Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 15 material differences

AM&AA vs Society for Information Management

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

AM&AA

Middle-market M&A advisers — investment bankers, CPAs, attorneys, valuation specialists, corporate financial investors and business advisers

Verified September 2026
Professional association

Society for Information Management

Senior IT and technology executives - CIOs and their direct reports - plus academics in information systems, consulting partners and non-IT leaders whose roles affect technology…

What the records say

Side by side

AM&AASociety for Information Management
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1998 (Established in 1998 to bring together CPAs, attorneys and corporate financial advisers working in middle-market M&A) 1968 (SIM's inaugural meeting was held on 22 November 1968 at the US Atomic Energy Commission in Washington DC, after a conversation between Robert Head and Herb Schwartz at an ACM conference; the first conference followed in September 1969 at the University of Minnesota. Sources give 1968 or 1969 depending on which event is treated as the founding.)
Headquarters Dallas, United States Mount Laurel, United States
Geographic footprint Chapters are all in the United States plus a virtual chapter; the membership network spans 25 countries United States and Canada: 38 chapters listed on SIM's own chapter index, including one in Toronto, plus a Member At-Large option for those without a nearby chapter
Members 1,100as of September 2026 5,000as of September 2026
Chapters 24 38
Primary audience Middle-market M&A advisers — investment bankers, CPAs, attorneys, valuation specialists, corporate financial investors and business advisers Senior IT and technology executives - CIOs and their direct reports - plus academics in information systems, consulting partners and non-IT leaders whose roles affect technology strategy
Typical member Members are M&A and supporting trade professionals: accountants, lawyers, investment bankers, valuation and due diligence specialists, and corporate financial investors working in the middle market. Individual membership is aimed at those who practise independently; corporate membership covers teams of five or more from one firm. Members are corporate or divisional heads of information systems and the management staff supporting them, plus full-time academics in the IS field, partner-level consultants and non-IT executives with a major role in strategic technology direction. SIM says its members' employers account for over $200 billion in technology spend.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining Young Professional membership is limited to those aged 35 and under in the early stages of an M&A careerIdentification and proof of age are required during the application processverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published maximum age at joining
Role or title No published role or title Practitioner: a senior-level IT professional in a public or private sector organisation - a corporate or divisional IS head, or a member of an IS management staff supporting them in a key management roleverified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction Individual membership is for M&A and supporting trade professionals who practise independentlyverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published industry restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Applicants complete an application through AM&AA's membership portal at amaa.wildapricot.org, or contact the association directly. Young Professional applicants must supply identification and proof of age. Corporate memberships are arranged by email with custom pricing. There is no published interview, sponsorship or committee review, but all members must accept the ethics and standards rules and the no-solicitation condition. Applicants apply to a local chapter, selecting one of the four membership categories, or apply as a Member At-Large if no chapter covers their area. The membership year runs 1 January to 31 December. Chapters review applications against the published category definitions; there is no sponsor or committee vote published.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed — AM&AA publishes membership categories and conditions but no acceptance data Not publicly disclosed. Admission turns on meeting one of the four published category definitions; no acceptance rate is published.
Cost
Annual dues $545 a yearIndividual membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed at national level. SIM does not publish a single national dues figure; members join through a chapter and the chapter sets the rate.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Local chapter dues Not publicly disclosed $205–285 a yearSouthern California chapter published schedule: $285 for corporate IT executives/practitioners and consultants, $205 for academic, retired or non-profit IT professionals. Dues are set by each chapter and vary; other chapters publish higher two-tier plans.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Programme fee $5,200 one-timeCertified Merger & Acquisition Advisor (CM&AA) programme fee, which includes first-year membership and materialsverified September 2026 · source ↗ Dues vary by chapter and are not published centrally. The figures recorded come from one chapter's published schedule and should not be read as a national rate.
Membership term Annual Calendar year, 1 January to 31 December
Structure
Meeting frequency Monthly chapter events plus two annual conferences (Summer and Winter), and CM&AA certification courses run in person and virtually Chapters typically hold four to six events a year, plus peer groups, special interest groups and national programmes
Peer forums No confidential peer forums; members organise through chapters, including a virtual chapter, and deal-sourcing tools Chapter-level peer groups bringing together members in similar roles, plus SIM Interest Groups on topics such as cybersecurity; the Advanced Practices Council is a separate senior research peer network
Confidentiality Members agree not to solicit fellow members without written board permission; no broader confidentiality policy was found No published forum confidentiality rule; SIM is a professional association rather than a closed advisory body
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual Chapter-based, Event-focused, Cohort-based
Confidential peer forums No Partial
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Yes Partial
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Partial Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming Yes Yes
Investment discussions Yes No
Investment opportunities Yes No
Philanthropic component No Yes
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: AM&AA · Society for Information Management