, asset management or investment) and Associate members (people at firms providing products and services to that industry), with further tiers for second, third and subsequent people from the same firm in the same chapter. TMA reports its membership as roughly 43% turnaround practitioners and advisers, 20% attorneys, 14% lenders and bankers, 3% investors and 20% other related professionals including receivers, appraisers, academics, government officials, judges and recruiters. Membership is individual only, not by firm.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining Developing Leaders membership is for professionals aged 35 and underCREDA states the Developing Leaders programme is "an exclusive program geared specifically for all professionals age 35 and under"; the 2023 application form required proof of age. Members who qualify are enrolled automatically if the association holds their date of birth.verified September 2026 · source ↗ NextGen membership is limited to new members aged 40 and under at the time of applicationAvailable for two years or until age 41, whichever comes firstverified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction Principal membership: employed by an organisation whose primary business is development, ownership, asset management or investmentDefinition taken from the association's own chapter membership application form (2023 edition).verified September 2026 · source ↗ Work in or around corporate restructuring, turnaround and distressed business — practitioners, attorneys, accountants, investors, lenders, venture capitalists, appraisers, liquidators, executive recruiters and consultantsTMA does not publish a formal eligibility test for professional membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Applicants complete an online membership application, selecting a membership type and a chapter, which together determine the dues. CREDA emails a confirmation or a request for supporting documentation, and new members get immediate access to association resources and their local chapter. Student, academic and public official categories require documentary proof. An individual joins through my.turnaround.org, choosing a membership category and a local chapter. Discounted categories — NextGen, government or academic, and student — require verification and are subject to approval. Membership runs for twelve months from enrolment on an individual anniversary cycle.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed; the published process is open application with eligibility determined by the applicant's type of employment rather than by selection. Not publicly disclosed — membership is open to professionals in the field; only the discounted categories are described as subject to approval
Cost
Annual dues $875–1,250 a yearFull member (first person from a firm), whether Principal or Associate. Range across three of the association's own 2023 chapter application forms: Chicago $875, New York City $1,030, Washington $1,250. CREDA does not publish a national rate; dues are set chapter by chapter.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $475 a yearProfessional membership; includes membership of the member's local chapterverified September 2026 · source ↗
Local chapter dues $490–725 a yearAffiliate member (second and third person from the same firm in the same chapter): Chicago $490, New York City $630, Washington $725, per the 2023 chapter application forms.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No separate chapter dues for professional members — local chapter membership is included in the professional rateverified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term 12 months from joining; the 2023 application form states dues cover 12 months of membership 12 months from enrolment, on an individual anniversary cycle
Structure
Meeting frequency Chapter events year-round plus national conferences; Developing Leaders programming at chapter and national level Local chapter programmes through the year plus TMA Annual, regional symposia and other conferences
Peer forums Chapter committees and the Developing Leaders programme; no confidential peer forum structure is published No confidential peer forums; members organise through chapters, committees and volunteer groups
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed Could not be independently verified — no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused Chapter-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Partial No
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Partial No
Online community Partial Partial
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Partial
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming Yes Yes
Investment discussions Yes Partial
Investment opportunities No Partial
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: CREDA (formerly NAIOP) · TMA