Comparaison · 18 différences notables
Petroleum Club of Houston vs The Groucho Club
Cette comparaison a été générée à la demande à partir des données. Elle ne comporte aucun avis éditorial et n'est pas indexée. Les comparaisons publiées sont listées sur la page de comparaison.
Lisez chaque colonne pour une organisation, chaque ligne pour les différences. Un repère bronze à gauche d'une cellule indique que les organisations diffèrent sur cette ligne. Un tiret ou « non publié » signifie que l'organisation ne divulgue pas l'information ; ce n'est pas un zéro.
Petroleum Club of Houston
The club says it is "open to men and woman of all industries" and describes a membership that includes energy industry professionals, medical, legal and business professionals…
The Groucho Club
Not stated in the club's own words on its public pages. Wikipedia records that the club favours applicants from creative media and the arts, the constituency it was founded to…
Ce qu'indiquent les données
- Maximum age at joining: Petroleum Club of Houston: Junior membership is available to applicants under 40 years of age; The Groucho Club: Under 35 rate band, described as "Age 35 and Under".
- Minimum age: Petroleum Club of Houston: All published membership categories start at age 21; The Groucho Club: No published minimum age.
- Accredited-investor status: Petroleum Club of Houston: Applicants authorise a consumer background report from Associated Services Employment Check and supply a Social Security number, date of birth and seven years of address history; The Groucho Club: No published accredited-investor status.
- Geographic restriction: Petroleum Club of Houston: No published geographic restriction; The Groucho Club: Country and Overseas rates require the member to live outside London.
- Annual dues: Petroleum Club of Houston: Fees come from the membership-categories page of the club's own application PDF, dated 12 July 2024. Members also pay $15 for valet parking against a standard $25 building rate, and a 3.5% convenience fee applies to credit-card payments.; The Groucho Club: £1,500 a year.
Côte à côte
| Petroleum Club of Houston | The Groucho Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Profil | ||
| Type | Private club | Private club |
| Fondé | 1946 (The club's history page dates the founders' efforts to 31 January 1946, crediting Wilbur Ginther, Howard C. Warren and Harris Underwood; the clubhouse itself opened on 15 December 1951 atop the Rice Hotel.) | 1985 (Opened on 5 May 1985 at 45 Dean Street, Soho; named after Groucho Marx's remark about not wanting to belong to a club that would have him as a member) |
| Siège social | Houston, United States | London, United Kingdom |
| Geographic footprint | Single clubhouse on the 35th floor of Total Plaza, 1201 Louisiana Street, downtown Houston | One clubhouse at 45 Dean Street, Soho, London; a second site at Bretton Hall in Yorkshire was announced in March 2024 |
| Membres | Not publicly disclosed by the club. Wikipedia gives approximately 1,200 members as of November 2014; that figure is more than a decade old and has not been independently verified. | Not publicly disclosed |
| Chapitres | Single clubhouse; no chapters | 1 |
| Primary audience | The club says it is "open to men and woman of all industries" and describes a membership that includes energy industry professionals, medical, legal and business professionals, professional women and young professionals. | Not stated in the club's own words on its public pages. Wikipedia records that the club favours applicants from creative media and the arts, the constituency it was founded to serve. |
| Membre type | Members range from energy industry professionals -- the club's founding constituency -- to lawyers, doctors and other business professionals. Membership categories are age-banded, with Junior members under 40, Active members 40 to 64 and Senior members 65 and over. | Historically writers, publishers, broadcasters, musicians and artists. The club publishes no occupational test on its public pages. |
| Qualification | ||
| Âge maximum à l'adhésion | Junior membership is available to applicants under 40 years of ageOn reaching 40 a Junior member is entitled as of right to Active membership on paying the balance of the then-current Active initiation or transfer fee; all Junior members are enrolled in the Young Professionals' Associationverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Under 35 rate band, described as "Age 35 and Under"Members aged 36 and over pay the London rateverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Âge minimum | All published membership categories start at age 21Junior membership covers ages 21-39; Non-Resident, Clergy, Diplomat, MBA/Graduate and Legacy categories are open from 21verified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published minimum age |
| Statut d'investisseur accrédité | Applicants authorise a consumer background report from Associated Services Employment Check and supply a Social Security number, date of birth and seven years of address historyThe authorisation remains on file for the duration of the membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published accredited-investor status |
