Comparaison · 11 différences notables
PREA vs TMA
Cette comparaison a été générée à la demande à partir des données. Elle ne comporte aucun avis éditorial et n'est pas indexée. Les comparaisons publiées sont listées sur la page de comparaison.
Lisez chaque colonne pour une organisation, chaque ligne pour les différences. Un repère bronze à gauche d'une cellule indique que les organisations diffèrent sur cette ligne. Un tiret ou « non publié » signifie que l'organisation ne divulgue pas l'information ; ce n'est pas un zéro.
PREA
Institutional investors in real estate (public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurers and family offices) together with the investment managers, advisers…
TMA
Professionals working in corporate restructuring, turnaround and distressed business: turnaround practitioners, restructuring lawyers, lenders, investors, accountants, appraisers…
Ce qu'indiquent les données
- Maximum age at joining: PREA: No published maximum age at joining; TMA: NextGen membership is limited to new members aged 40 and under at the time of application.
- Industry restriction: PREA: Corporate membership: organisations providing investment management, advisory, consulting, property management, legal, accounting, appraisal or other services to institutional investors, including REITs and real estate operating companies; TMA: Work in or around corporate restructuring, turnaround and distressed business: practitioners, attorneys, accountants, investors, lenders, venture capitalists, appraisers, liquidators, executive recruiters and consultants.
- Annual dues: PREA: $9,995 a year; TMA: $475 a year.
Côte à côte
| PREA | TMA | |
|---|---|---|
| Profil | ||
| Type | Professional association | Professional association |
| Fondé | 1979 | 1988 |
| Siège social | Hartford, United States | Chicago, United States |
| Geographic footprint | Primarily North America, with international institutional investor and manager firms among members; PREA runs conferences in the United States and abroad | 54 chapters worldwide, 34 of them in North America; international chapters across Europe, Asia, Latin America, Africa and Australia |
| Membres | 700as of September 2026 | 10,000as of September 2026 |
| Chapitres | No chapters; PREA operates as a single association with a conference and research programme. | 54 |
| Primary audience | Institutional investors in real estate (public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurers and family offices) together with the investment managers, advisers and service firms that work with them | Professionals working in corporate restructuring, turnaround and distressed business: turnaround practitioners, restructuring lawyers, lenders, investors, accountants, appraisers and advisers |
| Membre type | PREA's membership is organisational. Its own description covers public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurance companies, investment advisory firms, REITs, developers, real estate operating companies and industry service providers. The dues structure separates institutional investors, defined as organisations investing predominantly for their own account, from corporate members selling services to them. | TMA reports its membership as roughly 43% turnaround practitioners and advisers, 20% attorneys, 14% lenders and bankers, 3% investors and 20% other related professionals including receivers, appraisers, academics, government officials, judges and recruiters. Membership is individual only, not by firm. |
| Qualification | ||
| Âge maximum à l'adhésion | No published maximum age at joining | NextGen membership is limited to new members aged 40 and under at the time of applicationAvailable for two years or until age 41, whichever comes firstverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Restriction sectorielle | Corporate membership: organisations providing investment management, advisory, consulting, property management, legal, accounting, appraisal or other services to institutional investors, including REITs and real estate operating companiesverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Work in or around corporate restructuring, turnaround and distressed business: practitioners, attorneys, accountants, investors, lenders, venture capitalists, appraisers, liquidators, executive recruiters and consultantsTMA does not publish a formal eligibility test for professional membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | Not documented | No |
| Application process | Applicants apply online, logging in first if they already hold a PREA account. Applications are reviewed before member-only access is activated; once approved and paid, access is granted the same business day. | An individual joins through my.turnaround.org, choosing a membership category and a local chapter. Discounted categories (NextGen, government or academic, and student) require verification and are subject to approval. Membership runs for twelve months from enrolment on an individual anniversary cycle. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed. PREA states applications are reviewed but publishes no criteria beyond the category eligibility tests and no acceptance rate. | Not publicly disclosed: membership is open to professionals in the field; only the discounted categories are described as subject to approval |
| Coût | ||
| Cotisations annuelles | $9,995 a yearFull Corporate membership: unlimited company representativesverified September 2026 · source ↗ | $475 a yearProfessional membership; includes membership of the member's local chapterverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Droit d'entrée | Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee appears alongside the published dues.verified September 2026 | TMA publishes two conflicting dues schedules on different pages; the Join & Benefits figures above are the ones consistent with its current chapter count. |
| Cotisations de section locale | Dues are charged to the member organisation, not per individual. First-year billing covers the full calendar year and a prorated credit is issued in year two. | No separate chapter dues for professional members: local chapter membership is included in the professional rateverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Calendar year; first-year billing covers the full calendar year with a prorated credit in year two | 12 months from enrolment, on an individual anniversary cycle |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Conference programme through the year plus research and publications | Local chapter programmes through the year plus TMA Annual, regional symposia and other conferences |
| Peer forums | No confidential peer forum structure is published | No confidential peer forums; members organise through chapters, committees and volunteer groups |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed | Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Event-focused | Chapter-based, Event-focused |
| Forums confidentiels entre pairs | No | No |
| Sections locales | No | Yes |
| Adhésion virtuelle | No | No |
| Communauté en ligne | Partial | Partial |
| Annuaire des membres | Yes | Yes |
| Événements | Yes | Yes |
| Programmation | ||
| Programmation éducative | Yes | Yes |
| Développement du leadership | No | Partial |
| Séminaires résidentiels | No | No |
| Voyage | No | No |
| Programmation familiale | No | No |
| Programmes pour conjoints et partenaires | Not documented | No |
| Programmation pour la nouvelle génération | Not documented | Yes |
| Discussions sur les investissements | Yes | Partial |
| Opportunités d'investissement | Partial | Partial |
| Volet philanthropique | No | No |
| Accent mis sur le réseautage | High | High |
| Dimension sociale | Low | Medium |