Professional association · Real estate · Professional leadership
Urban Land Institute
Professionals across the land use and real estate industry — developers, investors, lenders, architects, planners, public officials and academics
A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.
Founding — Founded 14 December 1936; the Urban Land Institute name was adopted in 1939 per Wikipedia's history of the organisation.
The Urban Land Institute is a non-profit research and education association for the land use and real estate industry. It was founded in 1936 and is headquartered in Washington, DC, with regional operations for the Americas, Europe and Asia Pacific. Membership is individual rather than corporate and is open to anyone working in or adjacent to real estate and land use; there is no revenue, wealth or seniority test in the published eligibility rules, and members agree to a code of ethics. Two individual grades exist — Associate and Full — with reduced rates for people under 35, for government, non-profit and academic employees, for students and for long-tenured retired members. Organisations can also buy group packages, including a Public Agency package that bundles three memberships for government agencies, universities and non-profits. Activity is delivered through local district councils, topic-based product councils and forums, a large research and publications programme, the Advisory Services panel programme, and spring and fall meetings. ULI reported total revenue of about $95.6m in its 2023 financial year according to its IRS Form 990.
How it works
Members join as individuals and are assigned to a local district council, which runs its own programme of events, tours, committees and young-leader activity. National and global programming runs through product councils and forums (invitation-based, topic-specific member groups), the Advisory Services programme that sends volunteer panels to advise cities and public bodies, and large Spring and Fall Meetings. A member library, Knowledge Finder, and a volunteering platform, Navigator, support participation between events. Dues are paid annually or in twelve monthly instalments and expire on the last day of the anniversary month.
Typical member
ULI's own materials describe a cross-disciplinary membership of developers, investors, designers, builders, buyers, sellers, urban planners and public officials. Wikipedia's breakdown of the membership puts developers at 28 percent, capital sources at 13 percent, service providers at 10 percent and the public sector at 10 percent.
Membership requirements
Requirements in detail, with history →Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes — an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.
| Criterion | Published requirement | Provenance |
|---|---|---|
| Industry restriction | Open to professionals across the real estate and land use industry | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ |
| Other criterion | Members agree to the ULI Code of Ethics | Verified September 2026Medium confidenceSource ↗ |
| Maximum age at joining | Under 35 qualifies for a reduced dues rate | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ |
| Other criterion | Retired rate: age 65 or over with more than 10 years of ULI membership | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ |
| Other criterion | Public Agency group membership is limited to government agencies, accredited universities and non-profit organisations | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ |
Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to Urban Land Institute. See how you compare against these criteria →
Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not quotations.
| Cost | First year | Three years | Provenance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual duesa year | $1,332 | $3,996 | Verified September 2026Medium confidenceSource ↗ | |
| Annual duesa year | $540 | alternative tier, not added | Verified September 2026Medium confidenceSource ↗ | |
| Annual duesa year | $660 | alternative tier, not added | Verified September 2026Medium confidenceSource ↗ | |
| Annual duesa year | $264 | alternative tier, not added | Verified September 2026Medium confidenceSource ↗ | |
| Annual duesa year | $336 | alternative tier, not added | Verified September 2026Medium confidenceSource ↗ | |
| Annual duesa year | $132 | alternative tier, not added | Verified September 2026Medium confidenceSource ↗ | |
| Initiation fee | Not publicly disclosed | |||
| Local chapter dues | Not publicly disclosed. District council participation is included in national dues in ULI's published materials; no separate district council fee is advertised. | |||
| Estimated total, disclosed figures only | $1,332 | $3,996 | Not counted: Annual dues (5 alternative tiers, not added), Initiation fee, Local chapter dues. | |
Structure and programming
Where it operates
16 cities with a page on this siteUrban Land Institute reports 57 chapters in total; those verified for major cities are listed here.
| Chapter or location | City |
|---|---|
| ULI British Columbia district council | Vancouver |
| ULI Toronto district council | Toronto |
| ULI Mexico district council | Mexico City |
| ULI Los Angeles district council | Los Angeles |
| ULI San Francisco district council | San Francisco |
| ULI Colorado district council | Denver |
| ULI Washington district council | Washington |
| ULI Southeast Florida/Caribbean district council | Miami |
| ULI Atlanta district council | Atlanta |
| ULI Chicago district council | Chicago |
| ULI Boston district council | Boston |
| ULI New York district council | New York |
| ULI Austin district council | Austin |
| ULI Dallas–Fort Worth district council | Dallas |
| ULI Houston district council | Houston |
| ULI Northwest district council | Seattle |
Independent context
ULI is one of the two large open-membership bodies in US commercial real estate (the other being the body formerly known as NAIOP). It is not selective: the barrier is the dues cheque and a code-of-ethics undertaking, not a screening committee. The selectivity sits one level down, in the invitation-based product councils and in district council leadership. That makes it useful for research access, credibility and breadth of contacts, and a poor fit for anyone looking for a closed peer group or deal flow. A practical caveat for researchers: ULI's website blocks automated access, so its current dues schedule could not be read directly. The rates recorded here are from ULI's own United States individual membership application, whose stated validity ran to 30 June 2023, and should be treated as indicative rather than current.
Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.
Similar organizations
Alternatives, grouped by need →History and changes
Site-wide change log →- milestoneULI dates its founding to 1936, described on its homepage as "Founded by its members" ↗
- milestoneFounded as a research body associated with the National Association of Real Estate Boards ↗
- milestoneName changed to the Urban Land Institute ↗
- milestoneAdvisory Services programme established, beginning in Louisville, Kentucky ↗
- milestoneRegional district council programme created ↗
- milestoneAbsorbed the Greenprint Foundation, which became the ULI Greenprint Center for Building Performance ↗
Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.
Take the next step
Check how you compare
Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.
Open the qualification toolRequest membership information
We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.
Request information Apply on their site ↗Follow this organization
One email when its requirements or fees change.
Sources
- Urban Land Institute homepage, Urban Land Institute. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
- Join ULI, Urban Land Institute. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
- District Council Locations, Urban Land Institute. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
- Membership Frequently Asked Questions, Urban Land Institute. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
- ULI United States Individual Membership Application (FY2023 rates), Urban Land Institute, September 2022. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 3
- Urban Land Institute — Nonprofit Explorer (IRS Form 990 data), ProPublica. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 5
- Urban Land Institute, Wikipedia. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8
Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.
Is something wrong or out of date?
Represent Urban Land Institute? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.