Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 7 material differences

Petroleum Club of Houston vs The Rainier Club

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Private club

Petroleum Club of Houston

The club says it is "open to men and woman of all industries" and describes a membership that includes energy industry professionals, medical, legal and business professionals…

Verified September 2026
Private club

The Rainier Club

The club describes its members as founders, freelancers, entrepreneurs and executives, and markets separate tiers to residents of the Seattle area, to people under 40, and to…

What the records say

Side by side

Petroleum Club of HoustonThe Rainier Club
Profile
Type Private club Private club
Founded 1946 (The club's history page dates the founders' efforts to 31 January 1946, crediting Wilbur Ginther, Howard C. Warren and Harris Underwood; the clubhouse itself opened on 15 December 1951 atop the Rice Hotel.) 1888 (The club describes itself as "a storied social club since 1888" and as Seattle's oldest private social club. Secondary accounts date the founding meeting to 25 July 1888, following a proposal on 23 February 1888.)
Headquarters Houston, United States Seattle, United States
Geographic footprint Single clubhouse on the 35th floor of Total Plaza, 1201 Louisiana Street, downtown Houston Single clubhouse at 820 4th Avenue in downtown Seattle
Members Not publicly disclosed by the club. Wikipedia gives approximately 1,200 members as of November 2014; that figure is more than a decade old and has not been independently verified. Not publicly disclosed
Chapters Single clubhouse; no chapters Single clubhouse; no chapters
Primary audience The club says it is "open to men and woman of all industries" and describes a membership that includes energy industry professionals, medical, legal and business professionals, professional women and young professionals. The club describes its members as founders, freelancers, entrepreneurs and executives, and markets separate tiers to residents of the Seattle area, to people under 40, and to non-residents living and working more than 50 miles from the club.
Typical member Members range from energy industry professionals -- the club's founding constituency -- to lawyers, doctors and other business professionals. Membership categories are age-banded, with Junior members under 40, Active members 40 to 64 and Senior members 65 and over. Members are Seattle-area business, professional and civic people, with a distinct under-40 tier and a non-resident tier. The club publishes no membership total or occupational breakdown.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining Junior membership is available to applicants under 40 years of ageOn reaching 40 a Junior member is entitled as of right to Active membership on paying the balance of the then-current Active initiation or transfer fee; all Junior members are enrolled in the Young Professionals' Associationverified September 2026 · source ↗ Under 40 Membership is for members aged 18 to 39A separate resident tier applies from age 40verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum age All published membership categories start at age 21Junior membership covers ages 21-39; Non-Resident, Clergy, Diplomat, MBA/Graduate and Legacy categories are open from 21verified September 2026 · source ↗ Resident Membership is for members aged 40 and overMembers aged 18 to 39 join the Under 40 tier at a lower rateverified September 2026 · source ↗
Accredited-investor status Applicants authorise a consumer background report from Associated Services Employment Check and supply a Social Security number, date of birth and seven years of address historyThe authorisation remains on file for the duration of the membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published accredited-investor status
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction Non-Resident Membership requires living and working outside a 50-mile radius of the clubNon-resident members receive a complimentary Palmer Advantage golf and travel membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No Not documented
Application process Applicants download the club's application PDF and submit it with a background form and a payment form (ACH or credit card). The application goes to the Membership Committee and the Board of Directors, which meet twice a month; the initiation fee is processed only once both approve. The club states the approval process can take less than four weeks. An online membership inquiry form is also available. Prospective members schedule a clubhouse tour through the club's website or membership office and are then quoted the published tier rate for their age and location. The club does not publish a sponsorship, proposal or ballot requirement, nor a review committee.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes no acceptance rate or waiting-list information, and describes an approval process that can complete in under four weeks. Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes prices and tiers but no acceptance criteria, waiting list or approval process.
Cost
Monthly dues $191–322 a monthPublished schedule: $322 for Active and Premier/Secondary Active company members; $191 for Junior, Senior, Non-Resident, Clergy and Diplomat. Legacy $191-$322. The schedule labels the column simply Dues; the application text refers to monthly membership dues. Subject to 8.25% taxverified September 2026 · source ↗ $575 a monthResident Membership, age 40 and oververified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee $500–7,500 one-timePublished schedule (application dated 12 July 2024): Active 40-64 $5,000; Junior 21-39 $2,000; Senior 65-89 $2,000; Non-Resident $1,500; Clergy $500; Diplomat $500; MBA/Graduate none; Legacy none (assessment fee instead). Company accounts: Premier Active $7,500, Secondary Active $4,000, Secondary Junior/Senior $1,500. All initiation fees are subject to 8.25% taxverified September 2026 · source ↗ $4,000 one-timeResident Membership, age 40 and over. No-APR financing of the initiation fee is available for up to one year under contract, with conditions.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Ongoing with monthly dues; the MBA/Law/Medical/Graduate category waives dues for twelve months from approval and then rolls automatically into a dues-paying account unless the member gives 30 days' notice Monthly dues for resident and under-40 members; quarterly dues for non-resident members
Structure
Meeting frequency Continuous clubhouse operation with member social events, networking events and family events through the year; the Petroleum Club Dance Club holds three ballroom dances a year More than 400 member and signature events a year; clubhouse and gym accessible 24 hours
Peer forums Committees (Food and Entertainment, Wine, Membership and others) plus three associations: the Young Professionals' Association, the Ladies' Association and the Petroleum Club Dance Club Not documented
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Clubhouse premises, Event-focused Clubhouse premises, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No No
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership No No
Online community No No
Member directory Not documented Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Partial Partial
Leadership development Partial Partial
Retreats No No
Travel Yes Yes
Family programming Yes Not documented
Spouse and partner programming Yes Yes
Next-generation programming Yes Yes
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Yes Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis High High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Petroleum Club of Houston · The Rainier Club