Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Private club · Business clubs · Members' clubs

The Rainier Club

The club describes its members as founders, freelancers, entrepreneurs and executives, and markets separate tiers to residents of the Seattle area, to people under 40, and to non-residents living and working more than 50 miles from the club.

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded1888
HeadquartersSeattle, United States
MembersNot publicly disclosed
ChaptersSingle clubhouse; no chapters
FootprintSingle clubhouse at 820 4th Avenue in downtown Seattle
InvitationNot required

Founding — The club describes itself as "a storied social club since 1888" and as Seattle's oldest private social club. Secondary accounts date the founding meeting to 25 July 1888, following a proposal on 23 February 1888.

The Rainier Club is Seattle's oldest private city club, founded in 1888 and housed since 1904 in a downtown clubhouse designed by Kirtland Cutter, with a south wing added by Carl F. Gould in 1929. It operates as a combined social, business and athletic club: two private bars, a seasonal restaurant, coworking space, a reading room, a pool and games room, a gym and dry sauna with 24-hour access, valet parking and overnight suites. The club says it runs more than 400 events a year, from member dinners and concerts to wine and whisky tastings and business-focused programming. Membership is sold in three published tiers -- resident members aged 40 and over, members aged 18 to 39, and non-residents living and working more than 50 miles from the club -- and unlike most clubs of its vintage the club publishes both the initiation fee and the dues for each. Members also hold reciprocal privileges at private clubs elsewhere: the club describes a network of more than 140 clubs on its membership page and roughly 60 national plus more than 40 international clubs on its travel page. Non-resident members additionally receive a Palmer Advantage golf and travel membership.

How it works

The club is a single downtown house used for dining, coworking, fitness, overnight stays and events, with a programme of more than 400 member events a year and member-run committees. Prospective members schedule a clubhouse tour and are quoted the published tier rates; the initiation fee can be financed at no APR for up to one year under contract, subject to conditions. Partners and spouses living in the same household share membership privileges. Travelling members use the reciprocal network, which includes overnight accommodation at selected clubs such as the Metropolitan Club in New York and the Casino de Madrid.

Typical member

Members are Seattle-area business, professional and civic people, with a distinct under-40 tier and a non-resident tier. The club publishes no membership total or occupational breakdown.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes — an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Maximum age at joining Under 40 Membership is for members aged 18 to 39 A separate resident tier applies from age 40 Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Minimum age Resident Membership is for members aged 40 and over Members aged 18 to 39 join the Under 40 tier at a lower rate Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Geographic restriction Non-Resident Membership requires living and working outside a 50-mile radius of the club Non-resident members receive a complimentary Palmer Advantage golf and travel membership Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Partners and spouses living in the same household share membership privileges Stated as a footnote on the membership types page Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Prospective members schedule a clubhouse tour through the club's website or membership office and are then quoted the published tier rate for their age and location. The club does not publish a sponsorship, proposal or ballot requirement, nor a review committee.
Sponsor required
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes prices and tiers but no acceptance criteria, waiting list or approval process.
Membership term
Monthly dues for resident and under-40 members; quarterly dues for non-resident members

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to The Rainier Club. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Monthly duesa month, counted ×12 $6,900$20,700 Resident Membership, age 40 and over Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Monthly duesa month, counted ×12 $5,700alternative tier, not added Under 40 Membership, ages 18 to 39 Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Initiation feeonce $4,000$4,000 Resident Membership, age 40 and over. No-APR financing of the initiation fee is available for up to one year under contract, with conditions. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Initiation feeonce $3,000alternative tier, not added Under 40 Membership, ages 18 to 39 Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Initiation feeonce $4,000alternative tier, not added Non-Resident Membership, for those living and working more than 50 miles from the club Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other cost $863 quarter per quarter, varies, not added Non-Resident Membership dues, billed quarterly Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Estimated total, disclosed figures only$10,900$24,700 Not counted: Monthly dues (alternative tier, not added), Initiation fee (2 alternative tiers, not added), Other cost (per quarter, varies, not added).
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
More than 400 member and signature events a year; clubhouse and gym accessible 24 hours
Peer forums
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Confidentiality
Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Membership club premises, event focused
Countries
United States
Structure
Confidential peer forumsNo
Local chaptersNo
Virtual membershipNo
Online communityNo
Member directoryNot documented
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingPartial
Leadership developmentPartial
RetreatsNo
TravelYes
Family
Family programmingNot documented
Spouse and partner programmingYes
Next-generation programmingYes
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsNo
Investment opportunitiesNo
Philanthropic componentPartial
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisHigh

Independent context

The Rainier Club is one of the few historic American city clubs that puts its whole price list on the website, which makes it a useful benchmark: $4,000 to join and $575 a month for a resident member over 40, $3,000 and $475 a month under 40. On an annual basis that is roughly $6,900 in dues for a full resident member, well above an alumni club and well below what is reported at invitation-only clubs. The under-40 tier and the interest-free initiation financing are clearly aimed at recruiting younger professionals, which is the structural problem most clubs of this age face. Two cautions. The club's own pages give three different sizes for the reciprocal network (140-plus, 100-plus, and 60 national plus 40-plus international), so treat the number as approximate. And membership size is not published, so there is no way to judge how busy the house is from the website alone.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneThe Rainier Club founded in Seattle, following a proposal on 23 February 1888 ↗
  2. milestoneCurrent clubhouse completed to a design by Kirtland Cutter ↗
  3. milestoneSouth wing added by architect Carl F. Gould ↗
  4. milestoneSaburo Nishimuro admitted as the club's first Japanese American member ↗
  5. milestoneLuther Carr admitted as the club's first African American member ↗
  6. milestoneBetty Binns Fletcher admitted as the club's first woman member ↗
  7. milestoneClub hosted the first APEC ministerial meetings held in the United States ↗
  8. milestoneMembership reported at 1,300 ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: High confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. A Storied Social Club since 1888 - The Rainier Club, The Rainier Club. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. Reciprocal Clubs and Travel Benefits - The Rainier Club Seattle, The Rainier Club. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Club History - The Rainier Club, The Rainier Club. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  4. Membership at The Rainier Club Seattle, The Rainier Club. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  5. Membership Types and Dues - The Rainier Club Seattle, The Rainier Club. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  6. Rainier Club, Wikipedia. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent The Rainier Club? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile