Comparison · 7 material differences
REIN vs REAPS
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
REIN
Canadian real estate investors, from beginners through to experienced portfolio owners and joint-venture money partners
REAPS
Private real estate investors in the Puget Sound region, from beginners to experienced operators, plus service businesses selling to them
What the records say
- Geographic restriction: REIN: Oriented to Canadian real estate investors and Canadian market research; REAPS: Puget Sound region for in-person membership; online-only membership is available without attending in person.
- Annual dues: REIN: C$2,395 a year; REAPS: $249 a year.
Side by side
| REIN | REAPS | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Investment community | Investment community |
| Founded | 1992 (Founded in Vancouver in 1992 per REIN's own About page.) | 1983 |
| Headquarters | Vancouver, Canada | Bellevue, United States |
| Geographic footprint | Canada; founded in Vancouver and expanded to Toronto, Calgary, Edmonton, Ottawa and Kelowna, with national research coverage delivered online | Greater Seattle and the Puget Sound region, with monthly meetings in Mercer Island, Fife, Everett, Bremerton and Bellingham and a commercial real estate group in Bellevue |
| Members | Not publicly disclosed as a current membership figure. REIN states that more than 153,000 clients and members have been guided by the organisation over its history and that members have transacted more than 43,000 properties worth more than $5.4bn: cumulative claims, not a current headcount, and not independently verified. | Not publicly disclosed. REAPS describes itself as the largest real estate investor association in Washington State but publishes no membership figure. |
| Chapters | No chapters. REIN describes a community expanded from Vancouver to five other Canadian cities and delivers programming through events and online access rather than through chartered chapters. | A single regional association rather than a chaptered body; it runs recurring meetings in several Puget Sound locations. REAPS is itself the Washington State affiliate of National REIA. |
| Primary audience | Canadian real estate investors, from beginners through to experienced portfolio owners and joint-venture money partners | Private real estate investors in the Puget Sound region, from beginners to experienced operators, plus service businesses selling to them |
| Typical member | Members are individual Canadian real estate investors at a range of experience levels. REIN also maintains a paid "Faculty" of lawyers, accountants, realtors, mortgage brokers and other service professionals who work with members. | Members are individual real estate investors (flippers, wholesalers, buy-and-hold landlords, lenders, short-term rental operators) at a range of experience levels, alongside business members such as contractors, lenders and property managers who buy the paid business tiers. |
| Qualification | ||
| Geographic restriction | Oriented to Canadian real estate investors and Canadian market researchREIN describes itself as a source of Canada-specific strategies and support.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Puget Sound region for in-person membership; online-only membership is available without attending in personverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | No | No |
| Application process | Membership is purchased directly through REIN's membership portal by choosing a tier, or by calling a membership specialist. There is no published application, sponsorship or review stage. | Membership is bought online from the REAPS site by selecting a level; there is no application, sponsor or review stage in the published process. Prospective members are invited to register through the events calendar and attend one main monthly meeting free before joining. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed; the published route is open paid subscription. | Not publicly disclosed; the published route is open paid enrolment. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | C$2,395 a yearAll Access membership, yearly. The pricing page shows dollar figures without naming the currency; REIN is a Canadian organisation, so these are recorded as Canadian dollars.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $249 a yearIndividual membership, annual planverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Monthly dues | C$250 a monthAll Access membership, monthlyverified September 2026 · source ↗ | $29 a monthIndividual membership, monthly planverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | REIN's membership portal lists four prices with no published statement of what each tier includes; the difference between All Access, Associate Access and Digital Access could not be established from public pages. | Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee is listed alongside the published dues.verified September 2026 |
| Programme fee | Not publicly disclosed. REIN sells courses such as Real Estate Investing in Canada and a capital-raising programme; their prices were not published on the pages read.verified September 2026 | Not publicly disclosed |
| Event costs | REIN's membership portal lists four prices with no published statement of what each tier includes; the difference between All Access, Associate Access and Digital Access could not be established from public pages. | $0 one-timeMembers attend more than 50 live events a year free; first-time visitors may attend one main monthly meeting free as a guestverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Yearly, or monthly on the All Access plan; no contract term is published | Annual or monthly, depending on the plan chosen |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Events through a published calendar plus recurring webinars | More than 50 live events a year, including monthly meetings in Mercer Island, Fife, Everett, Bremerton and Bellingham and a commercial group in Bellevue |
| Peer forums | An online member community and events; no confidential facilitated peer forum is published | Member forum online plus subject-specific learning groups; no confidential facilitated peer forum is published |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Event-focused, Virtual, Cohort-based | Event-focused, Virtual |
| Confidential peer forums | Partial | Partial |
| Local chapters | No | No |
| Virtual membership | Yes | Yes |
| Online community | Yes | Yes |
| Member directory | Partial | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | No | No |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | No |
| Family programming | No | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | Partial |
| Next-generation programming | No | No |
| Investment discussions | Yes | Yes |
| Investment opportunities | Partial | Partial |
| Philanthropic component | No | No |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Low | Medium |