Comparison · 11 material differences
Angel Capital Association vs Keiretsu Forum
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
Angel Capital Association
Individual accredited angel investors, organised angel groups, angel funds, family offices investing in private companies, equity crowdfunding platforms, and ecosystem…
Keiretsu Forum
Accredited private equity angel investors, venture capitalists and corporate or institutional investors
What the records say
- Accredited-investor status: Angel Capital Association: Individual membership is aimed at accredited angel investors; online equity marketplace platform members must be comprised of accredited investors; Keiretsu Forum: Members must be accredited investors as defined under Regulation D of the Securities Act of 1933 and applicable securities laws.
- Annual dues: Angel Capital Association: $310 a year; Keiretsu Forum: $3,000–3,500 a year.
Side by side
| Angel Capital Association | Keiretsu Forum | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Professional association | Investment community |
| Founded | 2004 (Formed out of four Angel Organization Summits convened by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation in 2002 and 2003. One business directory gives 2005; 2004 is the date recorded on Wikipedia and in ACA's own account of its origins.) | 2000 (Founded in California by Randy Williams.) |
| Headquarters | Overland Park, United States | Lafayette, United States |
| Geographic footprint | United States, with some international members; ACA also serves as the US representative to the World Business Angels Association | 53 chapters across four continents: North America, Europe, Asia-Pacific and the Middle East |
| Members | 15,000as of September 2026 | 2,500as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | ACA has no chapters. Its 250+ member angel groups and platforms are independent organisations that join as institutional members. | 53 |
| Primary audience | Individual accredited angel investors, organised angel groups, angel funds, family offices investing in private companies, equity crowdfunding platforms, and ecosystem organisations such as accelerators and universities | Accredited private equity angel investors, venture capitalists and corporate or institutional investors |
| Typical member | Individual members are accredited angel investors, most of whom belong to one of ACA's member angel groups and are automatically included through that group's membership. Institutional members are angel networks, funds, family offices and platforms. | Members must be accredited investors under Regulation D. Keiretsu describes them as active private equity investors and respected members of the business community who contribute time and expertise to portfolio companies. Individual cheques into a deal typically run from USD 25,000 to USD 500,000. |
| Qualification | ||
| Accredited-investor status | Individual membership is aimed at accredited angel investors; online equity marketplace platform members must be comprised of accredited investorsACA states that membership is available to individual angels, accredited platforms, angel group investors and family offices. It does not publish a separate verification procedure for individual members.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Members must be accredited investors as defined under Regulation D of the Securities Act of 1933 and applicable securities lawsKeiretsu cites the standard SEC tests: net worth over USD 1 million excluding primary residence, or income over USD 200,000 for the past two years.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | Yes |
| Sponsor required | No | Not documented |
| Application process | Applicants complete an online application, agree to the ACA Member Code of Conduct and pay annual dues for the relevant category. Online equity marketplace platforms are asked to contact the membership team rather than self-serve. Individual investors who belong to a member angel group are enrolled through that group. | A prospective member attends a Keiretsu Forum meeting as a guest, then completes a membership application and meets the local chapter president to discuss investment interests. Membership is presented as invitation-only, extended to active investors with standing in their business community. Accreditation under Regulation D is required. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed. Admission is by application and code-of-conduct agreement rather than by selection; ACA publishes no rejection or acceptance data. | Not publicly disclosed. Keiretsu publishes no acceptance rate, but caps each chapter at 150 members. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | $310 a yearIndividual Investor membership, "starting at $310". Members of ACA angel groups are automatically included.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $3,000–3,500 a yearUSD 3,500 in the first year and USD 3,000 on renewal, described as a global access fee covering monthly meetings at any chapter. Published by the Keiretsu Forum Northwest chapter; the global site does not publish dues and corporations, entrepreneurs in residence, venture funds and family offices are on a different fee structure.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Event costs | Not publicly disclosed. ACA's annual summit carries a registration fee that is not published on the membership pages.verified September 2026 | Dues are set at chapter level. The figures recorded here are published by the Northwest chapter; Keiretsu's global site publishes no fee schedule. |
| Membership term | Annual | Annual |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Annual summit held in a different city each year, plus webinars and education programming through the year | Monthly chapter forum meetings plus deal screening sessions; members may attend meetings at any chapter |
| Peer forums | Peer group syndication channels rather than confidential peer forums | Chapter meetings of up to 150 members with company presentations and member-led due diligence teams |
| Confidentiality | Members agree to the ACA Member Code of Conduct; no separate confidentiality regime is published | Not publicly disclosed |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Event-focused, Virtual | Chapter-based, Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | Partial | Partial |
| Local chapters | No | Yes |
| Virtual membership | Yes | Not documented |
| Online community | Yes | Not documented |
| Member directory | Yes | Not documented |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | Partial | No |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | Partial |
| Family programming | No | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | No | No |
| Next-generation programming | No | No |
| Investment discussions | Yes | Yes |
| Investment opportunities | Yes | Yes |
| Philanthropic component | No | No |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Low | Medium |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Angel Capital Association · Keiretsu Forum