| Restriction géographique | No published geographic restriction | Country and Overseas rates require the member to live outside LondonThe portal labels the band "COUNTRY | OVERSEAS (Must live outside of London)"verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Restriction sectorielle | No published industry restriction | Applicants from creative media and the arts are favouredRecorded by Wikipedia; not stated by the club on its public pagesverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | No | Yes |
| Application process | Applicants download the club's application PDF and submit it with a background form and a payment form (ACH or credit card). The application goes to the Membership Committee and the Board of Directors, which meet twice a month; the initiation fee is processed only once both approve. The club states the approval process can take less than four weeks. An online membership inquiry form is also available. | The club's homepage offers "Apply for Membership" and "Register Interest" routes; the application portal at apply.thegrouchoclub.com asks the applicant to select one of four rate bands and proceed. Wikipedia records a requirement for two existing members to propose an applicant. The club publishes no committee, interview or timescale detail. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes no acceptance rate or waiting-list information, and describes an approval process that can complete in under four weeks. | Not publicly disclosed |
| Coût | ||
| Cotisations annuelles | Fees come from the membership-categories page of the club's own application PDF, dated 12 July 2024. Members also pay $15 for valet parking against a standard $25 building rate, and a 3.5% convenience fee applies to credit-card payments. | £1,500 a yearLondon membership (age 36 and over): "Annual Rate: £1,500", or £125 per monthverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Cotisations mensuelles | $191–322 a monthPublished schedule: $322 for Active and Premier/Secondary Active company members; $191 for Junior, Senior, Non-Resident, Clergy and Diplomat. Legacy $191-$322. The schedule labels the column simply Dues; the application text refers to monthly membership dues. Subject to 8.25% taxverified September 2026 · source ↗ | £73–125 a monthMonthly payment option across the four bands, from £73.33 (Under 35 and Overseas) to £125 (London)verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Droit d'entrée | $500–7,500 one-timePublished schedule (application dated 12 July 2024): Active 40-64 $5,000; Junior 21-39 $2,000; Senior 65-89 $2,000; Non-Resident $1,500; Clergy $500; Diplomat $500; MBA/Graduate none; Legacy none (assessment fee instead). Company accounts: Premier Active $7,500, Secondary Active $4,000, Secondary Junior/Senior $1,500. All initiation fees are subject to 8.25% taxverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee appears on the club's application portalverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Ongoing with monthly dues; the MBA/Law/Medical/Graduate category waives dues for twelve months from approval and then rolls automatically into a dues-paying account unless the member gives 30 days' notice | Annual, with a monthly payment option |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Continuous clubhouse operation with member social events, networking events and family events through the year; the Petroleum Club Dance Club holds three ballroom dances a year | Clubhouse open daily; member events and private event hire |
| Peer forums | Committees (Food and Entertainment, Wine, Membership and others) plus three associations: the Young Professionals' Association, the Ladies' Association and the Petroleum Club Dance Club | Not documented |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed | Under conditions agreed with the Metropolitan Police in December 2024 the club tightened procedures on the admission of members and guests and the recording of who is on the premises |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Clubhouse premises, Event-focused | Clubhouse premises, Event-focused |
| Forums confidentiels entre pairs | No | No |
| Sections locales | No | No |
| Adhésion virtuelle | No | No |
| Communauté en ligne | No | Not documented |
| Annuaire des membres | Not documented | Not documented |
| Événements | Yes | Yes |
| Programmation | ||
| Programmation éducative | Partial | No |
| Développement du leadership | Partial | No |
| Séminaires résidentiels | No | No |
| Voyage | Yes | No |
| Programmation familiale | Yes | No |
| Programmes pour conjoints et partenaires | Yes | No |
| Programmation pour la nouvelle génération | Yes | No |
| Discussions sur les investissements | No | No |
| Opportunités d'investissement | No | No |
| Volet philanthropique | Yes | Not documented |
| Accent mis sur le réseautage | High | Medium |
| Dimension sociale | High | High |
Suivant
Sources
Tiré des sources indiquées sur chaque page: Petroleum Club of Houston · The Groucho Club