Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 22 material differences

Resource Generation vs YPO

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Philanthropic network

Resource Generation

People aged 18 to 35 in the United States who have access to wealth or class privilege placing them in the top 10 per cent by net wealth or income, and who want to redistribute…

Verified September 2026
Peer advisory

YPO

Chief executives who joined before their 45th birthday and lead companies that meet YPO's published employee and revenue tests.

What the records say

Side by side

Resource GenerationYPO
Profile
Type Philanthropic network Peer advisory
Founded 1997 (Resource Generation traces its origins to a 1995 gathering of New England donors and activists that became a collaborative in 1996. It was established as Comfort Zone in 1997 and formally renamed Resource Generation in 2000, with an office in Cambridge. It operated under fiscal sponsorship for 17 years before becoming an independent 501(c)(3) in 2015.) 1950 (Founded by Ray Hickok, then 27 and running his family's manufacturing business in Rochester, New York; the first meeting was held at the Waldorf Astoria in New York.)
Headquarters United States Irving, United States
Geographic footprint United States, with more than 18 local chapters; the published chapter list names 21 cities and states from Maine to Los Angeles Organised into 14 regions; members in more than 142 countries
Members 1,100as of September 2026 38,000as of September 2026
Chapters 18 450
Primary audience People aged 18 to 35 in the United States who have access to wealth or class privilege placing them in the top 10 per cent by net wealth or income, and who want to redistribute rather than grow that wealth Chief executives who joined before their 45th birthday and lead companies that meet YPO's published employee and revenue tests.
Typical member Members are young people with inherited or earned wealth in the top decile of the US economy. Qualification runs through personal income at roughly the 90th percentile for the member's state (around $105,000 nationally, ranging from about $82,000 to $248,000 by cost of living), significant personal net financial assets, or family wealth — family net wealth of $1 million or more, parental income in the top decile, or ownership of a family foundation. A high net wealth designation covers the top 1 per cent: $1 million or more in liquid assets, an anticipated inheritance of $5 million, or family net wealth of $10 million or more. Members are the top operating executive of their company or division, with full profit-and-loss accountability and hire/fire authority. Qualifying companies are mid-market and larger: at least 50 full-time employees, or 15 employees plus USD 2.75 million of annual employee compensation, with revenue tests from USD 13 million upward depending on business type.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining The core constituency is 18 to 35 year olds; members over 35 move to the Alumni trackverified September 2026 · source ↗ Under 45 years old at acceptanceMembers who reach the age limit transition to YPO Gold; a YPO membership-renewal FAQ document states members over 45 with at least 10 years of membership may remain, and that from 1 July 2018 members could early-transition to Gold at 48 after six complete fiscal years. That document dates from 2018 and may no longer be current.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum age Constituent and Stepping Stone membership are for people aged 18 to 35; an Alumni track exists for those 36 and overRG states that people aged 18 to 35 with wealth and class privilege are at a pivotal stage for making a lifelong commitment to social movements.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum age
Role or title No published role or title President, CEO or Chairperson of the Board (or equivalent), and top operational leader of the company or divisionRequires final decision-making authority, full P&L accountability, authority to hire and fire across the company or division, and leadership across core business functions.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company revenue No published minimum company revenue USD 16,000,000+ revenue for sales, service and manufacturing companiesOne of several alternative company tests.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum employees No published minimum employees 50+ full-time employees, or 15+ full-time employees with at least USD 2,750,000 annual employee compensationverified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company valuation No published minimum company valuation USD 27,000,000+ enterprise valueAlternative to the revenue tests.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum net worth Family net wealth of $1 million or more is one of the qualifying tests for access to wealthAlternatives include a parent's income in the top 90th percentile (median around $185,000 for ages 45–65), ownership of a family foundation, or, internationally, $1 million or more in land value, major business interests, or ruling-elite status.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum net worth
Geographic restriction United StatesRG organises young people with access to wealth in the US; its criteria include an international variant for family wealth held abroad.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published geographic restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No Not documented
Application process Prospective members complete an online intake form, choose the membership track matching their age and access to wealth, pay dues and are connected to a local chapter. There is no vetting committee, sponsorship requirement or interview described; the qualification is self-assessed against RG's published wealth and income percentile thresholds, and the site links to external percentile calculators. Applications are submitted through YPO's online form in five steps (contact information, requirements, personal details, company details, and terms and fees) and are then reviewed. Candidates are assessed against the published age, title, employee and company-size tests, and are admitted into a specific chapter.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed — RG publishes detailed qualification thresholds but no screening or acceptance process. The tests are self-applied. Not publicly disclosed
Cost
Annual dues $500 a yearStandard baseline constituent membership dues are $500 a year. RG asks all members, including alumni, to contribute 5 to 10 per cent of their overall annual giving as dues, so members who give more pay more; those for whom $500 is prohibitive may select "other" and pay the percentage instead.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $4,790 a yearInternational dues; "pro-rated annual dues (USD 4,790)" on joining, with renewal dues payable on 1 June. Chapter dues are additional.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee No joining fee is published.verified September 2026 $4,790 one-time"One-time initiation fee of USD 4,790.00" stated on YPO's own membership application page.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Local chapter dues Dues are framed as a share of a member's total giving (5 to 10 per cent) with a $500 baseline, rather than a flat price for services. RG states it is more than 95 per cent member-funded so that it does not compete for grants with grassroots organisations. Not publicly disclosed. Chapter dues are set by each chapter and are additional to international dues; YPO publishes no global schedule. Individual chapter pages surfaced in search list figures in the roughly USD 4,000-6,000 range, but these are not centrally published and vary widely by city.verified September 2026
Membership term Annual Annual; international renewal dues payable on 1 June
Structure
Meeting frequency Chapter organising through the year, all-member programming, webinars and calls, plus national conferences and campaigns Forum meetings within the chapter, chapter events, and regional and global events through the year
Peer forums Local chapters are the primary unit, supported by chapter and interest-specific listservs. A National Member Council, open to any member, shapes organisational strategy. No confidential facilitated peer-forum structure is published. Members are placed in a forum within their chapter. YPO does not publish a standard forum size on its public pages.
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed Forum discussion is conducted under confidentiality norms; YPO does not publish the text of its confidentiality rules publicly.
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual Chapter-based, Forum-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Partial Yes
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Yes No
Online community Yes Yes
Member directory Partial Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats Yes Yes
Travel No Yes
Family programming Partial Yes
Spouse and partner programming No Yes
Next-generation programming Yes Yes
Investment discussions Partial Not documented
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Yes Not documented
Networking emphasis Medium High
Social emphasis Medium High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Resource Generation · YPO