Comparison · 5 material differences
UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA) vs Invest Europe
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.
UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)
UK private equity, venture capital and private credit fund managers, their institutional investors, and the advisers and service providers around them
Invest Europe
European private equity, venture capital and infrastructure fund managers and the institutional investors who back them
What the records say
- Minimum investable assets — UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA): Family offices joining as limited partners must have at least £20m invested in European private equity and venture capital; Invest Europe: No published minimum investable assets.
- Accredited-investor status — UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA): General partners must hold FCA or equivalent regulatory approval; Invest Europe: No published accredited-investor status.
- Geographic restriction — UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA): UK general partners must have an office or investments in the UK; Invest Europe: Full members must be located in Europe.
- Annual dues — UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA): £3,100–87,450 a year; Invest Europe: Not publicly disclosed — neither the membership page nor the become-a-member page publishes a subscription rate; enquiries are directed to the Head of Membership & Sponsorship.
Side by side
| UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA) | Invest Europe | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Professional association | Professional association |
| Founded | 1983 (Founded in 1983 as the British Venture Capital Association; the organization's own site says it has been the voice of private capital in the UK for over four decades) | 1983 (Founded in 1983 as the European Private Equity and Venture Capital Association (EVCA); renamed Invest Europe in 2015) |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom | Brussels, Belgium |
| Geographic footprint | United Kingdom; members are fund managers, investors and advisers with a UK office or UK investments | Members based in 57 countries, 42 of them in Europe; offices in Brussels and London |
| Members | 600as of September 2026 | 650as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | Not applicable — the association has no chapter structure | Not applicable — Invest Europe has no chapters; it organises members into four platforms |
| Primary audience | UK private equity, venture capital and private credit fund managers, their institutional investors, and the advisers and service providers around them | European private equity, venture capital and infrastructure fund managers and the institutional investors who back them |
| Typical member | Member firms fall into four groups: general partners (PE, VC and private credit fund managers with a UK office or UK investments and FCA or equivalent regulatory approval), limited partners (pension funds, insurers, family offices, sovereign wealth funds, endowments and foundations, plus funds of funds and secondaries managers), professional services and financial institutions, and investee companies. | Full members are private equity, venture capital and infrastructure firms and the investors in those funds, including large European pension funds and insurers, funds of funds, secondaries funds and banks. Associate members are advisers and service providers — law firms, consultants, financial advisers, academic institutions and NGOs. Honorary membership is reserved for national private equity associations. |
| Qualification | ||
| Minimum investable assets | Family offices joining as limited partners must have at least £20m invested in European private equity and venture capitalUnregulated family offices with £20m–£100m invested must also supply a written reference from an FCA-authorised member at partner level or aboveverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published minimum investable assets |
| Accredited-investor status | General partners must hold FCA or equivalent regulatory approvalverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published accredited-investor status |
| Geographic restriction | UK general partners must have an office or investments in the UKverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Full members must be located in Europeverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | Sometimes | Sometimes |
| Application process | Firms contact the membership team at membership@ukprivatecapital.co.uk or apply through the relevant membership category page. Eligibility is checked against the category criteria and the code of conduct, and a subscription band is set from the firm's size. Unregulated family offices in the £20m–£100m band additionally need a written reference from an FCA-authorised member at partner level or above. | Prospective members first check the member search tool to see whether their firm already holds membership, then apply through the become-a-member page or contact the Head of Membership & Sponsorship directly. Applications are assessed against the platform criteria and the Professional Standards Handbook code of conduct. Honorary applicants — national associations — must supply references from two current full members and are considered case by case. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed — the association publishes eligibility criteria but no acceptance data | Not publicly disclosed — Invest Europe publishes eligibility criteria but no acceptance data |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | £3,100–87,450 a yearUK General Partner category, banded by European funds under management: £3,100 (£0–25m); £6,050 (£25–50m); £9,750 (£50–100m); £11,900 (£100–200m); £18,150 (£200–300m); £25,250 (£300–400m); £32,400 (£400–500m); £39,450 (£500–625m); £47,200 (£625–750m); £55,100 (£750–875m); £62,950 (£875m–£1bn); £70,850 (£1–5bn); £76,500 (£5–10bn); £87,450 (over £10bn)verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosed — neither the membership page nor the become-a-member page publishes a subscription rate; enquiries are directed to the Head of Membership & Sponsorshipverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | All rates are published annual subscriptions. A special rate exists for first-time fund managers investing a first institutional fund; the amount was not located on the pages checked. | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 |
| Membership term | Annual subscription | Annual |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | A year-round calendar of conferences, summits, dinners and training courses, mostly in London | A year-round conference and training calendar including the Venture Capital Forum and the Investors' Forum |
| Peer forums | No peer-forum structure; members engage through committees, working groups and events | No peer-forum structure; members organise through four membership platforms and their councils |
| Confidentiality | Could not be independently verified — no published confidentiality policy was found | Could not be independently verified — no published confidentiality policy was found beyond the Professional Standards Handbook |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Event-focused | Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | No | No |
| Local chapters | No | No |
| Virtual membership | No | No |
| Online community | Partial | Partial |
| Member directory | Yes | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | Partial | Partial |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | No |
| Family programming | No | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | No | No |
| Next-generation programming | No | No |
| Investment discussions | Partial | Partial |
| Investment opportunities | No | No |
| Philanthropic component | No | No |
| Networking emphasis | Medium | Medium |
| Social emphasis | Low | Low |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA) · Invest Europe