Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Professional association · Professional leadership · Business owners

AM&AA

Alliance of Merger & Acquisition Advisors

Middle-market M&A advisers: investment bankers, CPAs, attorneys, valuation specialists, corporate financial investors and business advisers

A lecture theatre with tiered seats and a lit lectern
Illustration

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded1998
HeadquartersDallas, United States
Members1,100as of September 2026
Chapters24
FootprintChapters are all in the United States plus a virtual chapter; the membership network spans 25 countries
InvitationNot required

Founding: Established in 1998 to bring together CPAs, attorneys and corporate financial advisers working in middle-market M&A

The Alliance of Merger & Acquisition Advisors is a professional association for middle-market M&A advisers. It was established in 1998 to connect CPAs, attorneys and corporate financial advisers, is headquartered in Dallas, and reports more than 1,100 members across a network spanning 25 countries. Chapters (24 including a virtual chapter) are all in the United States. Individual membership costs $545 a year and is aimed at professionals who practise independently; a Young Professional rate of $345 is available to those aged 35 and under in the early stages of an M&A career, with proof of age required. Corporate membership requires a minimum of five members from one firm and is priced on a tiered basis described only as starting at $200 or more off each individual membership. All members must abide by AM&AA's ethics and standards rules and agree not to solicit other members without written board permission. The association also administers the Certified Merger & Acquisition Advisor credential, runs monthly chapter events and two annual conferences, and operates a Deal Corner listing service and the M&A Access podcast.

How it works

Individuals apply through AM&AA's membership portal, choose a category and pay annual dues; corporate memberships are quoted directly by the association. Activity runs through monthly chapter events, two annual conferences, the Deal Corner and Deal Connect deal-sourcing tools, the member directory, and the CM&AA certification programme, which is delivered in person or virtually.

Typical member

Members are M&A and supporting trade professionals: accountants, lawyers, investment bankers, valuation and due diligence specialists, and corporate financial investors working in the middle market. Individual membership is aimed at those who practise independently; corporate membership covers teams of five or more from one firm.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes: an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Industry restriction Individual membership is for M&A and supporting trade professionals who practise independently Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Members must abide by AM&AA's Ethics & Standards rules and agree not to solicit fellow members without written board permission Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Maximum age at joining Young Professional membership is limited to those aged 35 and under in the early stages of an M&A career Identification and proof of age are required during the application process Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Corporate membership requires a minimum of five members from one firm Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Applicants complete an application through AM&AA's membership portal at amaa.wildapricot.org, or contact the association directly. Young Professional applicants must supply identification and proof of age. Corporate memberships are arranged by email with custom pricing. There is no published interview, sponsorship or committee review, but all members must accept the ethics and standards rules and the no-solicitation condition.
Sponsor required
No
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed: AM&AA publishes membership categories and conditions but no acceptance data
Membership term
Annual

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to AM&AA. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown, not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual duesa year $545$1,635 Individual membership Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $345alternative tier, not added Young Professional membership, for those aged 35 and under early in an M&A career Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual dues Corporate membership is tiered and quoted on request, described only as "starting at $200+ off each individual membership" for firms enrolling five or more members Source ↗
Annual duesa year $595alternative tier, not added CM&AA credential renewal Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual dues Strategic Partner rates are not publicly disclosed Source ↗
Programme feeonce $5,200$5,200 Certified Merger & Acquisition Advisor (CM&AA) programme fee, which includes first-year membership and materials Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Estimated total, disclosed figures only$5,745$6,835 Not counted: Annual dues (2 alternative tiers, not added), Annual dues.
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown, not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Monthly chapter events plus two annual conferences (Summer and Winter), and CM&AA certification courses run in person and virtually
Peer forums
No confidential peer forums; members organise through chapters, including a virtual chapter, and deal-sourcing tools
Confidentiality
Members agree not to solicit fellow members without written board permission; no broader confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment
Not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Chapter based, event focused, virtual
Countries
25
Structure
Confidential peer forumsNo
Local chaptersYes
Virtual membershipYes
Online communityPartial
Member directoryYes
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingYes
Leadership developmentPartial
RetreatsNo
TravelNo
Family
Family programmingNo
Spouse and partner programmingNo
Next-generation programmingYes
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsYes
Investment opportunitiesYes
Philanthropic componentNo
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisMedium

Where it operates

24 chapters on file · 11 cities

Chapters verified from published sources.

Each dot is a city with at least one chapter on file. City positions © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Main cities

Ranked by how many organizations on this site also meet there.

24 chapters

Chapter or locationCityRegionCountrySource
AM&AA Arizona Chapter State-level chapter; no base city published Arizona United States Source ↗
AM&AA Southern California Chapter Covers the Los Angeles area; no base city published California United States Source ↗
AM&AA Rocky Mountain Chapter Covers the Denver area; no base city published Colorado United States Source ↗
AM&AA DC/MD/VA Chapter Covers Washington DC, Maryland and Virginia Washington District of Columbia United States Source ↗
AM&AA Tampa Bay Chapter Tampa Florida United States Source ↗
AM&AA Palm Beach Chapter West Palm Beach Florida United States Source ↗
AM&AA South Florida Chapter Covers the Miami area; no base city published Florida United States Source ↗
AM&AA Atlanta Chapter Atlanta Georgia United States Source ↗
AM&AA Detroit Chapter Detroit Michigan United States Source ↗
AM&AA Southern Nevada Chapter Nevada United States Source ↗
AM&AA North New Jersey Chapter New Jersey United States Source ↗
AM&AA New York City Chapter New York New York United States Source ↗
AM&AA Long Island Chapter New York United States Source ↗
AM&AA Northeast Ohio Chapter Ohio United States Source ↗
AM&AA Ohio Valley Chapter Ohio United States Source ↗
AM&AA Philadelphia Chapter Philadelphia Pennsylvania United States Source ↗
AM&AA Pittsburgh Chapter Pittsburgh Pennsylvania United States Source ↗
AM&AA Austin Chapter Austin Texas United States Source ↗
AM&AA Dallas-Fort Worth Chapter Dallas Texas United States Source ↗
AM&AA Houston Chapter Houston Texas United States Source ↗
AM&AA Utah Chapter Utah United States Source ↗
AM&AA Midwest Chapter Regional chapter covering the Chicago area; no base city published United States Source ↗
AM&AA New England Chapter Regional chapter covering the Boston area; no base city published United States Source ↗
AM&AA Virtual Chapter virtual Online chapter for members without a local chapter United States Source ↗

Independent context

AM&AA sits close to ACG in purpose (middle-market deal networking) but is smaller, adviser-heavy rather than principal-heavy, and built around a credential rather than a chapter calendar. The CM&AA programme is the real commitment: at $5,200 including first-year membership and materials, with a $595 annual renewal, it costs roughly ten times a standard membership and is the main reason most people join. The no-solicitation rule, which bars approaching fellow members without written board permission, is unusual and worth reading before joining if business development is the goal. Published numbers are inconsistent: the chapters page lists 24 entries while claiming 20, and member counts are described as both professionals and firms on different pages. Corporate pricing is quoted privately, so budgeting for a team requires contacting the association.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneEstablished to connect CPAs, attorneys and corporate financial advisers working in middle-market M&A ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: High confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. AM&AA — Alliance of Merger & Acquisition Advisors, AM&AA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. About Us — AM&AA, AM&AA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Chapters — AM&AA, AM&AA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  4. Membership — AM&AA, AM&AA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  5. Young Professional Membership — AM&AA, AM&AA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  6. Corporate Membership — AM&AA, AM&AA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  7. Member Benefits — AM&AA, AM&AA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent AM&AA? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile