Comparison · 10 material differences
The Real Estate Roundtable vs The Business Council
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
The Real Estate Roundtable
Chairs, presidents and chief executives of the largest US real estate ownership, development, lending and management firms, plus the elected heads of national real estate trade…
The Business Council
Sitting chief executives of leading multinational companies
What the records say
- Role or title: The Real Estate Roundtable: Roundtable membership: chairman, CEO, president or managing director (or functional equivalent) of a national, market-leading real estate entity, or the elected head of a major real estate trade association; The Business Council: Chief executive officer of a leading multinational business.
- Geographic restriction: The Real Estate Roundtable: United States; The Business Council: No published geographic restriction.
- Annual dues: The Real Estate Roundtable: Not publicly disclosed; The Business Council: Not publicly disclosed.
Side by side
| The Real Estate Roundtable | The Business Council | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Invitation-only community | Invitation-only community |
| Founded | 1999 (Formed in 1999, when the National Realty Committee became The Real Estate Roundtable, per Wikipedia. The underlying legal entity, Real Estate Roundtable Inc, carries an IRS ruling date of October 1978.) | 1933 ("Originally convened in 1933 to advise the executive branch of the U.S. Government"; it began life as the Business Advisory Council attached to the Department of Commerce and later separated from government.) |
| Headquarters | Washington, United States | Washington, United States |
| Geographic footprint | United States; a single Washington DC-based national body with no chapters | Based in Washington, D.C.; membership is drawn from chief executives of leading multinational businesses, including some headquartered outside the United States |
| Members | Not publicly disclosed. The Roundtable's member roster is behind a member login. Wikipedia states each of the two membership tiers is capped at 100 members, which would imply an upper bound of about 200, but the Roundtable itself publishes no figure. It does say its 18 national trade association partners represent more than one million people. | 250as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | No chapters; the Roundtable operates as a single national organisation meeting in Washington DC. | No chapters; the Council convenes as a single body at three meetings a year |
| Primary audience | Chairs, presidents and chief executives of the largest US real estate ownership, development, lending and management firms, plus the elected heads of national real estate trade associations | Sitting chief executives of leading multinational companies |
| Typical member | The Roundtable publishes a breakdown of its membership as 67 percent owners, 20 percent financial services, 3 percent asset managers and 10 percent real estate trade organisations. It states that members collectively manage more than 12 billion square feet of commercial space and more than four million apartments. | Active members are serving chief executives of large multinational businesses, selected as individuals rather than as company representatives. Members who leave the chief executive role move to a graduate-member category. The published lists include chief executives of major US public companies alongside a smaller number of non-US companies. |
| Qualification | ||
| Role or title | Roundtable membership: chairman, CEO, president or managing director (or functional equivalent) of a national, market-leading real estate entity, or the elected head of a major real estate trade associationRoundtable members attend four Washington meetings a year.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Chief executive officer of a leading multinational business"limited to 250 active members, each of whom is selected on the basis of personal qualities and position as the chief executive officer of a leading multinational business."verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Geographic restriction | United StatesThe organisation is the public policy advocate for the US commercial real estate industry and meets in Washington DC.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published geographic restriction |
| Invitation required | Yes | Yes |
| Sponsor required | Not documented | Yes |
| Application process | There is no open application. The organisation describes itself as invitation-only and directs interested parties to a membership inquiry form; eligibility turns on the applicant's role and the scale of their firm. Nothing is published about who nominates, how candidates are reviewed, or how long the process takes. | There is no application. Members invite peers, and candidates are selected on the basis of personal qualities and their position as chief executive of a leading multinational business. The public site offers only a contact form for those wanting to learn more. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed. No acceptance rate is published and the member roster is restricted to members. | Active membership is capped at 250. No acceptance rate, candidate volume or selection procedure is published. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 |
| Initiation fee | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 | No dues or meeting fees are published; the Council's public site directs prospective enquiries to a contact form only. |
| Event costs | The Roundtable publishes no dues figures. Its 2024 IRS Form 990 reports total revenue of about $8.0m, but the filing summary available does not break that down per member. | Not publicly disclosed. The Council holds three meetings a year but publishes no attendance cost.verified September 2026 |
| Membership term | Not documented | Active membership runs while the member serves as a chief executive; on leaving that role members move to the graduate-member category |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Four Washington DC meetings a year for Roundtable members; two a year for President's Council members | Three meetings a year |
| Peer forums | Policy committees (tax, capital and credit, energy, homeland security, sustainability) rather than peer forums | Whole-membership meetings with panels, interviews and presentations; no standing small groups are described |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed; committee rosters and the member roster are restricted to logged-in members | The Council describes its meetings as taking place in an "intimate and safe environment"; no written confidentiality policy is published |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Event-focused | Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | No | Yes |
| Local chapters | No | No |
| Virtual membership | No | No |
| Online community | Partial | Partial |
| Member directory | Yes | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Partial | Yes |
| Leadership development | No | Partial |
| Retreats | No | Yes |
| Travel | No | No |
| Family programming | No | Not documented |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | Not documented |
| Next-generation programming | No | No |
| Investment discussions | Partial | Not documented |
| Investment opportunities | No | No |
| Philanthropic component | No | No |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Low | Medium |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: The Real Estate Roundtable · The Business Council