Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Professional association · Women executives · CEO groups

C200

The Committee of 200

Women who are founders or majority owners of substantial companies, or C-suite executives with profit-and-loss responsibility

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded1982
HeadquartersChicago, United States
Members400as of September 2026
Chapters6
FootprintUnited States, organised into regions (Northwest, Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, Mid-South, Southwest) plus an International region
InvitationNot required

Founding — Formed in 1982 when 200 women leaders, recruited under founding organizer Susan Davis, gathered to raise funds for another women's business organization and stayed together as a national network.

C200 is a US membership association of senior businesswomen, formed in 1982 as the Committee of 200 and now reporting more than 400 members. It is defined by an explicit operating test rather than title alone: candidates must carry profit-and-loss responsibility, and must meet published revenue thresholds that differ for entrepreneurs and corporate executives. Members are asked to supply a letter of attestation confirming that P&L responsibility. Alongside peer activity, the organisation runs an outward-facing programme aimed at women earlier in their careers, including a protege programme, campus outreach and a corporate board forum that helps members pursue for-profit board seats. Members meet in confidential member-to-member advisory groups the organisation calls Councils, and take part in members-only events and content. C200 is organised across six regions, each with a region chair, and is governed by a board drawn from the membership. The organisation is registered in Chicago and operates a 501(c)(6) association alongside a related charitable entity.

How it works

Members join Councils, described as confidential member-to-member advisory groups for discussion and problem-solving. Alongside those, C200 runs members-only events and content, a Corporate Board Forum aimed at securing for-profit board seats, and outward-facing Advancing Women programmes including the Protege Program, the Reachout Program to campuses, and C-Ahead. Six regions with region chairs organise activity geographically.

Typical member

Members are women holding titles such as CEO, COO, Founder, General Manager and Operating President, with significant profit-and-loss responsibility. They fall into two groups: entrepreneurs who founded or control companies with at least US$20 million in annual revenue, and corporate executives who run business units generating at least US$250 million in a public company or lead a private company generating at least US$75 million.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes — an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Gender Women C200's stated mission is to advance "current and future women entrepreneurs and corporate, profit-center leaders"; membership is a community of women. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Minimum company revenue Entrepreneur route: at least US$20 million in annual revenues "Candidates must be the Founder/Co-Founder or a controlling/majority owner of the company, generating at least $20 million in annual revenues." Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Minimum company revenue Public-company executive route: C-suite executive generating at least US$250 million in annual revenue The candidate must also sit no more than two seats away from the CEO in a public company. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Minimum company revenue Private-company route: CEO of a privately held company generating at least US$75 million in annual revenue An alternative to the public-company test. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Minimum ownership stake Entrepreneur route requires founder, co-founder or controlling/majority ownership No specific ownership percentage is published beyond "controlling/majority". Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Role or title Titles such as CEO, COO, Founder, General Manager or Operating President, with significant P&L responsibility; public-company candidates must be within two reporting levels of the CEO A letter of attestation confirming P&L responsibility is required from new applicants. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Prospective members review the published criteria and register interest through the site, which invites candidates to "let us know if you're interested in starting an application". New applicants must supply a letter of attestation confirming their profit-and-loss responsibility. A membership committee, chaired by a board member, oversees admissions.
Sponsor required
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed. C200 publishes numeric eligibility thresholds but no acceptance rate or applicant volume.
Membership term
Not publicly disclosed

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to C200. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual dues Not publicly disclosed. C200's membership page publishes criteria but no dues figure. Its Form 990 for the 2018 tax year, the most recent available through ProPublica's Nonprofit Explorer at the time of checking, reported about $1.63 million of programme service revenue on total revenue of about $2.53 million. Source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Members-only events and content through the year, plus Council meetings
Peer forums
Councils: confidential member-to-member advisory groups for discussion, problem-solving and sharing
Confidentiality
Councils are described as confidential member-to-member advisory groups; no written policy is published
Time commitment
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Event focused, forum based
Countries
— Not publicly disclosed. C200 maintains an International region but does not publish a country breakdown.
Structure
Confidential peer forumsYes
Local chaptersPartial
Virtual membershipNot documented
Online communityYes
Member directoryYes
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingYes
Leadership developmentYes
RetreatsNot documented
TravelNo
Family
Family programmingNo
Spouse and partner programmingNo
Next-generation programmingYes
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsNo
Investment opportunitiesNo
Philanthropic componentYes
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisMedium

Independent context

C200 is one of the few selective women's business organisations that publishes hard numeric entry tests, which makes it unusually easy to assess against. The tests do the real work: an entrepreneur needs US$20 million in revenue and control of the company, while a corporate executive needs either US$250 million of revenue under management and a seat no more than two levels from the CEO of a public company, or US$75 million as chief executive of a private one. The letter of attestation on P&L responsibility is a genuine filter, and it excludes senior women in staff functions such as legal, HR, marketing and communications however large their employers. What is not published is cost: no dues figure appears anywhere on the site, and the entry point is an expression of interest rather than an open application. Mentoring outward is treated as an obligation of membership, not an optional extra.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

Appears in: Organizations for women executives and owners, by what they test

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneThe Committee of 200 formed; 200 women leaders recruited under founding organizer Susan Davis, including Katharine Graham, Rosabeth Moss Kanter, Christie Hefner and Sherry Lansing ↗
  2. milestoneBoard of Directors unanimously endorses C200's diversity and inclusion pledge ↗
  3. milestoneMembership reported at over 400; Tara Abraham of Accel, Inc. serves as chair ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: High confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. C200 — home, C200. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. About — C200, C200. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Membership | C200, C200. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  4. Committee Of 200 — IRS Form 990 filings (EIN 36-3233816), ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer / Internal Revenue Service. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 5

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent C200? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile